Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection Development

2022 Databases and Collections

  • S&P ESG Suite
  • Wos XML 2021 update (March 2022)

Coming Soon:

  • Constellate (TDM for JSTOR/Portico) (April)
  • Springer eBook Collection Archives (covering books published through 2004 - selections based on the number of attempted uses):
    • Springer Major Reference Works Archive Collections Humanities and Social Sciences
    • Springer eBook Archive Literature, Cultural & Media Studies
    • Springer eBook Archive Mathematics & Statistics

2022 Primary Source Collections

Coming Soon:

ProQuest Historical Archives

  • Louisville Defender
  • Law and Society Since the Civil War

Adam Matthew Digital

  • Colonial Caribbean, Module II. Colonial Government and Abolition, 1833-1849 (Publishing 2022)
  • Life at Sea: Seafaring in the Anglo-American Maritime World, 1600-1900 (Publishing 2022)
  • Victorians on Film. Entertainment, Innovation & Everyday Life (Publishing 2022)

Gale Primary Source Collections (November 2022 depending on funding)

  • African American Studies   -   Archives Unbound Bundle
  • African Studies   -   Archives Unbound Bundle
  • Asian American Studies   -   Archives Unbound Bundle
  • Economic History   -   Archives Unbound Bundle
  • Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies   -   Archives Unbound Bundle
  • Health & Environmental Studies - Archives Unbound Bundle 
  • Political Science   -   Archives Unbound Bundle
  • Russian History   -   Archives Unbound Bundle
  • The Times (London), 2015-2019 (Supplement 2)
  • The Times Literary Supplement, 2015-2019 (Supplement)
  • International Herald Tribune Historical Archive, 1887-2013
  • National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-2015 
  • PUNCH, 1841-1992  (British - Humour / Satire / Commentary)
  • ASSOCIATED PRESS 2:  U.S. Cities Bureaus Collection, 1931-2004 
  • Archives of Sexuality & Gender 1:  LGBTQ History Since 1940 I
  • Archives of Sexuality & Gender 2:  LGBTQ History Since 1940 II
  • Archives of Sexuality & Gender 3:  Sex & Sexuality in the 16th through 20th Centuries
  • Archives of Sexuality & Gender 4: LGBTQ Activism & Culture in the Global South
  • Archives of Sexuality & Gender 5:  L'Enfer Collection
  • Indigenous Peoples of North America, Part II: Indian Rights Association, 1882-1986
  • Political Extremism & Radicalism in the 20th Century: Far-Right + Left in US, Europe, Australia  
  • Slavery & Anti-Slavery 1:  Debates - Slavery & Abolition
  • Slavery & Anti-Slavery 3:  Institution of Slavery
  • Women's Studies, Part 3:  Rare & Unique Works from the American Antiquarian Society
  • Women's Studies, Part 4:  Female Forerunners Worldwide
  • The Making of the Modern World (MoMW) I, 1450-1850
  • The Making of the Modern World (MoMW) II, 1851-1914
  • The Making of the Modern World (MoMW) III, 1890-1945
  • The Making of the Modern World (MoMW) IV, 1800-1890
  • 19th Century Collections: Science, Technology, and Medicine, 1780-1925, PART 2
  • CHATHAM HOUSE Online I, 1920-1979
  • CHATHAM HOUSE Online II, 1980-2010
  • China and the Modern World: Diplomacy and Political Secrets
  • China and the Modern World: Hong Kong, Britain and China, 1841-1951
  • Early Arabic Printed Books from British Library, 1475-1900, Part 3 of 3 *
  • U.S. Declassified Documents Online Supplements (1-5)

2022 New Journal Subscriptions

Available from the Library eJournals Page:

  • Journal of African American History (Chicago)
  • Journal of Politics (Chicago)
  • Construction and Frames (2022-forward only)
  • Asian Languages and Lingustics (2022-forward only)
  • Diachronica (2022-forward only)
  • Journal of Historical Lingusitics (2022-forward only)
  • Journal of Epidemiology and Community Health

2021 Databases and Collections

New Acquistions 2021

  • Cambridge University Press Journals Archive
  • EBSCO Magazine Archives:
    • Bloomberg Businessweek Magazine Archive, 1929-2000,
    • Ebony Magazine Archive, 1945-2014
    • Forbes Magazine Archive, 1917-2000,
    • Sports Illustrated Magazine Archive, 1954-2000
  • Web of Science XML 1900-2020 to access see https://libguides.gatech.edu/WoS_XML 

2021 Primary Source Collections

Historical Newspapers

Adam Matthew Digital

  • Gale Digital Scholar Lab
  • 19th Century Collections Online:
  • Children's Literature and Childhood
  • Corvey Collection of European Literature, 1790‐1840
  • Photography ‐ the World through the Lens
  • Science, Technology, and Medicine, 1780‐1925, PART 1
  • Women: Transnational Networks
  • American Civil Liberties Union Papers (ACLU), 1912‐1990 (Part 1 and 2)
    • Part 2, Southern Regional Office
  • American Historical Periodicals, Series 1-5
  • Archives Unbound: 
  • African American Studies
  • Political Extremism & Radicalism, 20th Century: Far-Right in America
  • Public Health Archives: Public Health in Modern America, 1890‐1970
  • Sabin Americana, History & Culture, 1500‐1926
  • Slavery & Anti‐Slavery:  
    • Part 2:  Slave Trade in Atlantic World
    • Part 4: Age of Emancipation
  • Smithsonian:  
    • Part 1: World’s Fairs and Expositions: Visions of Tomorrow
    • Part 2: Trade Literature and the Merchandising of America, 1820‐1923
    • Part 3: Evolution of Flight, 1784‐1991
  • U.S. Declassified Documents Online
  • Women's Studies:
    • Part 1: Women’s Issues and Identities
    • Part 2: Vision and Voice
       

Gale Primary Source Collections

  • Advertising America (J Walter Thompson Company Archive)
  • African American Communities
  • American History, 1493-1945
  • American Indian Histories and Cultures
  • American West
  • Apartheid South Africa, 1948-1980
  • China, America, and the Pacific
  • China: Culture and Society
  • China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980
  • Church Missionary Society Periodicals
  • Colonial America: 
    • Module 1: Early Settlement, Expansion and Rivalries
    • Module 2: Towards Revolution
  • Confidential Print:
  • Africa, 1834-1966
  • Latin America, 1823-1969
  • Middle East, 1893-1969
  • North America, 1824-1961
  • Defining Gender, 1450-1910 
  • Eighteenth Century Drama
  • Eighteenth Century Journals
  • Empire Online
  • Everyday Life and Women in America, 1800-1920
  • Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980
  • Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980
  • Foreign Office Files for the Middle East
    • Section 1: The 1973 Arab-Israeli War and the Oil Crisis
  • Gender: Identity and Social Change
  • Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange
  • Grand Tour
  • India, Raj and Empire
  • Jewish Life in America, 1654-1954
  • Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture: The History of Mass Tourism
  • Literary Manuscripts: Berg Collection (NYPL)
  • Literary Manuscripts: Brotherton Library, Leeds London Low Life
  • Macmillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-1963
  • Market Research & American Business, 1935-65
  • Mass Observation Online (incl Updates I-IV)
  • Nixon Years, 1969-1974
  • Perdita Manuscripts
  • Popular Culture in Britain and America
  • Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900
  • Race Relations in America
  • Research Methods – Primary Sources
  • Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape
  • Sex & Sexuality, Module II: Self-Expression, Community, and Identity
  • Shakespeare in Performance
  • Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007
  • Socialism on Film, Module III: Culture and Society
  • Travel Writing, Spectacle, and World History
  • Victorian Popular Culture
  • Virginia Company Archives
  • Women in the National Archives (U.K.)
  • Worlds Fairs: A Global History of Expositions

ProQuest

Readex

2021 New Journal Subscriptions

  • Nature Machine Intelligence
  • Nature Sustainability
  • New Left Review
  • Newspaper Archive

2020 IAC Faculty Survey

In Fall 2020, IAC conducted an internal faculty survey to identify critical teaching and research resource needs.

Here is the title list of the survey, in most cases the library has acquired the requested collections.

  • One-time purchases: 
    • JSTOR:  
      • with support from the Provost, the Library now provides access to all 15 Arts & Sciences Journal Archive Collections, the Life Sciences Archive Collection, the Business IV collection (Business I-III overlap A&S collections), and the Thematic Collections on Sustainability and Security Studies.   The Thematic Collection on the Lives of Literature and the Primary Source Collections World Heritage Sites: Africa are coming March 2022
      • Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa is a planned purchase by the end of 2022
      • If theres is campus interest in the Hebrew, Jewish Studies, and Ireland journal archives or in the 19th Century British Pamphlets or Global Plants Primary Source Collections, please ask recommend a purchase using this link:  https://www.library.gatech.edu/purchase 
    • ProQuest Historical Newspapers
      • The library now provides access to the U.S. Major Dailies (Chicago Tribune, LA Times, NY Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post), the Boston Globe, and the 11 digitzed Historical Black Newspapers (coming March/April 2022, enhancements that will make these titles available to 2010, and the Louisville Courrier).
      • Other papers are sold by title and if there is interest in other titles, please recommend a purchase using this link:  https://www.library.gatech.edu/purchase 
    • ProQuest Women's Magazines
      • Collection I and II - purchased in 2021.
      • Collection III (coming March 2022)
    • Defining Gender 1450-1910 - purchased 2021
    • Everyday Life and Women in America c1800-1920 - purchased 2021
    • Gender: Identity and Social Change - purchased 2021
    •  
  • Subscriptions
    • ProQuest Gender Watch - subscription added 2021
    • EthnicNewsWatch - subscription added 2021
    • World Energy Balances (data service) - available in an existing resource
    • Web of Science and other Clarivate databases in the Core Collection - acquired the XML archives for 1900-2020 in 2021, will add 2021 and later as a subscription product (data updates annually in March)
    • Netflix - not available for an academic site license
    • Alexander Street - existing subscription (Academic Video Online)
    • Nielsen Homescan Consumer Panel data - subscription added 2021
    • Orbis - Bureau van Dijk - this is an expensive subscription and has data caps that would prevent the intended research by the requesting faculty.
    • People's Daily Database - subscription added 2021
    • CNKI China Citation Database (China Research Gateway)- subscription added 2021