Resource Guides: Industry Information: A-Z list of business databases

A-Z List

All business-related databases.

Click on "i" icon for more info.

ABI/Inform Global
Comprehensive coverage for business periodicals. Note: vendor no longer has the version "ABI/Inform Complete".
more...less...
Articles (many full-text) on a wide variety of business topics. Comprehensive. Includes Wall Street Journal text, as well as Financial Times.
ABI/Inform Archive
Articles from key periodicals, 1905-85. Within broad business database ABI/Inform Collection.
more...less...
Highlighted periodicals: Nation's Business ; Barron's.
ABI/Inform Collection
Includes ABI/Inform Global ; ABI/Inform Dateline. Has some industry reports.
Academic Complete eBook Collection (ProQuest)
Formerly ebrary
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary
more...less...
More than 5000 journals full-text, plus 5000 more with summaries. For core journals/periodicals - extensive historical coverage (full-text).
Academic Video Online
Access World News
Newspapers. Can search "Atlanta Journal Constitution" collection, 1985 to present. Select from lower right of splash page.
more...less...
Other major newspapers: Charlotte Observer; Chicago Sun-Times; San Francisco Chronicle; Seattle Times; Tampa Bay Times; USA Today ; The Times of London (and, Sunday times)
Accounting, Tax, and Banking Collection
ACM Digital Library
more...less...
Citations and full-text content of journals, newsletters, articles and conference proceedings published by the Association for Computing Machinery.
Acronyms, Initialisms & Abbreviations Dictionary
Within Gale eBooks database.
Advertising America
Archive - company files of J. Walter Thompson. Select Documents tab to browse by collection (ex.- Brand Case Studies/Account Files ; Print Advertisements. Access offsite is by using VPN.
more...less...
Archive also known as: J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America. The papers here reveal many aspects of twentieth-century cultural, social, business, marketing, consumer and economic history while investigating the human psyche.
American Factfinder
Ceased; replaced by Data.Census.gov (Census data from the U.S. Census Bureau).
Applied Science and Business Periodicals Retrospective
1913-1983.
more...less...
From 2 print indexes issued by H.W. Wilson. Business Periodicals Index started in 1958; previously, business periodicals "indexed" in Industrial Arts Index.
Asian & European Business Collection
Journals and newspapers focused on business and financial news in Asian and Europe.
Atlanta Business Chronicle
First, register (link below in "More ") All of the Chronicle, including ranked lists (but not the annual Book of Lists). Subscription also includes access to all of the BizJournals.com city weeklies.
more...less...
Register using your abbreviated GT email (i.e,, gb6000@gatech.edu) at: https://www.bizjournals.com/register/atlanta?r=%2Fatlanta%2F
Welcome email (from "ACBJ" ) provides a link to finish registration - the email takes about a day to receive.
Max. of 1,000 registered users. If account is inactive, the Library may deactivate it.
Atlanta Journal & Constitution
2001 to date. From ProQuest.
more...less...
Other databases include AJC content too - this is quickest and easiest way to search in it for recent years.
Background Notes (2001-2012)
Brief country overviews from the U.S. Dept. of State.
more...less...
1996-2000 are available on the archive site for the Clinton Administration, at:
http://www.state.gov/www/background_notes/index.html ; 1990-1995 are available on the DOSFAN archive site, at:
http://dosfan.lib.uic.edu/ERC/bgnotes/index.html
BCC Research
Marketing research reports. GT's subscription is to selected technology industries. Click "Member Login", then in pop-up box, "IP Authenticate". And, if off-campus, use VPN.
Beige Book
Economic conditions by U.S. region; issued 8 times/yr. by the Fed.
more...less...
Each Federal Reserve Bank gathers anecdotal information on current economic conditions in its District through reports from Bank and Branch directors and interviews with key business contacts, economists, market experts, and other sources. The Beige Book summarizes this information by District and sector.
Bloomberg
Library's terminal is on the Ground Floor, near the Info Desk. See "Bloomberg" tab on this Guide for instructions. GT students and faculty only.
more...less...
Real-time and historical stock prices, indicative data, reporting, research, estimates, analytics, and portfolio management tools. Terminal inside Library & at selected Colleges on campus.
BrowZine
Major scholarly journals included. Browse issues; easy link to articles.
BuildingGreen suite
more...less...
BuildingGreen Suite provides full access to key sources of information about improving the environmental performance, and reducing the adverse impacts, of buildings. Brings together articles, reviews, and news from Environmental Building News (EBN) since 1992, product listings from the GreenSpec products directory, and project case studies from the High-Performance Buildings Database.
Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) (Dept. of Commerce)
more...less...
BEA site contains many statistics - national, regional, international, industry - as well as the Survey of Current Business (articles and tables). New feature - chart "Which agency produces what statistics?", at: http://www.bea.gov/newsroom/matrix.htm - for BEA, BLS, Census
Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Business Abstracts with Full Text (Wilson/EBSCO)
Brief summaries to articles in 600 core business periodicals. NEW FEATURE - FULL TEXT. Formerly: Wilson Business Abstracts.
Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment
Business Market Research Collection
Links to Hoover's Company Profiles and more. From ProQuest.
more...less...
Select "Browse" tab for link to Hoover's
Business Plans Handbook Series
More than 30 vols. of actual business plans. Available within Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL).
Business Source Complete
Many journal articles are full-text (exclusive: Harvard Business Review). Also has company and industry profiles, and country reports. Full text journals in all disciplines of business.
more...less...
July 2020 - change from database "Business Source Ultimate". Link is to the Business Searching Interface of the database.
Business Source Ultimate
Changed subscription back to Business Source Complete, July 2020.
Case Studies
Within Emerald Insight database [select "Browse our Content"]. Note: select "reprints and permissions" for options to reuse content.
more...less...
Links to Copyright Clearance Center's Rightslink Service. Teaching notes available for free to faculty/staff. Please contact me for details. Database includes The Case Journal.
CB Insights
Venture capital, private equity, and angel investment information on companies – worldwide scope. Requires creating password. Off-campus, requires VPN.
more...less...
No walk-in use by non-GT community.
Census Bureau (U.S.)
Links to census data - Economic Census, American Community Survey -- though much is now on https://data.census.gov/cedsci/
Checkpoint (RIA)
Tax and accounting
more...less...
Students - register at: http://ria.thomson.com/cploginids - for a custom ID (allows saving docs to folders)
Commercial Bank Structure Data
From the Chicago Fed. 2011 to present (click "more" for info. on prior years)
more...less...
1976-2000 at:
http://www.chicagofed.org/webpages/banking/financial_institution_reports/commercial_bank_data.cfm
Compustat
Available on WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services)
more...less...
GT faculty and graduate students - Register at: http://wrds-web.wharton.upenn.edu/wrds/ - the IT unit at Scheller will verify status and grant access. This is not a Library database.
Conference Board - Business and Economics Portfolio
Links to its economic forecast and a table of US Economic Outlook and economic release calendar. Other content is for subscribers only.
CRSP
Available on WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services)
more...less...
GT faculty and graduate students - Register at: http://wrds-web.wharton.upenn.edu/wrds/ - the IT unit at Scheller will verify status and grant access. This is not a Library database.
D&B Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios
1979-2015. Within Mergent Archives. Select "KBR" tab.
D&B Million Dollar Database
Replaced by Mergent Intellect (which includes DUNS #s).
more...less...
Company information includes industry information with up to 24 individual 8-digit SICs, size criteria (employees and annual sales), type of ownership, principal executives and biographies.
D&B Million Dollar Directory [historical]
From 1959 to 2011. Within Mergent Archives database (select "D&B Manuals from left frame).
more...less...
Note: earlier years, criteria to be included - $1m net worth; later years; $500,000 in net worth.
Data Axle
Alternate name: Reference USA.
Directory of 80 million US businesses.
Data.Census.Gov
Replaces American Factfinder database from the U.S. Census Bureau. Note: GT subscription database - Data-Planet Statistical Datasets -- has much data; excellent search interface.
Data.gov
U.S. Federal Executive Branch datasets.
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. New name, spring 2023: Sage Data.
more...less...
Guide to using database, from publisher:
http://data-planet.libguides.com/statisticaldatasets
Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference
Small subset of company's Statistical Datasets; beta release.
Digital National Security Archive
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
Abstracts of doctoral dissertations and master's theses, plus, for recent years, previews (about 14 pages).
more...less...
Focus is U.S. institutions.
DOE Information Bridge
Technical reports. See new database name: SciTech Connect
more...less...
DOE Information Bridge provides results of Department of Energy R&D in energy technologies, physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental cleanup, and more. It can be used to search and download full-text and/or bibliographic information since 1995. The Library maintains an extensive collection of older DOE technical reports on microfiche. For a technical report not full-text, a request may be made to add a title to the Library's collection - contact Bette Finn at 404-894-1790.
DTIC Online: Public Technical Reports
Defense technical reports.
more...less...
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) provides access to citations of unclassified, unlimited documents that have been entered into DTIC's Technical Reports Collection, as well as the electronic full-text of selected documents (for a report not full-text, a request may be made to add a title to the Library's collection - contact Bette Finn at 404-894-1790).
Dun & Bradstreet Million Dollar Directory (historical)
Within Mergent Archives platform (select "D&B Manuals" from left frame)
EASI/Mediamark Research (MRI)
Incorporated within SimplyMap database (additional content included in GT subscription)
ebrary
See Academic Complete eBook Collection (ProQuest)
EconLit
Premier source for economic literature.
more...less...
World's foremost source of references to economic literature - produced by the Amer.Economic Assoc. Provides comprehensive information on accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics, and more. Records contain abstracts of books, journal articles, and working papers published by the Cambridge University Press. Total records available on the database - more than 825,000.
Economist.com
more...less...
Search for The Economist articles from 1997 onward. (for previous year's issues, select from drop-down box on right side of screen).
EDGAR (SEC)
more...less...
Official source for US public corporation filings such as the 10K. These are required to be submitted to the Securities & Exchange Commission (SEC).
EIU Viewpoint
Also links to The Economist periodical. Basic economic statistics on countries (including 5-year forecasts), plus selected major news, and 6 key industries.For industries, focus is on six key industries - Automotive, Consumer Goods, Energy, Financial Services, Healthcare, and Technology.
New platform, summer 2022.
Emerald Insight
Journals (previously, also case studies).
more...less...
Case studies module cancelled as of March 2023 due to license problems.
Encyclopedia of Associations
Via Gale Directory Library
Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources
Within Gale Directory Library (use Advanced Search)
Euromonitor (Passport GMID)
Passport is the premier database for data and analysis on companies, countries, consumers, and industries worldwide.
Europa World
Online ed. of Europa World Year Book - country info. - major trade organizations, key government agencies, and brief country statistics.
Executive Briefing
more...less...
From EIU - strategic intelligence, best-practice management thinking, and advice for senior managers.
Factiva
March 2022 - download limit of 1 at a time; we are working with the vendor to resolve this problem. Comprehensive - news, updated daily. Use "Home" tab (scroll down a bit) for recent headlines, by Section, of WSJ, NYT =, and Washington Post -- links to full-text.
more...less...
Factiva covers global business information from 9,000 sources from 118 countries, including more than 120 continuously updated newswires.Coverage of AJC as well. Also includes company profiles (use "companies/markets" tab).
Films on Demand
30,000 films and more than 70,000 segments
Financial Times
First, create an account (different URL, entry below).
Daily business newspaper from the U.K.
"Today's newspaper" - an option when one click on the 3 parallel lines, upper left.
Financial Times - sign up page
Daily business newspaper from the U.K.
Create account using brief GT email account -- not full name; no dept./College -- example for George Burdell: gb1@gatech.edu
FinancialStability.gov
TARP info.; links. From the Dept. of the Treasury.
First Research
Industry profiles.
more...less...
Direct access. Previously only within ProQuest databases (that access, via ProQuest Central, is also still available)
Flipster
Several popular periodicals - Bloomberg Businessweek, Forbes, Fortune, Inc. , and MIT Technology Review
Foreclosure Resource Center
From the Atlanta Fed.
FRASER: Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research
Federal economic statistics. From the St. Louis Fed.
more...less...
Economic Indicators (in pdf) from 1948 onward, NIPA from 1929, etc. Also includes Survey of Current Business from 1921-2002
FRED: Federal Reserve Economic Data
Also from the St. Louis Fed. Time series; downloadable.
more...less...
Includes 22,000 U.S. economic time series. Key series -Producer Price Index from 1913 onward; layoffs from 2000 onward; Employment Cost Index from 2001 onward.
Gale Business Insights: Global
Periodical articles and company info.
Gale Directory Library
Includes: Brands and their Companies; Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources; Encyclopedia of Associations; Market Share Reporter, and more.
more...less...
Also includes: Wards Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies; Encyclopedia of Governmental Advisory ; International Research Centers Directory ; Research Centers Directory.
GALE Virtual Reference Library
Business plans, Encyclopedia of Management, demographics books and more. Within Gale eBooks database.
more...less...
Business Plans Handbook series has more than 35 vols. of actual business plans.
Georgia Economic Outlook
From UGA's Selig Center for Economic Growth, issued annually.
more...less...
Some previous years on Internet Archive's Wayback Machine online, at: https://web.archive.org/web/20151023104954/http://www.terry.uga.edu/about/centers-institutes/selig/publications

many years, in print editions, in the Library Service Center offsite - can request to have it sent to Library. call number: HC107 .G4 G46X
Georgia - State and County QuickFacts
Population statistics for counties, cities, and in the state of Georgia.
more...less...
Also has brief business statistics. From the Census Bureau. was: [now U.S. site; Ga. links from there]
http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/states/13000.html
Georgia Statistics System
more...less...
Detailed demographic profiles of counties; county-by-county analysis; city population (2000; and estimates for 2005 and 2008).
georgia.gov - Online Access to Georgia Government
Official state of Georgia website.
more...less...
Online access to Georgia government, laws and regulations. Of note - "Business, Labor & Employment" -for doing business, and "Science & Technology". Links to state agencies and legislative information.
Global Financial Data
First, register (link below in "more". Economic and financial time-series and historical data. Use VPN.
more...less...
Register with abbreviated GT email (i.e., gb6000@gatech.edu), at: https://finaeon.globalfinancialdata.com/Account/Register
Global Newsstream
International news (note: also includes US coverage, which is in US Newsstream database)
more...less...
Can limit to outside-of-US - select "International Newsstream" from landing page. Previously part of ProQuest Newsstand
globalEDGE - International Business Resource Desk
All-in-one resource. From Mich.State Univ.'s CIBER.
GMID (from Euromonitor)
Passport is a premier database for data and analysis on companies, countries, consumers, and industries worldwide. Previous name: GMID
GovInfo
U.S. federal government database for Economic Indicators, federal budget, Economic Report of the President, etc.
more...less...
Replaces FDSys.
GreenFILE
more...less...
Collection of scholarly, government, and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Harvard Business Publishing Collection
More than 500 books, and full-text searchable!
note: on-campus use only.
HeinOnline
Legal history; government documents. Comprehensive.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Includes over 37,000 data series and statistics from more than 1,000 sources.
more...less...
Standard source for data on all aspects of American history - population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, and governance and international relations. Includes economics, government, finance, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, international migration, and trade. Print ed. in Library building: REFERENCE HA 202.H57 2006.
Hoover's Company Profiles
Company profiles [current year edition]
Select "Publications" tab, then type Hoover's.
more...less...
Full company profiles for several thousand companies - each includes brief history and overview of company operations, plus key executives (including their compensation), competitors, and selected financial information. Access is via Business Market Research Collection as of spring 2020.
Hoover's ... [historical]
Company profiles from all of the "Hoover's" titles - historical - from about 1993 to 2013. Within Mergent Archives database.
more...less...
Titles in series: Handbook of Private Companies ; Handbook of World Business ; Handbook of American Business ; Handbook of Emerging Companies ; MasterList of U.S. companies
Hospitality & Tourism Complete
more...less...
Scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism
Household Debt and Credit Report
Report (pdf link) as well as charts. Quarterly.
more...less...
Archived reports, 2010 to present, at:
https://www.newyorkfed.org/microeconomics/data.html
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective
1907-1984.
more...less...
Includes these title indexes (issued in print from H.W. Wilson): International Index, 1907-1965; Social Sciences & Humanities Index, 1965-1974; Social Sciences Index, 1974-1985.
IBISWorld
U.S. industry reports, covering 700+ industries and nearly 4,000 individual product segments.
more...less...
Reports are written at the 5-digit level NAICS (North American Industry Classification System), and are updated three times per year on average.
ICPSR
Membership in Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research. Data - containing more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences.
more...less...
It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Note: ideal to establish individual account - need to use GT email address, at a GT IP address
IMF elibrary
Key economic data.
more...less...
Library has the International Financial Statistics Yearbook from 1979-2010 (HG3881.I6262x; offsite, Library Services Center.
Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios
1979-2015. Arranged by SIC code. From D&B. Select the "KBR" tab within Mergent Archives.
more...less...
Library has current year plusyears back to 1988.
Investext
Investment analyst reports.Tab/page within Mergent Online platform (vendor has database name as: Mergent Investext).
ISI Web of Knowledge
new name - Web of Science Core Collection database - used for citation searching.
J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America, 1900-2000
Select Documents tab to browse by collection (ex.- Brand Case Studies/Account Files ; Print Advertisements). Archive also known as: Advertising America. Note: access is on campus or by using VPN if off-campus.
more...less...
From Duke Univ. Library - Hartman Center.
Journal Citation Reports
Evaluate and compare journals using citation data.
more...less...
Can browse by subject ; publisher ; or, search for specific journal title. Social Sciences edition is from 2004-onward ; Science edition is from 1997-onward
JSTOR
Archive of social science journals. The last 5 years are NOT included. Tip: use Advanced Search and select "Content I can access".
more...less...
Key titles: Academy of Management Executive; Academy of Management Journal; Academy of Management Review; Strategic Management Journal; American Economic Review ; Economica ; Journal of Money, Credit, and Banking; RAND Journal of Economics.
Kanopy
Streaming video. For info. on requesting library acquire a video see "more" below.
more...less...
Faculty -- Create an account. For a video you would like for us to acquire for a short time period, please fill out the request form on that film's page. Note: this is not a purchase; it is a rental.
Key Business Ratios
1979-2015. Arranged by SIC code. See Mergent Archives database. Within it, select "KBR" tab.
Legal Collection
250 law journals.
LexisNexis Academic
summer 2018, name change: Nexis Uni.
LexisNexis Statistical Datasets - and - LexisNexis Statistical Insight
See new names: Data-Planet Statistical Datasets; and, ProQuest Statistical Insight.
Market Share Reporter
Within Gale Directory Library (use Advanced Search)
Mergent Archives
Brief historical company financial info. for U.S. & foreign public companies.
more...less...
Historical data is from about 1916 to the present.
Mergent First Research
Industry profiles. [note: database name is First Research; it's on a Mergent platform]
more...less...
Direct access. Previously only within ABI/Inform Collection database (that access is also still available)
Mergent Intellect
Company directory of more than 70 million US businesses; and more than 200 global businesses.
more...less...
To replace the D&B Million Dollar Database. Also has demographic info.
Mergent Investext
Investment analyst reports.Tab/page within Mergent Online platform.
Mergent Online
Detailed company Financial info. for all public companies - U.S. & foreign.
more...less...
Includes ratios. Also, 10-year detailed historical data.
Million Dollar Directory
See "D&B Million Dollar Database"
Mintel Academic
Marketing research reports for consumer products.
Create a profile to view/download/print.
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Analyst reports for thousands of stocks and mutual funds.
more...less...
Click on "read full analyst report" (default is 1-page snapshot). Stock prices updated continuously. Includes analysis tools for portfolios as well as screening. Key ratios, as well as info. on insider trading included - select tabs.
National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)
NTIS full-text for 800,000 technical reports, and with metadata for some pre-1964 reports.
more...less...
Personal account for free public access (requires username and password). NTRL expanded public access, Oct. 2014. For accounts inside the U.S. (outside U.S. requires premium subscription).
NBER Working Papers
Thousands of working papers on economic research.
more...less...
From the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER). Bibliographic information for almost 7000 NBER working papers published since 1973, abstracts since Sept. 1993, full-text from Nov. 1994 to present.
NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's)
Company profiles, financials, and industry reports.
(Note: new name is S&P Global NetAdvantage)
New York Times Digital [to create account]
NYT with all graphics and photos. You must first create an account using this link while on campus or using VPN. Then, from anywhere, you can access nytimes.com - log in with password and using GT email address.
more...less...
For searching full-text of articles, use these databases: US Newsstream, Factiva, Nexis Uni.
New York Times
1980 to current.
New York Times (Historic)
1851 to 4 years ago. Cover-to-cover, full page and article images.
Nexis Uni
Formerly LexisNexis Academic. Newspapers (including the AJC), TV transcripts, company data, country profiles, legal cases, and law reviews
more...less...
Summer 2019, cancelled by state consortia. Subscription restored Sept. 2019.
NTIS (National Technical Information Service)
Summaries of technical reports from unclassified government-sponsored research.
more...less...
Library subscription. Government website has limited searching; it is at: http://www.ntis.gov (select "technical reports search" box).
OECD iLibrary
more...less...
Detailed statistics for the 34 member countries, as well as for 6 more countries (Brazil ; Russia ; India ; China ; South Africa ; Indonesia). Also contains OECD Economic Surveys (new to Tech), plus books and other publications.
Page One Economics
Highlights selected economic indicators in a newsletter format. From the St. Louis Fed.
more...less...
Replaces Liber8 database.
PAIS Index
Public affairs-related topics from journal articles, government agencies, and more.
more...less...
Historical coverage from 1915.
Passport
Premier database from Euromonitor for data and analysis on companies, countries, consumers, and industries worldwide.
Patent Public Search
Patent search; from the USPTO.
more...less...
Replaces PatFT, PubEast, PubWest
PolicyMap
Easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US.
PressReader
Major newspapers worldwide, version as sold on newsstand (so it includes all photos and graphics). Includes the past few years.
more...less...
There are only a few business periodicals.
PrivCo
Private company financials, investors, and deals.
Create individual account.
more...less...
There are monthly limits on the number of profiles exported and viewed.
ProQuest Central
Platform for much of ProQuest's newspapers and business databases.
ProQuest European Business
New name: Asian & European Business Collection.
more...less...
From ProQuest
ProQuest Newsstand
New name: US Newsstream. Full-text of major U.S. & international newspapers (including the AJC).
more...less...
Major newspapers include: Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Financial Times, Times of London.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States
Numerous statistics are included in this annual source. Easy download and manipulation of data.
more...less...
Formerly, issued annually by the Census Bureau in print, with pdf online. Now, a print (publ. by Bernan), and a database - from ProQuest, via GALILEO.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Tip: use Advanced Search.
Reference USA
Company directory of 80 million U.S. businesses. Create customized lists. Also, "New Businesses" module (about 4 million co's); "Historical Businesses" module; Canadian businesses module (about 2 million co's.). Alternate name: Data Axle.
more...less...
Can combine variables such as geographical, size of business, line of business, home-based, public companies. Geographical search options include zip code, MSA, county, state.
Regulations.gov
Search for a proposed or final rule, submit comments.
Research Centers Directory
Within Gale Directory Library database.
Research Library (from ProQuest)
Broad coverage - business plus general interest; scholarly journals plus trade periodicals as well as magazines.
RIA Checkpoint
Tax and accounting. Students - register at: http://ria.thomson.com/cploginids - for a custom ID (allows saving docs to folders)
S&P Global NetAdvantage
Company profiles, financials, and industry reports.
Sage Data
New name of Data Planet, spring 2023.
Create tables, charts and maps with wide range of variables using data from governments and private organizations.
SAGE Research Methods
Books on research methods in the social sciences; many cases too.
more...less...
It's NOT the SAGE Business Cases database.
Online guide from SAGE:
https://sagepub.libguides.com/research-methods
SciTech Connect
Research from DOE. Many technical reports. Formerly: DOE Information Bridge.
more...less...
Results of Department of Energy R&D in energy technologies, physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental cleanup, and more. It can be used to search and download full-text and/or bibliographic information since 1995. The Library maintains an extensive collection of older DOE technical reports on microfiche. For a technical report not full-text, a request may be made to add a title to the Library's collection - contact Bette Finn at 404-894-1790.
Scopus
Citation database; includes 21,000 journal titles and 5.5 million conference papers.
SimplyAnalytics
Quickly create thematic maps and reports using using thousands of demographic and business variables. Included in GT's subscription: EASI/Mediamark Research (MRI). Note: slight name change from SimplyMap in Aug. 2017.
more...less...
Note: Licensed for use by 5 simultaneous users. Please logout when you are finished. Help Center for database: https://simplyanalytics.zendesk.com/hc/en-us
Social Explorer
Census data.
S&P Global NetAdvantage
Company profiles, financials, and industry reports.
(Note: former name Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage)
Sports Market Analytics
New, summer 2021. Database previously was SBRNet. See "more info." - requires VPN or campus IP.
more...less...
SMA is IP authenticated, so you must access from the VPN or a Campus IP address. Login steps if you don't see "Logged in as: Georgia Tech" at the top of the screen. 1) Click the login button and 2) reload the website https://sportsmarketanalytics.com/
Note: Database was cancelled a few years ago; reinstated - new platform/content.
Statista
Statistics on a wide variety of subjects.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest)
NEW database - numerous statistics are included in this annual source. Easy download and manipulation of data.
more...less...
Formerly, issued annually by the Census Bureau in print, with pdf online. Now, a print (publ. by Bernan), and a database - from ProQuest, via GALILEO.
Swank
Feature films in support of GT curricula.
ThomasNet
Comprehensive listing of U.S. manufacturers.
more...less...
Note: library has extensive archive of this source on microfilm (back to early 1900's) - title: Thomas Register of American Manufacturers.
Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS)
From the US Patent and Trademark Office.
TRID (Transportation Research International Database)
Formerly TRIS database; from the Transportation Research Board.
more...less...
"TRID covers all modes and disciplines of transportation and contains more than 900,000 citations of published research" Focus is on books, technical reports, and conference proceedings. Over 64,000 records contain links to full-text documents.
UNdata (United Nations)
more...less...
Library also has annual United Nations Statistical Yearbook (HA12.U5 U63) from 1948 onward (some gaps) - most recent edition is at the Information Services Desk
US Newsstream
Full-text newspapers - easy link to subset, US Major Dailies (database formerly was: ProQuest Newsstand)
USA Trade Online
Numerous detailed statistics (ask at the LibraryService Desk to be logged in; password required)
Value Line
Concise info. and advice on 1,700 stocks in 97 industries. Unique features include providing a beta figure.
more...less...
Unique features include providing a beta figure. For historical information, Library has "Value Line Investment Survey" from 1980-86 in print (HG4501.V26) ; microfiche from 1987-2007 (HG4501.V26a).
Viewswire (from EIU)
Info. (updated daily) for many countries. "1-Click Report" has detailed info.
more...less...
Access "1-Click Report from top right-hand corner. May need to be on campus to access. "News analysis" for the economy, politics, finance, and business. Other news/data for 7 major industry groups: Automotive, Consumer Goods, Energy, Financial Services, Healthcare, Technology, Travel & Transport.
Wall Street Journal Online
Full access to the wsj.com website and wsj.com/education. Create account with @gatech.edu email.
more...less...
Once you have created an account you can also download the WSJ app on Android / iOS devices. Has “Education” pages for Professors and for Students. Note: for searching, consider using these databases: ABI/Inform ; Factiva ; U.S. Newsstream. See “News…” tab on this Guide.
Wall Street Journal
1984 - present. Also searchable in 2 other databases - U.S. Newsstream and Factiva [latter has News Pages tab feature for headlines for latest 14 days].
Wall Street Journal (Historic)
1889-2003 (some gaps). Cover-to-cover, full page and article images.
Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies
Within Gale Directory Library (use Advanced Search)
Washington Post (Historic)
From 1877-2004.
Web of Science Core Collection
Citation searching (cited references; citation analysis).
more...less...
Publisher: Clarivate Analytics (formerly Thomson...and previously, ISI).
(Wilson) Business Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO)
Brief summaries to articles in 600 core business periodicals. NEW FEATURE - FULL TEXT. Formerly: Wilson Business Abstracts.
more...less...
Especially useful for searches on a major corporation or general business topic. Also, this database has archive back to 1913 for key business periodicals.
World Bank - Countries Data
Brief statistics and charts. Click on "indicators" for detailed statistics.
World Development Indicators
World Bank website has data for 420 indicators from 1960-2008.
more...less...
Library also has CD-ROM (HC59.15.W656c - ask at Information Services Desk). From the World Bank.
World Economic Outlook
Statistics from the IMF; issued twice a year. Downloadable.
more...less...
Library has print editions from 1995 on 3rd floor at HC10.W7979.
World Factbook
Brief country overviews from the CIA. Also includes comparison tables.
WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services)
More than 40 business databases, including Capital IQ (partial subscription) from Compustat, CRSP, MSRB, Penn World Tables, and TAQ.
more...less...
GT faculty and graduate students - Register at:
https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ ---
The IT unit at Scheller will verify status and grant access. Note: WRDS platform databases are not Library databases.

Databases

Major business databases are listed in the boxes below; in loose priority order within category (click on "i" for info.).

Key Related Databases

Listed in alphabetical order.

Academic Search Complete
more...less...
More than 5000 journals full-text, plus 5000 more with summaries. For core journals/periodicals - extensive historical coverage (full-text).
Applied Science & Technology Abstracts
About 800 core periodicals and journals.
Aviation Week Network
Includes periodical Aviation Week & Space Technology.
Compendex
Key database in engineering. Summaries (abstracts) of journal articles and conference proceedings.
Derwent Innovations Index
Conduct powerful patent and citation searches of inventions in chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering
EconLit
more...less...
Premier source for economic literature. Produced by the Amer.Economic Assoc. Provides comprehensive information on accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics, and more. Records contain abstracts of books, journal articles, and working papers published by the Cambridge University Press. Total records available on the database - more than 825,000.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
GenderWatch
Publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
IEEE Xplore
Journals and more published by this organization.
more...less...
Full-text access to Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and Institution of Electrical Engineers transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards
INSPEC
Focus is physics, computers, and engineering. Summaries (abstracts) of journal articles and conference proceedings.
JSTOR
more...less...
Archive of social science journals. The last 5 years are NOT included. Tip: use Advanced Search and select "include only content I can access". Key titles: Academy of Management Executive; Academy of Management Journal; Academy of Management Review; Strategic Management Journal; American Economic Review ; Economica ; Journal of Money, Credit, and Banking; RAND Journal of Economics.
MEDLINE
Medical info. from journal articles - many include summaries (plus links to full-text in other EBSCO databases)
NBER Working Papers
more...less...
Thousands of working papers on economic research.
From the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER). Bibliographic information for almost 7000 NBER working papers published since 1973, abstracts since Sept. 1993, full-text from Nov. 1994 to present.
NTIS
U.S. government-funded technical reports on a wide array of topics. Much is now full-text. This is the version from ProQuest.
PAIS Index
Covers public affairs
more...less...
Public affairs-related topics from journal articles, government agencies, and more. Historical coverage from 1915.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full-Text
The full-text started in 1997; summaries (abstracts) for previous years. Worldwide.
PsycInfo
From the American Psychological Assoc. Note: Jan. 2020, database renamed: APA PsycInfo
Sustainable Development Goals Online Collection
Book chapters and articles from journals published by Taylor & Francis.
TRID Online
Focus is transportation.
more...less...
TRID combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database.
Web of Science Core Collection
more...less...
Citation searching. From ISI.

eResource Policies

Note about offsite access: some databases can only be accessed when using the VPN. The OIT page for VPN explains how to get this. Also, a hardware token (key fob) from Duo can be used if you prefer to not use a personal device. OIT also has FAQs for Duo & 2FA.

Databases and electronic journals are provided for academic research by current authorized Georgia Tech faculty, students and staff only. The use of each online service is governed by copyright law and by the terms of the license between Georgia Tech and the publisher. Permitted Uses:

Searching the content of the online service, including searching, viewing and browsing tables of content, full-text of articles, bibliographic information and data
Downloading, saving and printing limited data or articles for personal, academic use only