Resource Guides: Business: Sports

Databases

Sports Market Analytics
Includes data about sport fans, participants, venues and sporting goods buyers, all in one place. Note: requires VPN or campus IP address.
more...less...
SMA is IP authenticated, so you must access from the VPN or a Campus IP address. Login steps if you don't see "Logged in as: Georgia Tech" at the top of the screen. 1) Click the login button and 2) reload the website https://sportsmarketanalytics.com/
Academic Search Complete
Periodical articles, many full-text (though not always in pdf; some in html). Includes selected articles from Sports Illustrated.

See Keeping Current box for daily/weekly news. Also consider searching in periodical databases such as Academic Search Complete and Business Source Complete.

Football 101

Presentation slides from Football 101 presentation with Eric Brower, and the selected resources list for further info.:

Keeping Current

Sports Illustrated - magazine -- selected content is in the Academic Search Complete database.

For daily coverage -

Newspaper databases with "newsstand" versions - all sections of the newspaper -- graphics and charts included. Best for browsing.

Access World News
Select the "Atlanta Journal-Constitution" collection, right frame, and the "image" version for the AJC. Other newspapers are text only.
PressReader
Includes "AJC" ; Los Angeles Times ; Chicago Tribune.

The Library subscribes to text (in html) of daily newspapers - via 3rd party vendors - sometimes, the Sports section is not included.

U.S. Newsstream
Text of articles in US newspapers - best for searching.
Global Newsstream
Text of newspaper articles worldwide. Also excellent searching.
Nexis Uni
Good searching; worldwide coverage of text of articles. Yet cannot limit to just newspapers until after search results displayed (select publication type, left frame).
Factiva
Worldwide coverage of articles. For newspapers, a bit clunky to limit - see below ("more") for instructions.
more...less...
Select Source, then Select Source Category... by Type... then Newspapers - can limit further.

Books

Search the library's online catalog for book titles of interest. If we don't have it, we'll borrow it from another library - please use the Interlibrary loan service.

The Business of Sports
3 vols. Library has online and in the Library - 2nd floor, Price Gilbert: CORE GV716.B89 2008
more...less...
Publ. in 2008. Ed. by Brad Humphreys and Dennis Howard.
Economics of College Sports.
In the Library - 2nd floor, Price Gilbert. CORE GV350.E36 2004

Hot Topics - Sports

NCAA Proposes 'Interim Policy' on Name, Image, Likeness
June 28, 2021. From Dow Jones Institutional News, via ABI/Inform Collection database.
What Does Supreme Court Decision Against NCAA Mean For College Athletes’ Name, Image And Likeness Rights?
From Forbes magazine, June 21, 2021.
Brief of Amici Curiae Sports Economists in Support of Respondents
Submitted to the Supreme Court, March 10, 2021 -- re the Shawne Alston case.

Statistics

NCAA Football Coach Salaries
Released annually each fall by USAToday; that content not accessible unless subscriber. Link is to NBCSports.
more...less...
https://sports.usatoday.com/ncaa/salaries/ - for subscribers only
College Football's Most Valuable Teams
From Forbes magazine. As of Sept. 2018
Most Valuable NFL Teams
From Forbes magazine. As of August 2021. Atlanta Falcons rank: #20.