Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Building Construction

Introduction to resources for building construction at Georgia Tech

Scholarly sources for building construction research

Scholarly sources, which are normally published in journals, as book chapters, or in conference proceedings, usually cover specific topics at a fairly deep level. In building construction, scholarly sources may include journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, and reports

From this page you can 

  • See recommended databases for building construction, where you can search for articles by title, author or topic 
  • Access journals in building construction, to browse recent issues and see what scholars are discussing there 
  • Browse a virtual bookshelf of building construction books at the Georgia Tech Library
  • Learn how the Georgia Tech Library uses OpenAthens for authentication
  • Learn how to request resources through interlibrary loan

What is a database and why use one

What is a scholarly database? 

A scholarly database organizes the best quality, most relevant information for a field or discipline in one place so it can be searched. Because there is so much scholarly research and so many different fields, databases specialize in which kinds of information or tools they provide. 

Why use a scholarly database? 

Scholarly databases take into account the important publications and research methods of a field or discipline. The database helps you make choices about which articles you want to see - by subject, dates of publication, overall topic, and more. Google and Google Scholar, while vast, do no quality control on the content they provide or give you good tools to narrow your focus. 

Recommended databases for building construction

SCOPUS (Elsevier) Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature with more than 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers.

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) 

Comprehensive business database containing thousands of journals. The combination of products forms a business database package that offers full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information.

Civil Engineering Database (ASCE) 

The Civil Engineering Database (ASCE) covers all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newspapers. Journal papers with abstracts go back to 1970. Non-abstract journal records go back to 1958. The book records are complete dating back to the early 1900s. The database is constantly expanded and enriched.

BuildingGreen Suite 

BuildingGreen Suite provides full access to BuildingGreen.com, a key source of information about improving the environmental performance, and reducing the adverse impacts, of buildings. The BuildingGreen Suite brings together articles, reviews, and news from Environmental Building News (EBN) since 1992, product listings from the GreenSpec products directory, and project case studies from the High-Performance Buildings Database.

 

Find additional databases on our A-Z Databases page. Or search for articles by author, title or topic through Articles+ in the Library Catalog. Most databases use OpenAthens for authentication. See more information about OpenAthens in the video tutorial below.

Find top building construction journals

Book widget placeholder

Copy the virtual bookshelf of your choice from the Book Widgets page in the Editing Guidelines guide, then delete this placeholder box.

How to navigate OpenAthens

How to use Interlibrary Loan