Skip to Main Content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture, LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I and II, Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century, L' Enfer de la Bibliotheque Nationale de France Digital Archive
A unique, fully-searchable collection that brings together approximately 1.5 million pages of primary sources, enabling students, educators, and researchers to thoroughly explore and make new connections in subjects such as LGBTQ+ history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, sociology, health, political science, gender studies, and more.
Black Women Writers This link opens in a new window
New
Black Women Writers presents 100,000 pages of literature and essays on feminist issues, written by authors from Africa and the African diaspora. Facing both sexism and racism, black women needed to create their own identities and movements. The collection documents that effort, presenting the woman’s perspective on the diversity and development of black people generally, and in particular the works document the evolution of black feminism.
Bloomsbury Architecture Design & Practice Online This link opens in a new window
New
Bloomsbury Architecture Design & Practice Online Collection includes over 200 key titles focusing on studio design and professional practice. Students and professional architects can cross-search resources on up-to-date peer-reviewed content, case studies, technical drawings, and over 15,000 images.
New
Wiley Digital Archives: British Association for the Advancement of Science (Collections on the History of Science: 1830 — 1970)

The BAAS archive from Wiley Digital Archives contains an aggregation of collections from the BAAS and from archival collections related to the BAAS, contributed by various institutions across the United Kingdom.
Chatham House Online Archive This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): Publications and Archives of Royal Institute of International Affairs
Chatham House Online Archive contains articles and essays on Chatham House, its history, research, publications and archival material.
Module 1 contains high-level analysis and research on global trends and key events and issues, from the aftermath of World War I into the Cold War.
Module 2 contains high-level analysis and research on global trends and key events and issues from the latter part of Cold War to the War on Terror.
New
This primary source archive presents a valuable collection of primary source material carefully selected from the British India Office Records, covering Anglo-Chinese relations and the British interests in South Asia, Central Asia, East Asia, and Southeast Asia from 1869 to 1950. The collection comprises files selected from three series; the Political and Secret Department Records, the Burma Office Records, and the Records of Military Department.
New
Alternate Name(s): China and the Modern World
An essential primary source archive for researching the history of Hong Kong in the context of modern China and the British Empire in Asia from the inception of this British colony in the 1840s to the early 1950s immediately after the founding of the People’s Republic of China.
Colonial America, 1606-1822 This link opens in a new window
  • Contains Images
  • Primary Source Material
New
New for 2022:
Module III: The American Revolution
Module IV: Legislation and Politics in the Colonies
Module V: Growth, Trade, and Development

Colonial America makes available all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series from The National Archives, UK, covering the period 1606 to 1822. CO 5 consists of the original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies, making it a uniquely rich resource for all historians of the period.
Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
  • Primary Source Material
New
This archive presents a vast, expertly curated, comprehensive collection of significant primary source documents, arranged in collections, that are central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.
Duke University Press Journals Collection This link opens in a new window
New
e-Duke Journals provides online access to journals in the humanities and social sciences. The collection includes flagship publications, such as Hispanic American Historical Review and GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian and Gay Studies. It also includes important new scholarship in cutting-edge fields, such as TSQ: Transgender Studies Quarterly, Public Culture, and the Journal of Middle East Women’s Studies.
New
Alternate Name(s): Indigenous Peoples of North America Part 2 Indian Rights Association Digital Archive
Indigenous Peoples of North America illustrates the fabric of the North American story with unprecedented depth and breadth. Comprehensive yet personal, the collection covers the history of American Indian tribes and supporting organizations.
Topics include trade and communication, Arctic exploration and tribes, the Iroquois Confederation, Canadian Catholic Indian missions, Indian removal, Indian wars and the frontier army, establishment of the Canadian Indian and Aboriginal Department, Indian delegations and Indian-federal relations, Canadian Indian treaty policy, government boarding and missionary schools and curricula, Dawes Severalty and the allotment system, dances and festivals, Alaskan Indian policies, Indian languages and linguistics, assimilation and the Indian New Deal, relocation, termination, and the Indian Claims Commission, water and fishing rights, civil rights, radicalism, poverty, and the American Indian movement.
New
The International Herald Tribune Historical Archive, 1887-2013 features the complete run of the International Herald Tribune from its origins as the European Edition of The New York Herald and later the European Edition of the New York Herald Tribune. The archive ends with the last issue of the International Herald Tribune before its relaunch as the International New York Times.
Latin American Women Writers This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): Latin American Women Writers
What we call "Latin American culture" is a composite of the rich and diverse output of 20 sovereign countries. This collection comprises 100,000 pages of literary works, along with memoirs and essays, in their original language, by Latin American women from the colonial period in the 17th century to the present. It brings together all the voices of Latin American women and presents a tool for understanding the diversity and development of Latin America through a feminine perspective.
New
National Geographic magazine built its reputation delivering the highest-quality photojournalism and cartography in the world.
Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
New
NewspaperARCHIVE.com, the largest historical newspaper database online, contains tens of millions of newspaper pages from 1607 to present. Every newspaper in the archive is fully searchable by keyword and date, making it easy for you to quickly explore historical content.
North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
New
North American Indian Thought and Culture
North American Indian Thought and Culture brings together more than 100,000 pages, many of which are previously unpublished, rare, or hard to find. The project integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files for the first time. The result is a comprehensive representation of historical events as told by the individuals who lived through them.
Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992 This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992 Digital Archive
Punch was the world's most celebrated magazine of wit and satire. Punch has played a central role in the formation of British identity—and how the rest of the world saw the British nation. Also contains 7,900 issues (200,000 pages) from all volumes of Punch from 1841 to 1992, including Almanacks and other special numbers (issues), as well as prefaces, epilogues, indexes, and other specially produced material from the bound volumes, the images in the archive appear as originally published.
New
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States.
New
Alternate Name(s): The Making of the Modern World, Part I - IV. Coverage 1450 - 1890.
he Making of the Modern World is an extraordinary series which covers the history of Western trade, encompassing the coal, iron, and steel industries, the railway industry, the cotton industry, banking and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation. It is also strong in the rise of the modern labor movement, the evolving status of slavery, the condition and making of the working class, colonization, the Atlantic world, Latin American/Caribbean studies, social history, gender, and the economic theories that championed and challenged capitalism in the nineteenth century.
Victorians on Film This link opens in a new window
  • Contains video
New
Alternate Name(s): Adam Matthew Digital Victorians on Film
Discover the British Film Institute’s Victorian Film Collection and the Mitchell and Kenyon Collection, as well as a selection of special early large format films. This material provides a glimpse into the lives of the late Victorians and Edwardians captured between 1895 and 1913 by some of Britain’s earliest film pioneers and innovators.
Wall Street Journal (Historic Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
  • Contains Images
  • Primary Source Material
  • Articles
  • Business/Market data
New
Search the Historic Wall Street Journal. Dates of coverage are below. Please note there are gaps.
07/08/1889 until 12/31/1891.
07/01/1892 until 12/30/1922.
1923 until 2002.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...