"An important benefit of the Military Database is its content diversity. Included are scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more."
"Subject coverage: Aeronautics, Aerospace engineering, Armed forces, Civil engineering, Communications, Computer security, Criminology, Foreign policy, Government branches, Homeland security and terrorism, Information systems, International relations, Military aircraft, Military and defense, Military branches, National security, Navigation, Political science, Space flight, Telecommunications, War." More information
Truncation character (*) asterisk - retrieves variations of the search term. Use the truncation character at the end (right-hand truncation, such as simulat*) or in the middle of search terms. Each truncated word can return up to 500 word variations.
Standard truncation (*) retrieves variations on the search term, replacing up to 5 characters.
Wildcard character (?) used to replace any single character, either inside or at the right end of a word.
Quotation marks ("signal processing") for exact phrases. Enclose stop words in brackets or quotation marks "near infrared"
Use "Recent Searches" to combine previous search statements, using Boolean operators.
Combine previous search statements. Examples: (1 AND 3) OR (1 AND 2)
3 AND detect* (1 OR 2) AND (3 OR model*)
Use nested (with parenthesis) Boolean operators to combine terms
OR -- To broaden a search; allow for variant spellings; results include any specified term
simulat* OR model* OR mathemat* OR algorithm* [every record contains at least one of these four terms]
AND -- To narrow the scope of a search; results contain all specified terms
radar AND countermeasure* [both terms must be contained in every record]
NOT -- To eliminate terms (or search statements) from a search
Proximity operators:
near/# (within # words, in any order)
pre/# (within # words, in this exact order)
Field qualifiers: limit to a specific field, such as author -- AU(Smith), or to multiple fields at one time, such as TI,SU,AB(robot* and wireless*) for restricting keywords to title, subject and abstract fields. Can limit to fields using Advanced Search drop down menus.
"Anywhere except full text -- NOFT" (drop down menu) or use NOFT as a field code, such as NOFT(laser pre/3 diode). NOFT - does not search the full text field.
Change "Display" -- "results per page" to 100
My Research" free registration. Set up automatic email Alerts.Save search statements (save search queries). One search statement line is saved. Save records. Save search preferences, and more.
Multiple ProQuest databases can be searched simultaneously. Top row "Change databases" ; check the boxes of relevant databases; "Use selected databases"
Email, Print, Download marked records. Can download to EndNote, text, RTF, etc.
