All business-related databases.
Click on "i" icon for more info.
Major business databases are listed in the boxes below; in loose priority order within category (click on "i" for info.).
In alphabetical order:
Databases for co. profiles and co. financials are listed first, followed by periodical databases.
Also search for articles in newspapers and periodicals for overviews and statistics.
The top 3 sources are Viewswire, IMF e-library, and Passport GMID (NEW!). Other databases are listed in alphabetical order.
For the Atlanta-Journal Constitution, recommend searching in Access World News or US Newsstream. Nexis Uni and Factiva also have full coverage.
Browse latest 2 weeks of headlines by Section (with link to full-text) - of Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and Washington Post - in Factiva ("Home" tab, scroll down a bit).
For browsing in general, PressReader is ideal - newspapers (including the AJC) are the version as sold on newsstand (i.e., with photos and graphics). Coverage extends back several years.
For digital versions of Bloomberg Businessweek ; Forbes ; Fortune ; Inc. -- use Flipster database
For searching periodical articles - try first: Business Source Ultimate ; ABI/Inform Global
Databases with many newspapers:
For more sources, by broad subject, see the tab "Statistics" on this Guide. For even more resources by subject, see my Research Guide for Statistical Information.
Listed here are key sources for statistics, company lists, and news.
For today's AJC, newsstand version (includes photos, all graphics) -- Access World News ; PressReader [most recent 90 days] -
key articles - text only - in Factiva - News Pages
Listed in alphabetical order.
Note about offsite access: some databases can only be accessed when using the VPN. The OIT page for VPN explains how to get this. Also, a hardware token (key fob) from Duo can be used if you prefer to not use a personal device. OIT also has FAQs for Duo & 2FA.
Databases and electronic journals are provided for academic research by current authorized Georgia Tech faculty, students and staff only. The use of each online service is governed by copyright law and by the terms of the license between Georgia Tech and the publisher. Permitted Uses:
Database News:
spring 2022 - library purchased archives to 3 business magazines -- can search for articles or ads, or browse page-by-page; includes covers too --
Fortune (1930-2000) ; Forbes (1917-2000); (Bloomberg) Businessweek (1929-2000)
Dec. 2021 - Europa World - online version of Europa World Year Book - country info. - major trade organizations, key government agencies, brief country statistics.
Dec. 2021 - EIU Viewpoint (possibly new name for EIU.com and EIU Viewswire databases) - more graphics and charts, updated interface (and, links to The Economist issues (lower right of screen)).
September 2021 - Atlanta Business Chronicle -- first, use this link to register -- use your abbreviated GT email (i.e., gb6000@gatech.edu). The welcome email (from "ACBJ") a day later provides a link to finish registration. Subscription also includes access to the Book of Lists and to other business weeklies from Bizjournals.com
Global Financial Data - first, use this link to register -- use your abbreviated GT email (i.e., gb6000@gatech.edu). Also use VPN. Note: welcome email might be in junk folder; it provides a link to finish registration. Economic and financial time-series and historical data.
fall 2021 - CB Insights not renewed (had been financially supported by units on campus)
August 2021 - Wall Street Journal Online - Full access to the wsj.com website and wsj.com/education. Create account with @gatech.edu email - then, you can also download the WSJ app on Android / iOS devices. Has “Education” pages for Professors and for Students. Note: for searching, consider using these databases: ABI/Inform ; Factiva ; U.S. Newsstream. See “News…” tab on this Guide.
June 2021 - Sports Market Analytics (note: previous title: SBRNet; it had been cancelled a few years ago; reinstated - has new platform/content)
Fortune magazine archive (1930-2000 -- cover-to-cover) purchased. [next FY, we will add 1 or 2 more popular business periodicals' archives]
April 2021 - new subscription to Mergent Investext for analyst reports. Access via a tab within Mergent Online database.
historic newspapers - Financial Times, 1888-2010 ; Sunday Times [of London] , 1822-2016 ; Times Digital Archive [of London], 1785-1985
spring 2021 - archive purchased - Advertising America -- the company files of J. Walter Thompson The papers here reveal many aspects of twentieth-century cultural, social, business, marketing, consumer and economic history while investigating the human psyche. From Adam Matthew publisher; scanned from Duke Univ.'s Hartman Center. Note: offsite, access requires using VPN.
Gartner was not renewed (by campus OIT).
Feb. 2021 - historical years, Wall Street Journal (1889 - 2003) ; Washington Post (1877-2004); historic collection of 5 major African American newspapers, including the Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003) -- all of these from ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Also purchased- J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America, 1900-2000 - digitized collection, sourced from Duke's Hartman Center.
Dec. 2020 - CB Insights – Venture capital, private equity, and angel investment information on companies – worldwide scope. Requires setting up account, and offsite, VPN access.
Nov. 2020 - New York Times Digital [use this link to create account]- now available to all Georgia Tech students, faculty, & staff! The major advantage is the graphics, and unlimited access to the NYT website (except crossword puzzles). Create account while on campus or using VPN (afterwards, can access from anywhere).
July 2020 - subscription change back to Business Source Complete (from Business Source Ultimate)
Feb. 2020 - digital versions of Bloomberg Businessweek; Forbes; Fortune - added to Flipster database
Sept. 2019 -- Nexis Uni - subscription restored [in July, state consortia cancelled it].
summer 2019 - BCC Research - NEW - marketing research reports Click "Member Login", then in pop-up box, "IP Authenticate"
SAGE Research Methods - NEW - books on research methods in the social sciences ; many cases (but it's not the business cases database)
Financial Times - NEW - daily business newspaper from the UK [create account using GT ID and email]
spring 2019 - video (streaming) - Films on Demand - 30,000 films and more than 70,000 segments ; Academic Video Online ; Swank - feature films in support of GT curricula ; Kanopy (mediated model; see "Video" tabbed page for info. on requesting)
as of July 2019 - Nexis Uni CANCELLED by state consortia, GALILEO; replaced by Westlaw Campus Research.
June 2019 - Mintel Academic - NEW - marketing research reports for consumer products. [update, Aug. - as it turns out, glitch with approval; resolved]
June 2019 - NEW - add-on module, Scarborough Local Insights -- to SimplyAnalytics [select "dataset"]
Feb. 2019 - Mergent Intellect - NEW - worldwide co. directory; plus some consumer and demographic data. Note: has DUNS # ; will replace D&B Million Dollar database
Oct. 2018 -- Business Source Complete upgraded to Business Source Ultimate [provided by state consortia, GALILEO]
Business Searching Interface of Business Source Complete is still available via GALILEO
Sept. 2018 -- PrivCo -- NEW - private company financials, deals and investors
summer 2018 - Nexis Uni - new name of LexisNexis Academic. Major interface change as well.
summer 2018 -- Harvard Business Publishing collection - NEW - more than 500 books! full-text searchable. Note: on-campus use only.
summer 2018 - PolicyMap - NEW database. Easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more.
summer 2018 - Statista -- NEW - statistics on a wide variety of subjects. Also includes reports and outlooks.
summer 2018 - New York Times Digital - Student edition [student access only - use GT email]
summer 2018 -- eCases -- case studies from Emerald Insight. Select "reprints and permissions" for options to reuse content.
fall 2017 -- US Newsstream -- new name of ProQuest Newsstand; also has link to subset: US Major Dailies
the international coverage is now in: Global Newsstream
summer 2017 -- PressReader - NEW - 2-year pilot -- popular periodicals and newspapers. Includes: Fast Company ; Inc. - plus major newspapers, U.S. and foreign - including the AJC -- just as they appear in print - with all graphics and ads. From endowment and grant funds
summer 2017 -- SimplyMap will have a refreshed interface; and, it is being renamed to: SimplyAnalytics
summer 2017 -- LexisNexis Academic will have a significantly new interface, and new name: Nexis Uni
summer 2016: IBISWorld - NEW - U.S. industry reports, covering 700+ industries and nearly 4,000 individual product segments.
SimplyMap - NEW - quickly create professional quality maps and reports using using thousands of demographic and
business variables. Also included in GT's subscription: EASI/Mediamark Research, Inc. ("MRI"). Note: 5 simultaneous users.
ICPSR - membership. Social science data - containing more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Note: ideal to establish individual account - need to use GT email address, at a GT IP address.
ABI/Inform - vendor (ProQuest) no longer notes ABI/Inform Complete; choices are ABI/Inform Global - or, the broader coverage, ABI/Inform Collection
spring 2016: Business Insights: Global cancelled.
summer 2015: Business Collection -- replaces PROMT
summer 2014: Local Market Audience Analyst (formerly Lifestyles Market Analyst) cancelled, due to browser compatibility problems.
summer 2013: Data-Planet Statistical Datasets is new name of ProQuest Statistical Datasets (new vendor prompted the name change).
summer 2013: SciTech Connect - consolidates the contents of DOE Information Bridge and Energy Citations Database.
Sept. 2012 - Business & Company Resource Center ceased; replaced by Business Insights: Global.
summer 2012: Page One Economics is new name of Liber8, from the St. Louis Fed. Same info. (highlighting selected economic indicators); in a newsletter format.
fall 2013: ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States - formerly issued annually in print by the Census Bureau. That version ceased; ProQuest is compiling the data and has produced a database, which the state consortia, GALILEO added for its member institutions.
summer 2013: Scopus - citation database, includes 21,000 journal titles and 5.5 million conference papers.
summer 2013: Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference - small subset of company's Statistical Datasets noted above.
Sept. 2012 - Gartner - IT forecasts and market analysis. Funded by OIT.
March 2012 - Passport GMID - premier database from Euromonitor for data and analysis on companies, countries, comsumers, and industries worldwide - 8 million statistics.
March 2012 - OECD iLibrary - statistics for the 34 member countries plus 6 more countries (BRIC ; South Africa; Indonesia), plus OECD Economic Surveys as well as books and publications.
March 2012 - SBRNet - Sports Business Research Network
Jan. 2012 - Social Explorer (for current and historical Census). Library has purchased one seat license. Please "sign out" after use.
Jan. 2012 - Conference Board - Business and Economics Portfolio - Essential core data for key economic indicators (plus archive)
Jan. 2012 - PROMT - classic source for business articles, with emphasis on marketing and technologies. From GALE.
Jan. 2012 - Business Insights: Global - all-in-one source for basic information. From GALE.
Fall semester - Bloomberg - previously only available at 2 places on campus. Now also available in the Library. For use by Tech students, faculty, and staff.
spring 2012: American Factfinder
fall 2011 : ABI/Inform Complete ; Hoover's ; Morningstar Investment Research Center.
