Essential for understanding Black history and culture, African Diaspora, 1860-Present allows scholars to discover the migrations, communities, and ideologies of the African Diaspora through the voices of people of African descent. With a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France, the collection includes never-before digitized primary source documents, including personal papers, organizational papers, journals, newsletters, court documents, letters, and ephemera.
This collection focuses on European, maritime exploration from the earliest voyages of Vasco da Gama and Christopher Columbus, through the age of discovery, the search for the New World, the establishment of European settlements on every continent, to the eventual discovery of the Northwest and Northeast Passages, and the race for the Poles. Bringing together material from twelve archives from around the world, this collection includes documents relating to major events in European maritime history from the voyages of James Cook to the search for John Franklins doomed mission to the Northwest Passage. It contains a host of additional features for teaching, such as an interactive map which presents an in-depth visualisation of over 50 of these influential voyages.
This digital resource shows how World War Two changed American society and the economy, how it impacted individuals and families, and the legacy of the War in human terms. Follow individuals and their families from enlistment and training, to deployment on the US Home Front, or on campaigns overseas. American military and civilian involvement in all major theatres of operations is represented, whilst service branches range from the army, navy and air force, to the marines, merchant marines, coast guards, and medical personnel. Experience operations in the Pacific, the D-Day landings in Europe and the post-war occupation of Germany through personal letters, diaries, photographs, artefacts and military records, and watch as 300 people share their memories of military life, prisoner of war camps and the Home Front in oral history video interviews recorded by The National WWII Museum.
American Indian Newspapers presents the publications of a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016.
Digital collections of historical material on many topics. Includes manuscripts, printed books and periodicals, and government documents.
The library provides access to the following Archives Unbound collections:
Final Accountability Rosters of Japanese-American Relocation Centers, 1944-1946
International Climatic Changes and Global Warming
Japanese American Internment: Records of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library
Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life
Lincoln at the Bar: Extant Case Files from the U.S. District and Circuit Courts, Southern District of Illinois 1855-1861
Personal Justice Denied: Public Hearings of the Commission on Wartime Relocation and Internment, 1981
Price Control in the Courts: The U.S. Emergency Court of Appeals, 1941-1961
Reconstruction, Jim Crow, and the Enforcement of Federal Law in the South, 1871-1884
Spiro T. Agnew Case: The Investigative and Legal Documents
The Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990: Reduction of Acid Rain, Urban Air Pollution, and Environmental Policy
The International War on Drugs
The Scopes Case
This publication includes their correspondence with the attorney general as well all other letters received by the attorney general from the states in question during that period, including the correspondence of marshals, judges, convicts, and concerned or aggrieved citizens. This publication comprises the letters and enclosures contained in the source-chronological file for various states in the South. The correspondence covers a variety of subjects connected with legal matters: Reconstruction conflicts; civil rights; voting rights; internal revenue and customs; regulation of trade, commerce, and transportation; special classes of claims involving the United States; the defense and supervision of public officers; protection of the rights and property of the United States; and other subjects.
Spiro T. Agnew (19181996) was Vice President to Richard Nixon from 1969 until his resignation in 1973 following an investigation on suspicion of criminal conspiracy, bribery, extortion, and tax fraud. This collection contains the legal documents of the case, the correspondence surrounding the investigation and trial, Agnew's records, and related newspaper and magazine articles. Few criminal investigations have ever uncovered such detailed evidence of wrongdoing, with near mathematical precision. These documents are also noteworthy because they detail a most unusual occurrence, in which the second-highest official of a government has been investigated, prosecuted, and forced from office by the Justice Department of that same administration.
This collection records one of the most famous cases of the 20th century, which pitted lawyer Clarence Darrow (18571938) against the politician and fundamentalist William Jennings Bryant (18601925). The Scopes Case, formally known as The State of Tennessee v. John Thomas Scopes, took place in July 1925. The trial highlighted the ongoing debates in the United States between creationism and evolutionism and involved a high school teacher, John T. Scopes (19001970), who was accused of teaching evolution at a school in Dayton, Tennessee. His trial became a highly controversial spectacle, sparking debates across the country. The so-called "Monkey Trial" became less about a law getting broken and more about whether science or religion should take priority in U.S. education.
The focus of the Federal Government Records module is on the political side of the freedom movement, the role of civil rights organizations in pushing for civil rights legislation, and the interaction between African Americans and the federal government in the 20th century. Major collections in this module include the FBI Files on Martin Luther King Jr.; Centers of the Southern Struggle, an exceptional collection of FBI Files covering five of the most pivotal arenas of the civil rights struggle of the 1960s: Montgomery, Albany, St. Augustine, Selma, and Memphis; and records from the Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford and Reagan administrations, detailing the interaction between civil rights leaders and organizations and the highest levels of the federal government.
The Organizational Records and Personal Papers bring a new perspective to the Black Freedom Struggle via the records of major civil rights organizations and personal papers of leaders and observers of the 20th century Black freedom struggle. Includes records and papers from: Southern Christian Leadership Conference, Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters, and the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs, Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE), the Africa-related papers of Claude Barnett, and the Robert F. Williams Papers.
Black Thought and Culture is an electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leadersteachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figurescovering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts. The ideas of over 1,000 authors present an evolving and complex view of what it is to be black in America.
Wiley Digital Archives: British Association for the Advancement of Science (Collections on the History of Science: 1830 — 1970)
The BAAS archive from Wiley Digital Archives contains an aggregation of collections from the BAAS and from archival collections related to the BAAS, contributed by various institutions across the United Kingdom.
WDA: BAAS includes reports; fieldnotes, correspondence and diaries; grey literature; photographs, artwork and illustrations; journal manuscripts; photographs; proceedings, lectures, and ephemera.
The collection spans a wide variety of interdisciplinary research areas, and supports educational needs in a broad range of subjects and disciplines including the History of Science, Life Sciences; Physical Sciences; Mathematics; Engineering; Area Studies; Colonial, Post-Colonial & Decolonisation Studies; Development Studies; Environmental Degradation; Historical Sociology; Geology; International Relations; Trade and Commerce, and Law and Policy relating to Science.
Use VPN
Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.
This resource provides digital access to official British government records relating to the region, from the decline of the Silk Road, through the diplomatic confrontation between the British and Russian Empires known as the Great Game, to the influence of the emergent Soviet Union in the 20th century.
The Chernobyl Files collection contains 152 documents totaling over 500 pages, and features full page-level digitization, complete original graphics, and searchable text, and is cross-searchable with numerous other East View digital resources. Documents in the collection are in Russian and some in Ukrainian, with all titles translated into English.
Documents found in this collection include:
1973: Serious shortcomings during the construction of the Chernobyl Nuclear Power Plant
1981: Violations of radiation safety while studying the use the Chernobyl lake-cooler for industrial fishery purposes
1982: KGB report on the number of foreigners visiting Ukraine
1984: Report on the reliability of the Chernobyl Power Plant reactors
1986: KGB reporting on public attitudes towards the Chernobyl accident
1986: List of cities/towns to be evacuated
1987: Intelligence brief on the causes of the accident
The Chernobyl Newspapers Collection contains all obtainable issues of three newspapers:
Prapor peremohy (Прапор перемоги, Victory Flag) — in Ukrainian; archive from January 1981-November 1988
Tribuna Energetika (Трибуна Энергетика, Energy Workers’ Tribune) — in Russian; archive from September 1979-June 1990
Trybuna pratsi (Трибуна праці, Labor Tribune) — in Ukrainian; archive from January 1981-November 1990
This digital resource showcases a broad range of richly illustrated primary source material which reveals the history and literature of childhood between the 1820s and 1920s. Rare books and unique works of art trace the development of childrens publishing from early mass-produced items through to the flourishing print culture that followed.
The 1990 Clean Air Act Amendments were a landmark effort to reduce air pollution through a variety of instruments including the use of a market-based system of trade-able pollution "permits" under its Title IV and Title V. This Archives Unbound collection consists of essential documents on the promulgation and implementation of the Clean Air Act Amendments (CAAA) of 1990 and other environmental issues including endangered species and protection of American wetlands.
New for 2022: 1992-2010
Search the Historical Cleveland Call and Post. Dates of Coverage:
Cleveland Call and Post: 1934-1962
Call and Post (City Edition): 1962-1982
Call and Post (Cleveland Edition): 1982-2010
New for 2022:
Module III: The American Revolution
Module IV: Legislation and Politics in the Colonies
Module V: Growth, Trade, and Development
Colonial America makes available all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series from The National Archives, UK, covering the period 1606 to 1822. CO 5 consists of the original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies, making it a uniquely rich resource for all historians of the period.
This extensive digital resource covers three centuries of Caribbean history. Drawn from the vast archives of the British Colonial Office, this is simply an essential resource for all students and researchers of the Caribbean and British colonial rule.
This enormous range of unique primary sources covers British governance of 25 islands in the Caribbean from 1624-1872, meeting teaching and research needs across a wide variety of themes, from settlement and colonial rivalries in the region, to the economics of the plantation systems and the impact of slavery, to crime and punishment and the everyday lives of the people that called the islands home.
Use VPNA platform for teaching, learning, and performing text analysis using the world’s leading archival repositories of scholarly and primary source content from JSTOR and other sources.
Constellate enables schools of all sizes to teach data and text analytics with a learning platform that empowers faculty, librarians, and other instructors to educate a new generation of learners in text and data analysis. Our solution, centered on student and researcher success, provides text and data analysis capabilities and access to content from some of the world’s most respected databases in an open environment with a variety of teaching materials that can be used, modified, and shared. We envision a future where text and data analytics skills are being taught on Constellate in classes in all disciplines.
This archive presents a vast, expertly curated, comprehensive collection of significant primary source documents, arranged in collections, that are central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.
One person in seven experiences disability, yet the story of this community and its contributions is largely absent from the scholarly record. Access to the primary and secondary source materials within this collection enables you to include this important piece of the puzzle in your research.
e-Duke Journals provides online access to journals in the humanities and social sciences. The collection includes flagship publications, such as Hispanic American Historical Review and GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian and Gay Studies. It also includes important new scholarship in cutting-edge fields, such as TSQ: Transgender Studies Quarterly, Public Culture, and the Journal of Middle East Women’s Studies.
This collection of primary sources looks at two centuries of everyday, political, religious, working, trading and administrative life in England during this pivotal epoch.
Documents cover an array of topics relating to England during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, with a significant focus on the lives of everyday people. Volumes of correspondence from more prominent families look at governance, politics, monarchy, relations between landowners and tenants, war, politics and relations with Englands neighbours.
From the Companys charter in 1600 to Indian independence in 1947, East India Company tells the story of trade with the East; politics; and the rise and fall of the British Empire. It records the challenges of a globalising world and sheds light on many contrasting narratives from records of powerful political figures, through to the lives of native populations and the individual traders who lived and worked at the edge of Empire.
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Issues have been scanned in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of articles, covers, ads and reviews.
The Library provides access to:
EIMA1: Music, Radio and The Stage
EIMA2: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 1)
EIMA3: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 2)
EIMA4: Rock, Folk and Hip-hop
EIMA5: Video Gaming (Coming Soon)
For a complete list of titles see: href=https://proquest.libguides.com/eima/content
New for 2022:
Module IV: A Global Conflict The First World War portal makes available invaluable primary sources for the study of the Great War, brought together in four thematic modules. From personal collections and rare printed material to military files, artwork and audio-visual files, content highlights the experiences of soldiers, civilians and governments on both sides of a conflict that shook the world.
The story of food and drink is a unique lens through which to view social and cultural history. The materials in this collection illustrate the deep links between food and identity, politics, power, gender, race, and socio-economic status, as well as charting key issues such as agriculture, nutrition, and food production.
Explore a wide range of primary source material, including printed and manuscript cookbooks, advertising ephemera, government reports, films, and illustrated content - revealing the evolution of food and drink within everyday life and the public sphere. The unique material in this collection has been sourced from across the globe to reflect a wide range of food cultures and traditions, creating an unparalleled research resource.
This collection provides significant insight into the events between First World War victory and Second World War defeat, crucial to understanding the political journey of Japan during this period. Topics covered include ultra-nationalism and the Japanese agenda of imperial dominance in the Far East, employment and social conditions in a time of global economic instability, and the Great Kanto Earthquake of 1923 which flattened Tokyo. These documents record relations with Axis Powers in the context of changing alliances, the deterioration of relations with the Allies as World War Two reached the Pacific, and American post-war occupation of Japan.
This collection offers an insight into the significant changes that took place in Southeast Asia during 1963-1980, including the creation of Malaysia and the response to this from the wider region. Material from The National Archives, UK covers the Cobbold Commission, the end of the Malayan Emergency and tensions between Indonesia and Malaysia, as well as rising animosity towards the perceived threat of communism at this time.
New for 2022:
1975-1978, The Lebanese Civil War and the Camp David Accords
1979-1981, The Iranian Revolution and the Iran-Iraq War
Providing an invaluable resource for researchers and students seeking to understand the modern Middle East, this collection contains complete runs of Foreign Office files, providing an expansive view of key events and their global political impact.
Users can explore the Arab-Israeli War, Henry Kissinger’s ‘shuttle diplomacy’ and the historic Camp David Accords that followed. The resource also examines internal conflicts, such as the uprising in Dhofar, the military coup in Cyprus, the Lebanese Civil War and the Iranian Revolution. Energy concerns dominate this resource, with reports on the oil policies of Saudi Arabia, Kuwait and Iraq, and how price hikes, embargoes and industrial strikes affected the G8’s energy supply and economy. Additionally, users will be able to scrutinise policies on international arms sales.
From the earliest days of the colonial era through modern times, people of Spanish
speaking heritage have shaped the geography, arts, culture, and civil discourse of
the United States in immeasurable ways. This primary source collection offers an
expansive window into centuries of Hispanic American history, culture, and daily life
as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of
Hispanic descent.
The content in HLA is sourced from more than 17,000 American and global news
sources, including over 700 Spanish language or bilingual publications.
This module consists of 11 collections from the Harvard Law School Library, highlighting three Supreme Court Justices, the first Black federal judge, high-profile cases, and insights into developing ideologies and laws, as far back as 1861 with the Papers of Oliver Wendell Holmes, which span from the Civil War to the Great Depression. The Papers of Louis D. Brandeis and Felix Frankfurter provide a behind-the-scenes view of the Supreme Court between 1919 and 1961. The Frankfurter Papers are of special note because they reveal how the Supreme Court approached the Brown v. Board of Education decision, the landmark school desegregation case that is well documented in other History Vault modules.
Artech House eBooks hosted on the IEEE Xplore platform: From antennas, RF/microwave design, communications (including telecom and wireless/satellite), radar engineering, electronic defense, to GPS/GNSS, power engineering, MEMS, nanotechnology, computer security, block chain, IoT and more.
A curated collection of Princeton University Press titles. Topics cover a wide range of technology areas including computer science, electrical engineering, mathematics, physics and astronomy, and history of science and knowledge.
Interwar Culture showcases a vast collection of popular and lesser-known periodicals published during these dynamic yet turbulent decades with articles covering arts and culture, fashion, home and family life, travel, world current affairs, class, social and welfare issues as well as a wealth of writing from some of the most prominent literary figures of the era.
Following the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor and the U.S. entry into World War II in December 1941, the Roosevelt administration decided that for reasons of “military necessity,” the government would evacuate all persons of Japanese heritage from the West Coast states. The Records of the War Relocation Authority document the day-to-day running of the 10 relocation camps from 1942-1946. The collection is organized by relocation center. Records include reports and correspondence on issues such as security, education, health, vocational training, agriculture, food, and family welfare.
New for 2022. The library provides access to all 15 JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections and the Life Sciences Collection.
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. JSTOR coverage is defined by a 2 to 10 year "moving wall," which is the gap between the most recently published issue of a journal and the date the most recent issues are available in JSTOR.
Research Guide
This collection gathers academic journals devoted to the deep study of writers and texts associated with core literary movements. Lives of Literature contains 107 journals that are all new to JSTOR. The collection comprises four thematic modules:
Explore a wide range of journals, ebooks, and approximately 20,000 Open Access research reports in the field of security studies. This content looks at security studies through a broad lens, encompassing research on international security and peace and conflict studies from all corners of the globe.
World Heritage Sites: Africa links visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites. The materials in World Heritage Sites: Africa serve researchers in African studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, Diaspora studies, folklore and literature, geography, and history, as well as those focused on geomatics, advanced visual and spatial technologies, historic preservation, and urban planning.
This module consists of 11 collections from the Harvard Law School Library, highlighting three Supreme Court Justices, the first Black federal judge, high-profile cases, and insights into developing ideologies and laws, as far back as 1861 with the Papers of Oliver Wendell Holmes, which span from the Civil War to the Great Depression. The Papers of Louis D. Brandeis and Felix Frankfurter provide a behind-the-scenes view of the Supreme Court between 1919 and 1961. The Frankfurter Papers are of special note because they reveal how the Supreme Court approached the Brown v. Board of Education decision, the landmark school desegregation case that is well documented in other History Vault modules.
Albert Levitt Papers
This collection contains the legal documents written or used by law professor and judge Albert Levitt during 1927-1937 and 1965-1968. A small number of research items used by Levitt date back to the early 1920s and before. In addition to his legal positions, Levitt was an unsuccessful candidate for political office, most notably in his race for the Republican nomination for U.S. Senate in California in 1950. He finished last to the winner, Richard Nixon.
Felix Frankfurter Papers, Part I: United States Supreme Court, Case Files of Opinions and Memoranda, October Terms 1938-1952
This collection contains Justice Felix Frankfurter's opinions and memoranda for Supreme Court October Terms from 1938 through 1952, and represents the first part of History Vault's series of Frankfurter papers. Part two contains Frankfurter's opinions and memoranda during October Terms 1953-1961, while part three contains his voluminous correspondence throughout his legal and judicial career.
Felix Frankfurter Papers, Part II: United States Supreme Court, Case Files of Opinions and Memoranda, October Terms 1953-1961
This collection contains Justice Felix Frankfurter's opinions and memoranda for Supreme Court October Terms from 1953 through 1961, and represents the second part of History Vault's series of Frankfurter papers. Part one contains Frankfurter's opinions and memoranda during October Terms 1938-1952, while part three contains his voluminous correspondence throughout his legal and judicial career.
Felix Frankfurter Papers, Part III: Correspondence and Related Material
This collection contains Justice Felix Frankfurter's voluminous correspondence, beginning with his time at Harvard University, continuing through the 1920s with the Sacco-Vanzetti case and other cases and issues, and extending through Frankfurter's tenure on the Supreme Court from 1939 through 1962, and represents the third part of History Vault's series of Frankfurter papers. Parts one and two contain Frankfurter's opinions and memoranda in Supreme Court cases during October Terms 1938-1961. Frankfurter was perhaps the 20th century court's most ardent advocate of judicial restraint, arguing time and again that the court's decisions must not infringe upon the powers vested in Congress and the Executive Branch, as well as upon the powers constitutionally reserved for state governments and state courts. But basing his positions on judicial restraint often put him at odds with the more liberal members of the court.
Livingston Hall Papers
This collection documents the work of attorney, educator, and legal scholar, Livingston Hall, spanning the years 1947 to 1973. The papers cover Hall's activities as a member, and frequently chairman, of study groups, surveys, commissions, and councils which were charged with monitoring law enforcement agencies and the judicial system of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, and with presenting recommendations and/or drafting legislation for the revision of existing laws and codes.
Louis Dembitz Brandeis Papers, Part 1: United States Supreme Court, October Terms 1916-1931
History Vault's Brandeis Papers consist of two parts with the first part comprising Brandeis' Supreme Court documents during 1916-1931. The second part includes his court papers from 1932 until his retirement in 1939 as well as miscellaneous court and personal documents, addenda, and bound volumes. The 18,000 items in the Papers of Louis Dembitz Brandeis, Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States, span the years 1881 to 1966, with the bulk of the collection falling into the period of his Court years, namely 1916 to 1939. The following types of materials are included in these Papers: opinion drafts, both holograph and typed; correspondence; lists; tabulations; memoranda; legal documents; research notes; bibliographies; notebooks; printed materials; Xerox and Photostat copies; and photos.
Louis Dembitz Brandeis Papers, Part 2: United States Supreme Court, October Terms 1932-1938
History Vault's Brandeis Papers consist of two parts with the first part comprising Brandeis' Supreme Court documents during 1916-1931. The second part includes his court papers from 1932 until his retirement in 1939 as well as miscellaneous court and personal documents, addenda, and bound volumes. The 18,000 items in the Papers of Louis Dembitz Brandeis, Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States, span the years 1881 to 1966, with the bulk of the collection falling into the period of his Court years, namely 1916 to 1939. The following types of materials are included in these Papers: opinion drafts, both holograph and typed; correspondence; lists; tabulations; memoranda; legal documents; research notes; bibliographies; notebooks; printed materials; Xerox and Photostat copies; and photos.
Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr. Papers
Primarily made up of personal correspondence, the papers of Supreme Court Justice Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr. (1841-1935), span the years 1861 to 1935, with some family biographical material going back earlier, and the notes and correspondence of Holmes' biographer, legal historian Mark DeWolfe Howe, continuing through the 1960s. While the collection does contain some Supreme Court material, such as Holmes' bench notes and bound volumes of his Supreme Court opinions, the correspondence only touches on Supreme Court activities more generally, with few mentions of specific cases. The main focus of the collection is Holmes' life, as a soldier, lawyer, and judge, his friendships, social life, and most of all, his intellectual life.
Richard H. Field Papers
This collection contains the working papers of law professor and legal scholar Richard H. Field, spanning the years 1942 to 1978. Roughly half of the collection relates to Field's work as chief reporter for the American Law Institute's study of jurisdiction between state and federal courts, including papers by Field and reporters Paul J. Mishkin and Charles Alan Wright. Other collection documents cover his work as visiting professor at the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies, University of London, service with U.S. Office of Price Administration during and after World War II, and his involvement with the Alger Hiss espionage trial.
Roscoe Pound Papers, Part I: Correspondence, 1907-1964
This collection contains the voluminous correspondence of professor and Harvard Law School Dean Roscoe Pound and constitutes the first part in History Vault's three-part series of Pound's papers. The material spans the years 1889 to 1964, with the bulk of the material falling within the period 1910 to 1964. The correspondence and other collection materials relate to Pound's activities as teacher, administrator, legal scholar, champion in the struggle to raise the standards of the American legal profession and American legal teaching, and as the leading advocate of the changes needed to improve the criminal justice system in the United States.
Roscoe Pound Papers, Part II: Writings, Lectures, Addresses, Teaching Notes, and Miscellaneous Manuscripts
This collection contains a variety of materials written by or about Harvard Law School Dean Roscoe Pound and constitutes the second part of History Vault's three-part series of Pound's papers. Part II documents focus on Pound's teaching-related papers, his scholarly writings, and his many addresses at universities and associations. Many of Roscoe Pound's teaching notes formed the basis of his later books. This series also contains a small number of manuscripts in mimeographed form which were submitted to Dean Pound by friends, former students, and members of law faculties other than Harvard. The last portion of the collection contains Pound's diaries.
Roscoe Pound Papers, Part III: Personal, Biographical, Bibliographical, Miscellany, and Activities
This collection contains a variety of materials written by or about Harvard Law School Dean Roscoe Pound and constitutes the third part of History Vault's three-part series of Pound's papers. The materials span the years 1889 to 1964, with the bulk of the material falling within the period 1910 to 1964. The document types include diaries, personal financial records, scrapbooks, honorary degrees, legal briefs, writings about Pound, and various forms of correspondence. The collection materials relate to his activities as teacher, administrator, legal scholar, champion in the struggle to raise the standards of the American legal profession and American legal teaching, and as the leading advocate of the changes needed to improve the criminal justice system in the United States.
Sacco-Vanzetti Case Papers
In 1920, Italian-born anarchists Nicola Sacco and Bartolomeo Vanzetti were arrested for armed robbery and the murder of Alessandro Berardelli and Frederick Parmenter at a shoe factory in South Braintree, Massachusetts. After a controversial seven-week trial before Judge Webster Thayer in Dedham, Massachusetts, the two men were convicted of first-degree murder. The convictions drew cries of outrage and protests from socialists, radicals, and prominent intellectuals in the United States and Europe, who considered Sacco and Vanzetti victims of political and ethnic prejudice. Following a lengthy series of rejected appeals and a failed defense campaign, the two men were executed on August 23, 1927.
Sheldon Glueck Papers
This collection brings together an extensive number of jurisprudence papers written and used by Sheldon Glueck, a prominent criminologist at Harvard Law School, who with his wife Eleanor Glueck was a pioneer in research on juvenile delinquency. The Gluecks were the first criminologists to perform studies of chronic juvenile offenders.
William H. Hastie Papers, Part I: Judicial Activities
The papers of William Henry Hastie span the years 1916 to 1976, with the bulk of the papers falling into the period from his nomination to the bench of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit by President Harry S. Truman, October 15, 1949, to the time of his death, April 14, 1976.
William H. Hastie Papers, Part II: Civil Rights, Organizational, and Private Activities
This collection represents History Vault's second part of William H. Hastie papers, and contains Judge Hastie's papers in the nonjudicial areas of civil rights, racial discrimination and segregation, and organizational, writing, and speaking activities. (Part one covers Hastie's judicial activities, including extensive documentation of court opinions.) The collection includes correspondence, memoranda, reports, research materials and notes, newspaper clippings, legal and legislative documents, speech and lecture notes, manuscripts, and a small amount of memorabilia such as honorary degrees.
Zechariah Chafee Jr. Papers
This collection contains the legal writings of Zechariah Chafee Jr., a prominent law professor, legal scholar, and historian, with the bulk of the material covering the span 1916 to 1956. Chafee is best known as an advocate of freedom of speech and wrote several influential books on the subject. He also authored important works on business law and, in 1936, drafted the Federal Interpleader Act, which he considered his most important achievement among his legal writings.
An online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community with content including selections from The National Archives in Kew, materials collected by activist and publisher Tracy Baim from the mid-1980s through the mid-2000s, the Magnus Hirschfeld and Harry Benjamin collections from the Kinsey Institute, periodicals such as En la Vida and BLACKlines, select rare works from notable LGBT publishers including Alyson Books and Cleis Press, as well as mainstream trade and university publishers
This collection consists of the extant files of cases from the records of the U.S. District and Circuit Courts at Springfield with which Abraham Lincoln has been identified as legal counsel, and date from 1855 to 1861. The 122 case files reproduced here include civil actions brought under both statute and common law, admiralty litigation, and a few criminal cases.
The archive of the Stationers Company is widely regarded as one of the most important sources for studying the history of the book, publishing and copyright. The Company was instrumental in the development of the printed book in early modern England, exerting enormous power over the publishing industry as it developed. This resource provides essential primary sources for students and scholars of English literature, Renaissance theatre, and print culture from the early modern period to the twentieth century.
Mass Observation Project 1981-2009 provides digital access to a unique life-writing archive, capturing the everyday experiences, thoughts and opinions of people living through the turbulent final decades of the 20th century and the advent of the 21st century.
Writing in response to directives (questionnaires), hundreds of Mass Observers provide a unique insight into an extraordinary range of subjects, from the deeply personal (sex, family) to everyday life (shopping, holidays) to global affairs.
From the beginning of the Crimean War to the discovery of penicillin, Medical Services and Warfare gathers material from multiple conflicts to build a picture of the experience and development of medical practice as influenced by the wars of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
This collection focuses on the Crimean War, the American Civil War, the First World War, and the Second World War among other conflicts. The impact on medicine during peacetime is also charted, notably through documents relating to the influenza epidemic of 1918 and post-war rehabilitation.
From the century of immigration, through to the modern era, Migration to New Worlds charts the emigration experience of millions across 200 years of turbulent history. Explore the rise and fall of the New Zealand Company, discover British, European and Asian migration and investigate unique primary source personal accounts, shipping logs, printed literature and organisational papers supplemented by carefully compiled teaching and research aids.
The New York Academy of Sciences archive encapsulates the history and development of natural science, technology and modern biomedical sciences, and documents anti-intellectualist sentiments towards scientists. The archive includes chronicles of efforts by governments and corporations to influence research into the exploitation of natural resources, labor conditions, and the environmental and economic impacts of mining, drilling, industrial waste and pollution.
New for 2022: 1994-2010
Search the Historical New York Amsterdam News. Dates of coverage are below. Please note their are gaps.
11/29/1922 until 12/31/1923.
01/01/1925 until 08/27/1938.
09/03/1938 until 01/04/1941.
01/11/1941 until 02/28/1941.
02/08/1941 until 03/27/1943.
04/03/1943 until 12/30/1961.
1962-2010
NewspaperARCHIVE.com, the largest historical newspaper database online, contains tens of millions of newspaper pages from 1607 to present. Every newspaper in the archive is fully searchable by keyword and date, making it easy for you to quickly explore historical content.
Nineteenth Century Literary Society offers unprecedented digital access to the peerless archive of the historic John Murray publishing company. Held by the National Library of Scotland since 2006 and added to the UNESCO Register of World Memory in 2011, the Murray collection comprises one of the worlds most important literary archives.
Oxford Handbooks Online is guided by a world-class Editorial Board that bring together the world’s leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking on a range of major topics. Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research.
The library provides handbooks from the following subject areas: Business & Management, Economics & Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Neuroscience, Philosophy, Physical Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology
This digital resource documents the interactions between government policy and public philanthropy in Victorian and early twentieth-century society, tracing developments in welfare reform and the social tensions surrounding poverty. Discover the conditions of workhouses and the administration of the new poor relief system through the official government correspondence of the Poor Law Commission, and explore the demonstrable shift in social conditions and welfare reform through a variety of material.
In the Emergency Price Control Act of 1942, Congress established a comprehensive system of administrative controls over prices, as a means of checking the inflation that accompanied Americas entry into World War II. The Act created a temporary Emergency Court of Appeals, staffed by federal judges from the district courts and courts of appeals, with exclusive jurisdiction to determine the validity of price control regulations.
Use VPN: This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1919 - 2013
Queer Pasts is a collection of primary source exhibits for students and scholars of queer history and culture. The database uses “queer” in its broadest and most inclusive sense, to embrace topics that are gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender and to include work on sexual and gender formations that are queer but not necessarily LGBT.
The backfile of Rolling Stone, from its launch in 1967 to the present. One of the most influential consumer magazines of the 20th-21st centuries, it initially sought to reflect the cultural, social, and political outlook of a generation of students and young adults. It has been a leading vehicle for rock and popular music journalism, as well as covering wider entertainment topics such as film and popular culture.
The Royal College of Physicians - includes content within the date ranges of 1101 through 2000. From the founding charter to 20th-century reports on the effects of smoking, there is a wealth of material on the RCP's role in relation to contemporary medical advances.
he RCP was founded so that physicians could be formally licensed to practise and those who were not qualified could be exposed and punished. There are many archive records defining the RCP’s changing role in setting standards in medical practice. RCP members have always collected manuscripts and papers on a wide range of medical and non-medical topics. As a result the archives contain an eclectic range of 14th- to 19th-century manuscripts. Personal papers of past fellows from the 16th century to the 20th century provide glimpses into the personal lives and social concerns of many distinguished physicians.
Service Newspapers of World War Two contains an extensive range of both rare and well-known wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theatres around the world. Publications are included from many key nations involved in the conflict, such as the US, Canada, New Zealand, India, and the countries of Europe, Africa and the Middle East. Both Allied and Axis publications are presented, offering a broad view of the war and the experiences of those on its front lines.
Module I
Highlights include Stars and Stripes London Edition, Fauji Akhbar, a highly visual publication for Indian troops, Springbok, printed in both English and Afrikaans for those serving in South Africa, Die Wehrmacht, which served both Germany’s public and its troops, and 13 editions of the Union Jack.
Module II
Continuing the themes seen in Module I and covering an equally diverse set of geographical locations, highlights within this module include, The Land Girl, published in Britain for the women’s land army on the home front, the highly visual weekly magazine Parade, published for British forces in the Middle East, the all-services newspaper of South East Asia Command, Yank, a popular magazine for the US armed forces, American and Australian editions of Guinea Gold, Blighty, a weekly paper for British forces, and Ceylon Review, a weekly publication for British forces in Ceylon.
New for 2022:
Module I: Research Collections from The Kinsey Institute Library & Special Collections This collection explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities and sexual behaviors from the nineteenth to the twenty-first centuries. Investigating the breadth and complexity of human sexual understanding through the work of leading sexologists, sex researchers, organizations and personal accounts. Please note this resource contains sexually explicit material.
Renowned worldwide for the iconic reconstruction of the original Globe Theatre, Shakespeares Globe celebrates William Shakespeare through the power of performance to make his work accessible to all. From architectural plans to costume designs, prompt books and programmes, the digitised archive of Shakespeares Globe offers researchers a comprehensive insight into performance practice in this unique theatre space. Documenting over 300 productions from 1997-2016, this digital collection is a critical resource for the study of Shakespeare, theatre, cultural history and early-modern literature.
New for 2022:
Module I: Wars and Revolutions
Module II: Newsreels and Cinemagazines
Sourced from the British Film Institute (BFI), Socialism on Film documents the communist world, from the Russian Revolution to the end of the Cold War. This unique collection of documentary films, features and newsreels reveals all aspects of life behind the Iron Curtain, as seen by filmmakers from the USSR, Vietnam, Cuba, China, East Germany, Eastern Europe and more.
SpringerProtocols is an invaluable resource for the modern research laboratory. It is the largest database of reproducible laboratory protocols (over 66,000) in biomedicine and and life sciences, so users can find the right protocol for their lab set-up, eliminating the need to compromise or find "work-arounds." SpringerProtocols offers researchers access up to 30 years' worth of time-tested, step-by-step protocols for immediate use in their labs. This resource includes publications from the following series
A richly varied range of archival sources charts the contradictions of the age. The resource includes the personal and business papers of key industrialists; records of rail, steel and oil corporations; material on labour disputes, politics and progressivism; and rich visual content on fashion, material culture and architecture.
This collection presents a wealth of highly visual trade catalogues, cards and marketing ephemera, tracing the rise of the American dream and evolution of commerce throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. The content is sourced from three of the pre-eminent collections of trade literature in America: the Lawrence B Romaine collection at UC Santa Barbara, the Hagley Museum and Library and the Winterthur Library.
Search the Historic Wall Street Journal. Dates of coverage are below. Please note there are gaps.
07/08/1889 until 12/31/1891.
07/01/1892 until 12/30/1922.
1923 until 2002.
Archive III
An archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Issues are scanned in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.
Better Homes and Gardens, 1922-2005
Chatelaine, 1928-1940;1942-1944;1946-1947;1949-1951;1954-1955;1957-1958;1960-2005
Company, 1978-2005
Cosmopolitan, 1886-2005
Cosmopolitan UK Edition, 1972-2005
Essence, 1970-2005
Flare, 1979-2005
Good Housekeeping, 1885-2005
Good Housekeeping UK Edition, 1922-2005
Ladies' Home Journal, 1885-2005
Parents, 1926-1980;1982-2005
Prima, 1986-2005
Redbook, 1903-1924;1926-2005
Seventeen, 1944-2005
She, 1955-2003
Town & Country, 1846-1851;1854-1856;1900-2005
Women's International Network News, 1975-2003
Woman's Day, 1937-2005
This multidisciplinary resource includes a comprehensive range of content for the region, providing research across the humanities both for current issues and events in Latin America and the Caribbean as well as for historical perspective back to the colonial period.
