Skip to Main Content

Compendex search hints for ECE and ME/NRE. Elsevier's Engineering Village

Compendex Database Description

Elsevier Engineering Village's Compendex

  • Elsevier's Compendex. 1884 to present. Comprising primarily journals and conference proceedings, Compendex also includes dissertations, standards, books, and recently preprints, Compendex content is sourced from thousands of publishers from around the world, including major engineering societies such as IEEE, ASME, SAE and ACM. Compendex is Elsevier’s flagship engineering-focused database.

  • Elsevier's Ei Compendex includes The Engineering Index Backfile which provides a comprehensive, historical view of engineering innovations from 1884-1969 with over 1.7 million records digitized from the original print indexes.

  • Compendex overview­. Document type (Journal article, Conference article...), Subject areas, Years covered,

  • Compendex. Top row "Search" drop down menu "Thesaurus." The Compendex Thesaurus has a hierarchical structure. Compendex and Inspec can have different thesaurus terms.

Combine multiple Engineering Village databases - Compendex, Inspec, NTIS, PaperChem

Search both the Compendex (1884+) and Inspec (1896+) database together; check both boxes under Databases.  These two databases are complementary and only have about a 20 percent overlap.

The NTIS (technical research reports with many records linking to full text reports) and PaperChem (pulp and paper technology) databases can also be combined with Compendex and Inspec. 

Engineering Village Guides

  • Engineering Village Support. Access and Use Support Center
  • Support training
  • Support Center - Top row, right side [click on "?"]. Drop down menu. FAQs, Release notes, Knowledge base, Support overview
  • Engineering Village Top FAQs
  • Engineering Village tutorials
  • Cited in Scopus. Citations’ display - the total number of times that the Engineering Village document has been cited in Scopus.
  • Compendex references.  The Compendex references refer to information used to publish a Compendex document. These references display on the ‘Compendex References’ tab on the left side of the record page.