Resource Guides: International Business: Economic Conditions

Economic Conditions - International

- globalEDGE - from CIBER at Michigan State Univ. - "country insights" has statistics from 201 countries
  - See also its Resource Desk, and "DIBS" - Database of International Business Statistics (latter requires login, but is free)
- IMF (International Monetary Fund) Data and Statistics - selected statistics available for free
  - Selected Online IMF Data Sources - matrix by broad topic of where to find the statisic
- International Financial Statistics - library subscription ; full IFS from the IMF
- ProQuest Statistical Insight - summaries of tables in International Index to Statistics (IIS) - some links to fulltext
- UNdata - from the United Nations. Select "Databases". Includes subset of WDI (listed below)
- United Nations Statistical Yearbook
  - print editions offsite, at LSC : HA12.5.U63 -
- Viewswire - download data (including forecasts) from the Economist Intelligence Unit
- World Bank Data - 300 indicators available for free - from 1960 onward (subset of WDI below)
- World Development Indicators (World Bank) - WDI
  - tables also online via Data-Planet Statistical DataSets - select "browse by source" from left frame
  - Some years are on CD-ROM - those and print editions offsite, at LSC - HC59.15 .W656c
  - Earlier years in print, offsite, at Library Services Center: Reference HC59.15.W656c
- World Economic Outlook (IMF) -- print editions offsite, at LSC: HC10.W7979
- World Factbook (CIA) - key statistics on the economy for 266 countries
- OECD Statistics - selected statistics available for free
- OECDiLibrary - detailed statistics; library subscription database

Periodical articles contain useful information. Try these:

ABI/Inform Global (for news and periodical articles)
- Wall Street Journal is full-text
Business Source Complete (for periodical articles)
EconLit (for scholarly articles, and book chapters)
NBER Working Papers - from the National Bureau of Economic Research
Business Abstracts with Full Text (Wilson/EBSCO) (core business periodical articles)

Economic Conditions - U.S.

- Bureau of Economic Analysis - GDP (national, state, metro areas) plus other data
  - new feature - BEA chart - "Which Agency Produces What Statistics?" - for BEA, BLS, Census
- Economic Indicators - 7 key topics, including total output; prices; money, credit (includes interest rates). Issued monthly; reported to Congress
- Economic Report of the President
- Foreclosure Resource Center - from the Atlanta Fed
- Data-Planet Statistical DataSets - select "SAGE key economic indicators" from left frame
- Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
- Survey of Current Business - issued monthly; from the BEA. Has many charts & tables
- Household Debt and Credit Report - from the New York Fed
- Estimated Impact of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act on Employment and Economic Output From July 2010 Through September 2010 - from the Congressional Budget Office (CBO), released 11/24/2010
Periodical articles contain useful information. Try these:
ABI/Inform Global (for news and periodical articles)
- Wall Street Journal is full-text
Business Source Complete (for periodical articles)
EconLit (for scholarly articles, and book chapters)
NBER Working Papers - from the National Bureau of Economic Research
Business Abstracts with Full Text (Wilson/EBSCO) (core business periodical articles)

Library

International Business

Need Help?

Economic Conditions - International

Economic Conditions - U.S.

Georgia Tech Library