Resource Guides: Business: Finding business information

Sources for general business research

General business research may involve finding news (in newspapers or "trade" periodicals that people in the industry use) or reading scholarly articles. From this page you can

Access recommended resources for business news
Access business-related databases (A-Z)
Find scholarly articles for business research
Learn how the Georgia Tech Library uses OpenAthens for authentication

What is a database and why use one

What is a scholarly database?

A scholarly database organizes the best quality, most relevant information for a field or discipline in one place so it can be searched. Because there is so much scholarly research and so many different fields, databases specialize in which kinds of information or tools they provide.

Why use a scholarly database?

Scholarly databases take into account the important publications and research methods of a field or discipline. The database helps you make choices about which articles you want to see - by subject, dates of publication, overall topic, and more. Google and Google Scholar, while vast, do no quality control on the content they provide or give you good tools to narrow your focus.

Find top journals in business

Harvard Business Review is exclusively full-text (articles) in Business Source Complete database. Link is to library's eJournals page for HBR; select the database to browse articles in it or to search.

Key journal article and Periodical databases for business

When you want to search for news or for content in a trade/business periodical, scholarly journal, for newspaper, the following databases are most useful:

Business Source Complete Business Searching Interface This link opens in a new window
Wealth of peer-reviewed, full-text scholarly journals, trade periodicals, and other resources.
The Business Searching Interface (BSI) is EBSCO's highly focused user interface created especially for the business searcher. Business Searching Interface provides an easy way to both browse and search for country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research available in Business Source Ultimate.
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive business database containing thousands of journals. The combination of products forms a business database package that offers full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information.
Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.

ABI/INFORM Complete also features search respected historical business journals for a unique perspective on topics covering corporate strategies, management techniques, accounting, marketing, advertising, ethics, case studies, and much more. Deep backfiles encompass full runs of some of the most important business journals of the last century, all in cover-to-cover full page images, just as they were printed.

ABI/INFORM Complete consists of:

ABI/INFORM Global
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
ABI/INFORM Dateline
ABI/INFORM Archive 1905-1998
The Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition
ABI/INFORM Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM Global™ is one of the most comprehensive business databases on the market, offering the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels.
It includes in-depth coverage from thousands of publications, most of them in full-text. With ABI/INFORM Global, users can find out about business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape. ABI/INFORM Global includes ABI/INFORM Archive, which offers a deep backfile of many of the most important business journals of the last century.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Many newspapers, articles, and wire feeds.
Factiva®, a Dow Jones & Reuters Company, provides essential business news and information together with the content delivery tools and services that enable professionals to make better decisions faster. Factiva’s unrivalled collection of more than 10,000 authoritative sources includes the exclusive combination of The Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times™, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and the Associated Press, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and D&B company profiles.
Accounting, Tax and Banking Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Accounting & Tax brings together highly ranked global and scholarly journals with key resources for locating quick and precise results covering current news and topics, as well as the trends and history influencing important accounting and tax issues of the day.
This database provides centralized access to top journals, reference reports, proceedings, dissertations and more, including over 2,300 publications with hundreds in full-text.

Find additional business databases on the A-Z list of business databases, or our A-Z Databases page.. See more information about OpenAthens in the video tutorial below.

Business