Research Guides: Georgia & Atlanta Business: Hot Topics

Hot Topics - Business

GT users -- For daily news coverage -- full-text of the AJC is in the Library's U.S. Newsstream or Factiva databases.

To browse the AJC's issues, newsstand version - use the Library's PressReader database.

Bill to suspend gas tax passes Georgia Senate, heads to governor to sign
From WSB-TV, 3/17/2022.
Kemp goes big on spending, seeking $3B increase for Georgia
AJC web edition, Jan. 14, 2022
Georgia redistricting signed into law and lawsuits quickly follow
Updated 12/30/2021, from the AJC.com
Andre Dickens
AP called the race for Atlanta Mayor, about 10:45pm, Nov. 30, 2021

more... less...

Mayor-elect is a GT alum (BS - Chemical Engineering; MPA from GSU
New Push for Corporate Diversity has an Atlanta Address
Wall Street Journal article, Mar. 20, 2021.

more... less...

Above link is for GT users. Free access to first paragraph or so on WSJ.com, at: https://www.wsj.com/articles/to-attract-black-employees-companies-move-to-them-11616212810
Hotel Sued over Disease Outbreak
63 "suspected" cases. AJC 8/13/19

more... less...

AJC website title: Lawsuit filed in Legionnaires’ outbreak linked to Atlanta hotel
First Legionnaires death linked to Atlanta outbreak confirmed
AJC, 8/6/19; also - "probable" cases now up to 61.
THE LATEST: 57 ‘probable’ Legionnaires’ cases tied to Sheraton Atlanta; 11 confirmed
As of 7/30/19 (on 7/29, total was 55 possible). On 7/15, 3 tested positive. From the AJC.

more... less...

First story - 7/16/19 - https://www.ajc.com/news/legionnaires-outbreak-shuts-down-atlanta-hotel-and-prompts-probe/41UPsEODH8UVKnKQNSnXVK/
SunTrust shareholders OK BB&T merger to form Truist Bank
7/30/19. From the AJC.com
Senators OK Storm Relief for Georgians
AJC 5/24/19. Print version has table listing losses to crops of: cotton, pecans, timber, vegetables, poultry, peanuts

more... less...

Website title: After months of gridlock, Senate reaches deal on disaster relief.
Bill text: https://www.appropriations.senate.gov/imo/media/doc/RO0509_23.pdf
Southwest Georgia farmers wait in pain as storm aid stalls in Congress
AJC, 4/10/19. Includes statistic re agriculture is state's largest industry; employing 1 in 7 workers.

more... less...

Print ed. title begins with "Farmers..."
SunTrust and BB&T to Merge
Feb. 2019; article from AJC
Fiserv to Buy First Data in $22B Deal
Jan. 2019; AJC article
Gridlock Guy: What the new Hands-Free Georgia Act bans and allows
From the AJC, 6/3/18
Atlanta Reimagined
City's proposal to U.S. DOT for the “Beyond Traffic: The Smart City Challenge” award, 2017.

more... less...

Columbus, OH was awarded it -- Washington Post article highlights Columbus + 6 other finalists - https://www.washingtonpost.com/graphics/business/future-of-transportation/?tid=graphics-story
Florida and Georgia to blame for oyster loss
Summarizes first week of trial in Maine, re ongoing water dispute between Florida and Georgia
WATER WARS; Drought-stricken Ga. faces new crucial court test in water war
Includes a timeline of the dispute between Florida and Georgia
Regional Transportation Referendum (T-SPLOST)
Full project list, fact sheet, maps and more about the July 31st referencum. From the Atlanta Regional Commission.
Maynard H. Jackson, Jr. International Terminal
Parking and passenger info. on new terminal, May 2012. Use I-75, exit 239. There is also a free 15-minute shuttle connector from main terminal.
Tax Info.
Link to tab on this Guide
TSA: Frequently Asked Questions: Advanced Imaging Technology
Lists U.S. airports with full-body "scanning" technology. Hartsfield is one.
Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill, Gulf of Mexico
Links for univ. & gov't sources for the oil spill (on our Earth Guide Research Guide)
Credit Conditions in the U.S.
Dynamic maps for credit card and mortgage delinquencies (by county) plus state-level data. Also, state data for subprime and Alt-A mortgage loans (57 statistics - including % in foreclosure, % ARM loans.
Foreclosure-Related Data Sources
Extensive list of foreclosure sources, from the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta. Note that "Delinquency Trend Data" is from Credit Conditions of the United States (see separate listing) and that Vacancy
New Credit Card Rules
Stimulus Accountability - State of Georgia
Conserve Water Georgia!
Rural Economies Struggle to Keep Up
AJC, p. A1, 12/30/18 - includes charts of top 10 Ga. counties with employment gains, losses - last 10 years; plus - ranked chart of rural counties with highest rates of poverty.

more... less...

Article title on AJC.com is: "While metro economies thrive, rural Georgia not keeping pace"

Coronavirus - Georgia info.

Phone hotlines:

State of Georgia: 844-442-2681 -- call before seeing your Doctor

Fulton County - 404-613-8150 -- to get test results; speak to a nurse

Dekalb County - 404-294-3700, Select Option 1 [available Mon.-Fri., 8:30am - 5:00pm]

COVID-19 business guide
From the GA Dept. of Economic Development - details what types of businesses can open and requirements; businesses to remain closed; phases and categories
28 Safety Guidelines for reopening barber and cosmetology salons
From the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers
Executive Orders - 2020
See especially 4/30 ; 4/27 ; 4/23 ; 4/2

more... less...

4/27 - 4/27 - Providing additional guidance for food service establishments, bowling alleys, and theaters in response to COVID-19; 4/23 - Providing guidance for reviving a healthy Georgia in response to COVID-19 - requirements for restaurants, movie theatres, and gyms/fitness centers; 4/2 - Issuing a statewide shelter in place to stop the spread of COVID-19.
Gov. Kemp re state budget cuts
From OnlineAthens, May 1, 2020
Georgia Department of Public Health COVID-19 Daily Status Report
Totals by county; some demographic info. as well.
Kemp, Duncan, Ralston Announce Plans to Extend Public Health State of Emergency
Press Release, 4/8 - State of Emergency time-frame extended to May 13th.
Executive Order [re shelter-in-place]
9 pages - signed 4/2/20 - the official Executive Order linked from the Governor's website
Dept. of Revenue Automatically Extending Filing Deadline
GA income taxes now due: July 15th (same day as Federal income tax deadline)
County-by-County - curfews, stay-at-home... and what they mean
From WSB-TV. Atlanta Metro area cities and counties.
Area Unemployment Rate and Labor Force Estimates
more... less...

Current Labor Force Data and Graphs is at: https://dol.georgia.gov/current-labor-force-data-and-graphs
Current Force Labor Data and Graphs

Transportation problems

For the I-85 bridge replacement project, please see the Government Information guide page for Travel & Transportation

For the I-285-SR 400 Improvement project, please see: http://www.dot.ga.gov/BS/Projects/SpecialProjects/I285SR400

Travel Health, 2020 and spring 2021

Executive Order on Promoting COVID-19 Safety in Domestic and International Travel
Issued 1/21/21 by Pres. Biden
Lufthansa requirement re face masks
Beginning Feb. 2021, face masks of only these 2 types allowed: surgical ; N95 [in other words, no "regular" handmade/custom cloth masks]. Lufthansa website not yet updated; travel news sources reported this 1/22/21.
Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)
CDC page. Extensive coverage. Updated Mon., Wed., Fri.
Coronavirus Outbreak
AJC page. Focus is on Atlanta and Georgia.
Coronavirus COVID-19 Global Cases by Johns Hopkins CSSE
Visual dashboard of statistics worldwide
COVID-19 Projections for the U.S.
State-by-state: testing; deaths; hospital use. Updated daily by the Univ. of Washington's Health Metrics and Evaluation.
Current Outbreak of Coronavirus Disease 2019
U.S. State Dept. page - notes info. re students on foreign study programs
Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) outbreak
From the World Health Organization (WHO).
Coronavirus travel restrictions: where visitors must still quarantine.
List of states, with details. From USAToday; revised often.
Where all 50 states stand on re-opening
From CNN.com; revised often.
Travel During the COVID-19 Pandemic
From the CDC; updated 10/6/20
Risk of COVID-19 During Air Travel
From JAMA Netowork, Oct. 2020

more... less...

If there is an overhead air nozzle, adjust it to point straight at your head and keep it on full.