Business

FTX Group, Nov. 11, 2022

10/28/2022.; on 11/3 - layoffs announced ("more info"; link below)

9/21/22 - Federal Reserve raises interest rates for 5th time this year. From CNN.com

"After criticizing the company’s weaknesses, he now wants to back out of buying it." 7/11/22. From the NY Times

4/25/2022 - $ 44B deal. From the NY Times.

From CNN.com, April 27, 2022. Ford invested $500m in Rivian. Rivian's shares this year are down 70%

From USDA's APHIS - Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza (HPAI)

April 2022; 4/14 - Elon Musk "offered to acquire all the shares in Twitter he does not own"... he owns 9% of Twitter's shares. CNN.com article

From AdAge - links to commercials.

General Electric Co. will become separate, publicly traded companies for its aviation, healthcare and energy businesses. Per CNN.com, 11/9/21

Oct. 22, 2021 - AJC.com

Press Release, Census Bureau, of Aug. 12, 2021.

Pres. Biden, 2/24/21 - within 100 days, submit reports -- "...identifying risks in the semiconductor manufacturing and advanced packaging supply chains" and ..."identifying risks in the supply chain for high-capacity batteries" and..."identifying risks in the supply chain for critical minerals and other identified strategic materials".

Wall Street Journal, March 20, 2021.

NYT online, 12/18/20

See especially 4/23, 4/27/ 4/30; 4/2

Issued 4/2/20; 9 pages.

CARES Act. From Congress.gov; links to text of HR 748. Became P.L. 116-136,

Tracks the stimulus bill.

Sold to Savant Systems. Announced 5/27/20

7/30/19. Up to 100 million customer records may be affected. FBI has made an arrest.
From CNBC. Also links to news item of how to tell if you were affected, plus tips.

July 2019. From the FTC. Links to official site.

From the New York Times, 3/23/19.

Feb. 2019; article from AJC

Jan. 2019; AJC article

Nov. 2018 - also links to the 46 announced in Aug.; 142 announced in Oct.

Detroit News, Nov. 25, 2018

Response (8/7/18) to letter (7/9/18) from the Comm., about "Third-Party Access, Audio and Location Data Collection". Includes 18 pages of detailed answers to the Committee's questions.

5/31 - 63 stores; 6/6 - 5 more Sears stores on list; 6/28 - 9 more Sears stores and 1 more Kmart. Total for 2018: 78 stores (62 Sears; 16 Kmart)

6/19/18 - NY Times article. GE to be replaced in the Dow Jones Industrial Average by Walgreens Boot Alliance.

4/11/18 - "Facebook: : Transparency and Use of Consumer Data" - hearing of House Energy and Commerce Committee.

4/10/18 - "Facebook, Social Media Privacy, and the Use and Abuse of Data" - joint session of Senate's Commerce and Judiciary Committees.

Form S-1, filed 2/23/18 with the SEC. $500 million IPO.

The 20 cities/metro areas, announced 1/18/18

9/7/17 - from the New York Times

New maximum from Delta, in wake of United Airlines incident, April 2017

March 2, 2017 - $ 17/share; co. valued at $ 24b

From Pres. Obama, Jan. 2017. 600 pgs.

From Advertising tab on this Guide - links to 2 periodicals' coverage, Advertising Age and Adweek.

From Business Insider, Jan. 4, 2017

From Business Insider, Jan. 4, 2017

WSJ, 10/31/16

From the WSJ, 10/22/16

The Consumer Product Safety Commission recalled this smartphone on 9/15/16

OMB's summary of key provisions of the Budget.

OMB report, released Feb. 2014.

Official Target Corp. website for data breach, Nov.-Dec.2013, in which personal info. & data from at least 40 million (and possibly up to 100 million) of its customers was . FREE credit monitoring as well as identity theft protection will be offered; check this site for more details in the coming weeks. Customers can also call Target at: 866-852-8680 if they think there has been unauthorized account activity on their card.

From the Minneapolis Star Tribune (Target's HQ is in in downtown Minneapolis)

9/23/13 - announced: "to be acquired by Fairfax Financial Holdings Limited, a Toronto-based financial holding company, for $4.7 billion". Article from Washington Post.

Announced by co. in a tweet 9/12/13. NY Times notes: "While the company hopes to go public by the end of the year, the actual public offering could take place in early 2014."

Full project list, fact sheet, maps and more about the July 31st referencum. From the Atlanta Regional Commission.

First S-1 and Prospectus submitted to the SEC on 2/1/2012. 6 Amendments subsequent.

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Report to Congress, April 2012.

CRS Report to Congress, Feb. 2012

Released 2/13/2012. 256 pgs. The Appendix, Analytical Perspectives, and Historical Tables are issued separately and are included on this site. Also available as an app. - to access on a mobile device, go to: http://m.gpo.gov/budget

Text of speech; video is available at: http://news.stanford.edu/news/2005/june15/videos/987.html

Interactive; from the New York Times.

House Document 112-53; message from the President, Sept. 13, 2011 (200 pages).

Report, Aug. 2011 - "United States of America long-term rating lowered to 'AA+' on political risks and rising debt burden : outlook negative". Thanks to Georgetown Univ. Law Library for providing the link from their archive.

Click on a state for total population and percentage changes. For county population, click on the county. Georgia population for 2010: 9,687,653.

Library has 1040 booklets, and forms/booklets for: 1040A ; 1040EZ ; 1040NR ; 1040NR-EZ - and Georgia tax booklets (includes form) - on 2nd floor East, near the elevators.
For more info, click on link (to page on the Government Information Research Guide).

From the Congressional Budget Office (CBO), released 11/24/2010

Lists U.S. airports with full-body "scanning" technology. Hartsfield is one.

Voluntary recall by companies - from the Egg Safety Center

Links for univ. & gov't sources for the oil spill (a page on our Earth Day Research Guide)

Dynamic maps for credit card and mortgage delinquencies (by county) plus state-level data. Also, state data for subprime and Alt-A mortgage loans (57 statistics - including % in foreclosure, % ARM loans.

Extensive list of foreclosure sources, from the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta. Note that "Delinquency Trend Data" is from Credit Conditions of the United States (see separate listing) and that Vacancy

Financial Times, 12/20/21. [current content available when one creates account - see Databases list for url for sign-up]

From CNN.com, Oct. 2021. Source: MarineTraffic

Press release, 8/23/2021. The Pfizer/BioNTech vaccine will now be marketed as: Comirnaty.

# of doses to be manufactured, where, and when - in the US - by July. Congressional hearing; links to prepared testimony by executives of the 3 manufacturers of COVID-19 vaccine, Feb. 23, 2021.

New York Times online, 1/21/21. Notes the production capabilities of moderna and Pfizer (collectively, 12-18 million doses per week).

As reported in Reuters, 8/4/20. Note that the product is made with polyester spunlace, which is in short supply because that is also used to make PPE.

From CNN.com

From the GA Dept. of Economic Development - details what types of businesses can open - and requirements; what remains closed; phases and categories

This centralizes data previously released from the American Community Survey and the County Business Patterns program.

From the CDC.

IRS website; click "get my payment"

See especially the Gov.'s Executive Order for 4/23 - Providing guidance for reviving a healthy Georgia in response to COVID-19 - requirements for restaurants, movie theatres, and gyms/fitness centers

Select "news release", then, from the calendar, the date (always a Thursday). From U.S. Dept. of Labor.

Congressional Research Service (CRS) report, released 4/6/20.

From Fast Company magazine. GT users: you can view digital version of entire issue via PressReader database.

3M and the N95 mask. Cover story, from Bloomberg Business Week 3/30/20. GT users: you can also view article and - entire issue - via Flipster database.

3/25/20 - Impact of COVID 19 on prices and product availability for select consumer goods, worldwide. From Euromonitor.

Selected Wall Street Journal coverage. "Open Stores" tab links to detailed list of store closures (with graphic and # of stores in chain).

Selected coverage from Jan. and Feb. 2020 - articles, videos, and posts to CNN.com

Links by topic from Stanford University (note: for databases, note the title and see if it is a GT subscription; login via a GT link)

From the CDC - 5/14 - guidance on safely reopening, with specific tips for employers and for restaurants.

Issued 1/21/21 by Pres. Biden

Beginning Feb. 2021, face masks of only these 2 types allowed: surgical ; N95 [in other words, no "regular" handmade/custom cloth masks]. Lufthansa website not yet updated; travel news sources reported this 1/22/21.

CDC page. Extensive coverage. Updated Mon., Wed., Fri.

AJC page. Focus is on Atlanta and Georgia.

Visual dashboard of statistics worldwide

State-by-state: testing; deaths; hospital use. Updated daily by the Univ. of Washington's Health Metrics and Evaluation.

U.S. State Dept. page - notes info. re students on foreign study programs

From the World Health Organization (WHO).

List of states, with details. From USAToday; revised often.

From CNN.com; revised often.

From the CDC; updated 10/6/20

From JAMA Netowork, Oct. 2020

From the FTC.