Skip to Main Content

Applied Science and Technology Abstracts for ECE and ME/NRE students

EBSCOhost's Applied Science and Technology Abstracts

Search Applied Science and Technology Abstracts and Applied Science and Business Periodicals Retrospective

EBSCOhost's Applied Science & Technology Abstracts

  • EBSCOhost's Applied Science & Technology Abstracts™ contains indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Formerly H.W. Wilson.
  • The Applied Science & Technology Abstracts™ database is made up of indexing, abstracts, and full text. 
  • "GTAccess" icon works properly for most journal papers and may work for other formats (links to GT full text access).
  • Content includes coverage of a wide variety of technology and applied science specialties, from leading trade and industrial journals, professional and technical society scholarly (academic) journals, specialized subject periodicals, buyers’ guides, directories and selected conference proceedings.
  • Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective for 1913 to 1983. Formerly H.W. Wilson.
  • Contact Bette Finn for personalized in-depth and quick assistance searching this and other Library databases on your research topics. Brief video.

EBSCOhost Search Tips

EBSCOhost Search Tips

EBSCOhost Databases
  • Applied Science & Technology Abstracts (current; indexes core journals)
  • Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective: 1913-1983

Proximity operator, within # words, in any order
  • N#
  • Example: (wireless OR radio ) N5 (detector* OR sensors)

Proximity operator, within # words, in the exact order entered
  • W#
  • Example: light W1 modulators
  • Exact phrase – quotes

Truncation character retrieves variations of the search term. Use at the end of term’s root, for right-hand truncation
  • Asterisk (*)
  • Example: comput* to find the words computer or computers or computing

Search terms in specific fields
  • Advanced Search. Drop down field menu, or use upper case field codes. 
  • "Select a Field (optional)" such as TI Title field

Combine previous search statements
  • "Search history"
  • Search with AND ; Search with OR
  • Actions: Saved searches, Alerts

Search multiple databases at the same time

"Choose Databases" -- check relevant database boxes, such as both Applied Science databases

Account
  • Sign In (top blue row). Don't have an account? Sign up. 
  • My Folder. Saved Searches, Search Alerts
  • Preferences: Default format: Detailed Citation and Abstract. Results per page: 50. Export settings. E-mail

Limit search results
  • Before search:  Search Options, such as Publication Type
  • After search: Refine Results (left column), such as Source Type
  • Warning: "Linked Full Text" – limiting to this can miss full text that is retrieved by using the "GTAccess" icon

Applied Science and Technology Abstracts -- Database Help

  • Top dark blue row, right side of screen: 
    • Sign In (Personal User Sign In)
    • Folder
    • Preferences (Sign in to save preferences for a future session)
    • Help
  • "Choose Databases" (search multiple databases simultaneously, such as both current and retrospective Applied Science)
  • Row above "Search Options" Advanced Search -- Search History (combine search statements; Save Searches; Alerts)
  • Top dark blue row, left side of screen:
    • New Search
    • Publications.  Browse: Alphabetical, By Subject & Description, Match Any Words
    • Thesaurus. Browse: Term Begins With, Term Contains, Relevancy Ranked. Select term, then add to search
    • Indexes (Author ...)
  • Search Results, row: "Share."    Detailed Record, Tools: "Permalink"
  • "Search Options" -- "Publication Type" (Academic Journal, Trade Publications -- EBSCOhost's definitions). Refine results - Source Type