Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Selected databases for ECE Advanced Guide

Selected databases. ECE Advanced Guide

Contact for quick and in-depth search assistance

  • Contact Bette Finn for customized one-on-one in-depth and quick assistance searching the Library databases. We can schedule a virtual meeting to search our databases together on your research topics. Customized group instruction.
  • List of ECE databases by topic.

Core databases

  • Inspec 1896+ IET Inspec contains over 20 million records of research literature.
  • Inspec focuses on four main subject areas:
    • Physics
    • Electrical engineering and electronics
    • Computers and control
    • Mechanical and production engineering
  • Combine Inspec and Compedex together; check both database boxes - Inspec and Compendex (only 20% overlap); both index journal and conference papers; many records have "Cited by in Scopus" and Inspec references. Can also combine the technical reports NTIS database with Inspec and Compendex.
  • Includes Inspec Analytics for uncovering patterns and trends in engineering, computing and physics research. Engineering Village platform.
  • Compendex 1884+ Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. Engineering Village platform.
  • Combine Compedex and Inspe together; check both database boxes - Compendex and Inspec (only 20% overlap); both index journal and conference papers; many records have "Cited by in Scopus" and Compendex references. Can combine the technical reports NTIS database with Compendex and Inspec. For pulp and paper technology, PaperChem can also be combined.

GT Library Catalog records for materials owned/licensed by the Georgia Tech Library, including bibliographic records for journals (with holdings information) and electronic and print books. Advanced Search (filter by field etc.).

ECE Databases. Alphabetical list. Journal articles, proceedings papers, dissertations & theses, technical reports, patents, and more

  • ProQuest platform. To search multiple ProQuest database simultaneously, click on top row "Change databases" and check the relevant database boxes (left column), then click on "Use selected databases." Advanced Search, drop down menu "Anywhere except full text - NOFT" or limit to fields such as ti,ab,su(engineer* and model*).

See Business guide tabs (left column).  Also Company profiles, Industry profiles, company directories. Databases -- Key Business Databases such as ABI/Inform.

Most IEEE Xplore journal and proceedings papers are indexed by the combined Inspec and Compedex databases.

See also tabs for Company Profiles, Industry Profiles, company directories,  etc. Databases -- key business databases, such as ABI/Inform.

NTIS.  Many NTIS database records link to full text PDFs of government research reports and documents (included in the Library's subscription; "Full text" icon then NTRL's PDF upper left). Engineering Village platform

Guide Tabs for Patent search, Patent applications, Patent analytic tools, Georgia Tech related resources

Selected other funding opportunities and awards: SAM.gov and Find Funding (GT Office of Sponsored Programs listing)

SciFinderⁿ training. SciFinderⁿ help, tips. SciFinderⁿ database content. SciFinderⁿ videos

OSTI.GOV makes discoverable over 70 years of research results from DOE and its predecessor agencies.  OSTI.GOV is the primary search tool for DOE (Department of Energy) ...  It consolidates OSTI's home page and the retired SciTech Connect. The Library's NTIS database 1964+ indexes Department of Energy technical reports; many NTIS records link to "Full text" PDFs.

Access to research literature through "Documents" standard access points (patents, medicine, chemistry, biology) and "Cited References" (bibliographies, footnotes, etc.) published with a scholarly paper. Web of Science records include both "Citations" and "References." All cited references are indexed and searchable via Cited Reference Search. Databases provide authoritative, multidisciplinary coverage from more than 12,000 high impact research journals worldwide. Clarivate platform offers multiple databases; can "search in" "All Databases" and "Collections" select databases. For cited references, search Web of Science platform databases; many Inspec and Compedex records include "Cited by in Scopus;" other databases also include cited references.

E-Resource access and authentication. OpenAthens at Georgia Tech

  • GT Library's OpenAthens video: How to use OpenAthens

  • Begin at the Library home page, choosing A-Z Databases, or Journals A-Z, or GT Library Catalog
  • Selected e-resources require VPN, for remote access 
  • If you have an electronic access question or problem (e-journals, databases, e-books, GT Library Catalog links, etc): "Report an eResource Issue
  • OpenAthens authenticates users for our electronic subscription content. OpenAthens authentication may require login to resources even if on campus. 
  • While accessing e-resources off-campus, you may notice an OpenAthens login screen. The OpenAthens screen may ask you to identify your home institution, such as the "Login via your institution: Other Institution Login" then "Find your organization" or "Find your institution." Search for Georgia Institute of Technology or Georgia Tech. The OpenAthens institution list may not be alphabetical. You may be asked to use the Georgia Tech login service for access to the resource. You may be asked to select your Federation, which is OpenAthens Federation or Open Athens Federation.
  • Report an electronic resource issue (report form for authentication and access issues).

A-Z Databases: Electrical and Computer Engineering