Resource Guides: Industry Information: Subscription and free gov't sources

General Statistics

Key information sources:

Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest database, 2013 to current)
Statistical Abstract of the United States -- 1878-2012, issued by the U.S. Census Bureau
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets - best for key resources from governments. Excel downloads
Statista - good overall resource; Excel downloads
SimplyAnalytics - US demographics - great mapping tool plus add-on consumer statistics modules
ProQuest Statistical Insight database is the most comprehensive source of federal statistics (since the early 1960's). Excellent "indexing" - relevant, on-point results. Full-text content is typically a pdf.
PolicyMap - US. - mapping tool too for key topics
GovInfo - new GPO portal (replacing FDsys)
Historical Statistics of the U.S Millennial Edition (library subscription)
Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970. Bureau of the Census Part 1 and Part 2,
Historical Statistics of the United States, 1789-1945

Federal Agency Databases & Websites for Statistics

U.S. Data and Statistics
Links to major agencies providing statistics.
Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA, Dept. of Commerce)
more...less...
BEA site contains many statistics - national, regional, international, industry - as well as the Survey of Current Business (articles and tables). New feature - chart "Which agency produces what statistics?", at: http://www.bea.gov/newsroom/matrix.htm - for BEA, BLS, Census
Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BLS)
Census Bureau
Links to census data that is on: Data.Census.Gov -- for Economic Census, American Community Survey, and more.
Commercial Bank Structure Data
From the Chicago Fed. 2011 to present (click "more" for info. on prior years)
more...less...
1976-2000 at:
http://www.chicagofed.org/webpages/banking/financial_institution_reports/commercial_bank_data.cfm
Data.gov
U.S. Federal Executive Branch datasets.
EDGAR (SEC)
more...less...
Official source for US public corporation filings such as the 10K. These are required to be submitted to the Securities & Exchange Commission (SEC).
FinancialStability.gov
TARP info.; links. From the Dept. of the Treasury.
FRASER: Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research
Federal economic statistics. From the St. Louis Fed.
more...less...
Economic Indicators (in pdf) from 1948 onward, NIPA from 1929, etc. Also includes Survey of Current Business from 1921-2002
FRED: Federal Reserve Economic Data
Also from the St. Louis Fed. Time series; downloadable.
more...less...
Includes 22,000 U.S. economic time series. Key series -Producer Price Index from 1913 onward; layoffs from 2000 onward; Employment Cost Index from 2001 onward.
NTIS: National Technical Information Service
NTIS produces summaries of technical reports from unclassified government-sponsored research. Database name is: NTRL, available directly at: https://ntrl.ntis.gov/NTRL/
more...less...
Select "technical reports box". Use library subscription (from CSA) for best results. Free government website has limited searching.
Page One Economics
Highlights selected economic indicators in a newsletter format. From the St. Louis Fed. Replaces Liber8.
more...less...
Also for educators:
https://www.stlouisfed.org/education/page-one-economics-classroom-edition
Recovery.gov
Archived from Library of Congress from 2009 to 2016. Website explained the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act
TRID (Transportation Research International Database)
Formerly TRIS database; from the Transportation Research Board.
more...less...
"TRID covers all modes and disciplines of transportation and contains more than 900,000 citations of published research" Focus is on books, technical reports, and conference proceedings. Over 64,000 records contain links to full-text documents.