Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Civil Engineering

Research guide for civil engineering

Databases Descriptions

Primary Databases:

  • Providing an index to all ASCE publications from 1958, and abstracts from 1970, including all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newspapers published by the society. This database has over 100,000 index records and abstracts. Click on Journals Online link for access to full-text of ASCE journal articles, where available.
  • AGRICOLA contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library.
  • BIOSIS Previews is a comprehensive reference database for life science research. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology. Also included are interdisciplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, and biotechnology. The database covers content summaries, books, meeting abstracts, papers, and posters
  • Compendex(R) is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world with almost 7.5 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884. The database is updated weekly. This database is a new version of ENGI. It is also cross searched with Referex Engineering, a database of over 300 engineering books covering the following areas in engineering: materials and mechanical; electronics and electrical; and, chemical, petrochemical and process.
  • Environment Complete™ offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. The database contains citations for articles from domestic and international journals, monographs and conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.
  • Research authoritative medical information from such fields as medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more with MEDLINE®.
  • (1964+ ) Citations and abstracts from unclassified government-sponsored research reports from the Departments of Defense, Department of Energy, NASA, EPA, and other federal agencies, and selected international government departments and organizations. The Georgia Tech library holds over 2,500,000 technical reports (microfiche collection 2nd floor east). Selected full text reports are available through agency internet sites (DoD, DOE, NASA/NACA, EPA, ERIC) http://www.library.gatech.edu/search_locate/techres/techrepfulltxt.htm. Selected technical reports are listed in the locally loaded Government Funded Technical Reports databases and in the Catalog. For individual technical reports that are not currently held in the Georgia Tech collection, a request (techreports@library.gatech.edu) may be made to add a title to the Library's collection; this service is free of charge for Georgia Tech students, faculty and staff.
  • The SciFinder database provides access to a suite of Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases. Georgia Tech's license provides for 8 simultaneous users and includes the substructure searching module.
  • TRIS is the largest and most comprehensive bibliographic resource on transportation information. The database provides access to over 535,000 bibliographic records covering transportation, selected links to full text or sources of full text, and links to the ITRD database for further coverage of international transportation.
  • The Web of Science provides web access to three ISI databases: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900 -), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-), and Arts & Humanities Search (1975 -). Web of Science allows access to research literature through standard access points (author, title, subject) and to cited references (footnotes, bibliography) published with a scholarly paper. The cited reference search enables you to find articles that have cited a specific work by an author. (Tutorials are available at:http://www.thomsonisi.com/tutorials/wok3 and http://www.isinet.com/tutorials/wos7/)

 

Other Databases:

  • Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
  • Available through Cambridge Scientific Abstracts. Provides bibliographic coverage of basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences. In addition to periodical literature, the database includes coverage of reports issued by NASA, other U.S. government agencies, international institutions, universities, and private firms.For individual technical reports that are not currently owned by Georgia Tech, a request may be made to add a title to the Library's collection. This service is free of charge for Georgia Tech students, faculty and staff.
  • Provides citations and abstracts to journals, industry and trade publications, society publications and specialized periodicals in science, engineering and technology. Coverage spans many specialties. Includes Applied Science & Business Periodicals Index Retrospective (1913-1983)
  • The ASME Digital Library provides full- text access to American Society of Mechanical Engineers journals published since 2000.
  • The Beilstein CrossFire database covers the worldwide literature of organic chemistry from 1779 to the present and corresponds to the print Beilstein Handbook of Organic Compounds. Database content focuses on preparations/reactions and chemical, physical and biological properties and is structure searchable. NOTE: The Commander software must be downloaded. For instructions on doing so, please consult the Crossfire Instructions.
  • BioOne provides a unique aggregation of over 65 high-impact bioscience research journals from more than 50 publishers. Coverage includes journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.
  • Business Source Complete - A business database that provides full-text access to many peer-reviewed business related journals, including disciplines such as marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database.
  • With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. For free access to 1997+ GA Tech PDFs, off-campus GT users should search Dissertations from Georgia Tech via UMI and the Catalog.
  • DOE Information Bridge provides results of Department of Energy R&D in energy technologies, physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental cleanup, and more. It can be used to search and download full-text and/or bibliographic information since 1995. The Library maintains an extensive collection of older DOE technical reports on microfiche. Contact Information Services at (404) 894-4530 for more information.For individual technical reports that are not currently owned by Georgia Tech, a request may be made to add a title to the Library's collection. This service is free of charge for Georgia Tech students, faculty and staff.
  • The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) provides access to citations of unclassified, unlimited documents that have been entered into DTIC's Technical Reports Collection, as well as the electronic full-text of selected documents. The Georgia Tech Library offers mediated searches of the DTIC classified and limited distribution technical reports. Searches are limited to qualified Georgia Tech researchers with the proper security clearances. For individual technical reports that are not currently owned by Georgia Tech, a request may be made to add a title to the Library's collection. This service is free of charge for Georgia Tech students, faculty and staff.
  • Energy Citations Database (1948+ ) - ECD contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). ECD provides access to DOE publicly available citations.  ECD links to selected full-text reports, also available in the DOE Information Bridge database at http://www.osti.gov/bridge/ (full-text from 1994).
  • ENGnetBASE - Contains the contents of over 900 Engineering Handbooks from CRC Press, covering all areas of engineering. It's possible to search and display chapters from each title or across the whole range of titles.
  • The GeoRef database provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences and contains over 2.2 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.The GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered.GeoRef was established by the American Geological Institute in 1966. The Bibliography and Index of Geology is the print equivalent of GeoRef.
  • GFTR (Government Funded Technical Reports) -Digitized technical reports in full text from 2007 on.
  • U.S. Government Printing Office website for online access to Public Laws Database, U.S. Code, FederalRegister, Code of FederalRegulations, Congressional Record, U.S. Government Manual, Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, etc.
  • GPO contains bibliographic citations to United States federal government publications from 1976 to the present. Based on the Monthly Catalog of US Government Publications, GPO contains references to books, reports, studies, serials, maps, and other publications. Topics covered include finance, business, demographics, agriculture, medicine, public health, and more. The database contains over 400,000 fully indexed bibliographic records.
  • GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
  • IEEE Xplore provides full-text access to Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and Institution of Electrical Engineers transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards. Also known as IEEE/IEE Electronic Library (IEL).
  • International Nuclear Information System (INIS) INIS provides easy access to reliable nuclear information on the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology, including nonconventional literature, and makes nuclear knowledge readily available worldwide. Currently, the INIS Database contains over 3 million bibliographic records and almost 200,000 full-text nonconventional documents, consisting of scientific and technical reports and other non copyrighted information.
  • JSTOR (Journal Storage Project) is an electronic archive of core scholarly journals, with an emphasis on the retrospective conversion of the entire backfiles of key journals. Over 246 academic journals cover the subject areas of African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population/Demography, Sociology, and Statistics. JSTOR coverage is defined by a 2 to 5 year "moving wall," which is the gap between the most recently published issue of a journal and the date the most recent issues are available in JSTOR. The Library subscribes to three JSTOR collections: Arts and Sciences I, Arts and Sciences II, and General Sciences.
  • With a focus on engineering and scientific references, the collection contains over 800 books. Subject areas include chemistry and plastics, materials science, environmental science, microelectronics materials, electrical engineering, electronic engineering, chemical engineering, systems engineering, food sciences, and mechanical engineering. The references are deeply searchable with advanced field searching, allowing users to search across multiple sources to find specific data. For best results, download the most current Adobe Acrobat Reader.
  • LexisNexis Academic contains over 5,600 publications, virtually all include full text. Many types of publications are included: newspapers (in English and many other languages), legal news, general interest magazines, medical journals, trade publications, company financial information, transcripts, wire service reports, government publications (such as the federal case law, U.S. Code, Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Testimony, etc.), law reviews, and reference works (such as the Market Share Reporter, the Encyclopedia of Associations, and Ulrich's International Periodical Directory).
  • The CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX brings together in one place the majority of the leading materials science databases, with specialist content on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering application. Everything from raw materials and refining through processing, welding and fabrication to end uses, corrosion, performance and recycling is covered in depth for all metals, alloys, polymers, ceramics, and composites.
  • EPA's electronic documents site allows you to search, view and print, including full images of all original pages and full-text, from a collection of over 11,000 archival and current documents. Includes 400 Series (Air and Radiation, OAR), 500 Series (Solid Waste and Emergency Response, OSWER), 600 Series (Research and Development, ORB), 700 Series (Prevention, Pesticides and Toxic Substances, OPPTS) and 800 Series (Water, OW) and more. The Library maintains an extensive collection of older EPA technical reports on microfiche. Contact Information Services at (404) 894-4530 for more information. For individual technical reports that are not currently owned by Georgia Tech, a request may be made to add a title to the Library's collection. This service is free of charge for Georgia Tech students, faculty and staff.
  • Newspaper Source - Provides current information from daily feeds from the Knight-Ridder/Tribune Business News and Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Service including The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, The Hong Kong Standard, The Jakarta Post, and Jordan Today. Also, provides full text for 200 regional U.S. newspapers.
  • PapersFirst - (1993+ ) Citations for papers presented at conferences worldwide, from the vast collection of proceedings owned by The British Library Document Supply Centre.
  • Patent and Trademark, U.S.  - This searchable database of patents from the United States Patent and Trademark Office includes patents from 1790. Patents from 1790 through 1975 are searchable only by Patent Number and Current US Classification. Patents granted from 1976 are text-searchable. See also the GT Library's Patents and Trademarks Research Guide.
  • The ProceedingsFirst database provides tables of contents of papers presented at conferences worldwide. Each ProceedingsFirst record contains a list of the papers presented at each conference. Like its companion, PapersFirst, ProceedingsFirst provides access to The British Library Document Supply Centre's vast collection of conference proceedings.
  • National Library of Medicine. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE.
  • Referex Engineering - A searchable database providing access to the full text of over 300 engineering books, including handbooks, reference books, academic or scholarly books, how-to-guides and titles focused on technique and practice, as well as specialized professional information. Use "eBook Search" (Engineering Village).  The collections cover the following areas in engineering: materials and mechanical; electronics and electrical; chemical, petrochemical and process; civil and environmental; computing; and, security and networking.
  • Research Library (ProQuest) - Research Library provides full text for over 1,040 scholarly journals and general magazines and provides abstracts and indexing for over a hundred more.
  • Science.gov - Science.gov is a gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.
  • ScienceDirect - Offers access to full-text articles of 1,800 journals across 24 fields of science including the social sciences.
  • SciFinder - Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases: CHEMICAL ABSTRACTS (1907+), CAS REGISTRY (chemical names and structures, 1957+), CASREACT (single and multi-step reactions, 1840+), CHEMCATS (commercially available chemicals, 1997+), CHEMLIST (regulatory information, 1979+).  SciFinder web version.  "Exit" when finished.
  • Scitopia - Scitopia allows searches over 3.5 million documents, plus patents and government data.
  • SMARTech - Georgia Tech institutional repository.
  • Social Sciences Abstracts (Wilson)  - The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.
  • SourceOECD Science and Technology Database  - SourceOECD is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. SourceOECD comprises 20 Book collections by theme, containing all our monographs and reports; 24 periodicals; a reference title; and the OECD statistical databases.
  • Specs & Standards (ASTM and standards index) - Provides bibliographic data for over 350,000 active and historical standards from over 730 organizations from around the world. It also provides complete document pages for all active American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) standards. See also the GT Library's Standards, Specifications & Building Codes Research Guide.
  • SpringerLink   - Provides online, full-text access to Springer's journal titles as well as journals from other publishers. Subjects include: life sciences, chemical sciences, environmental sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering and economics.
  • A Guide to Sources of data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations. Statistical Abstracts contains statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States and selected foreign countries.
  • Statistical Universe is the most comprehensive source of federal statistics. It provides detailed abstracts, indexing, and locator information for all statistical reports of general research value issued by the federal government since the early 1960's. It includes direct links to all key statistical data available on federal agency World Wide Web sites as well as direct links to hundreds of reports stored within the Universe service itself. Statistical Universe enables easy access to statistics produced by major international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities. The database also provides access to American Statistics Index (ASI), Statistical Reference Index (SRI), and Index to International Statistics (IIS).
  • TOXNET(TOXicology Data NETwork) is a cluster of databases from NLM covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas. TOXNET provides free access to several toxicology databases, such as HSDB (Hazardous Substances Data Bank)and TOXMAP, Toxics Release Inventory (TRI), and TOXLINE.
  • Includes bibliographic records covering urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline of urban studies.
  • WorldCat - World's most comprehensive collection of bibliographic records from library catalogs worldwide, containing over 52 million records cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes books, manuscripts, websites and internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and slides, newspapers, journals and magazines (not articles), sound recordings, and videotapes. Includes records representing 400 languages.