Contact Bette Finn for quick and in-depth database search assistance
For freeone-on-one personalized quick and in-depth assistance searching the GT Library's databases on your research topics, please contact Bette Finn, your GTRI Subject Librarian, at bette.finn@library.gatech.edu. Free customized group demonstrations and instruction sessions are also available.
InspecThis link opens in a new windowCovers the world-wide literature (mainly journal articles and conference proceeding papers) in astronomy, physics, electronics and electrical engineering, computers and control, and information technology.
It is also cross searched with Referex Engineering, a database of over 300 engineering books covering the following areas in engineering: materials and mechanical; electronics and electrical; and, chemical, petrochemical and process.
Inspec 1896+ IET Inspec contains over 20 million records of research literature.
Inspec focuses on four main subject areas:
Physics
Electrical engineering and electronics
Computers and control
Mechanical and production engineering
Combine Inspec and Compedex together; check both database boxes - Inspec and Compendex (only 20% overlap); both index journal and conference papers; many records have "Cited by in Scopus" and Inspec references. Can combine the technical reports NTIS database with Inspec and Compendex. For pulp and paper technology, PaperChem can also be combined.
Includes Inspec Analytics for uncovering patterns and trends in engineering, computing and physics research. Engineering Village platform.
CompendexThis link opens in a new windowProvides international coverage of engineering and applied science literature from journals, conference proceedings, and technical reports.
Compendex 1884+ Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. Engineering Village platform.
Combine Compedex and Inspe together; check both database boxes - Compendex and Inspec (only 20% overlap); both index journal and conference papers; many records have "Cited by in Scopus" and Compendex references. Can combine the technical reports NTIS database with Compendex and Inspec. For pulp and paper technology, PaperChem can also be combined.
Selected databases. Alphabetical list. Journal articles, proceedings papers, dissertations & theses, technical reports, patents, and more
ProQuest platform. To search multiple ProQuest database simultaneously, click on top row "Change databases" and check the relevant database boxes (left column), then click on "Use selected databases." Advanced Search, drop down menu "Anywhere except full text - NOFT" or limit to fields such as ti,ab,su(engineer* and model*).
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news, 1971-current.
ABI/INFORM Complete features historical business journals on topics covering corporate strategies, management techniques, accounting, marketing, advertising, ethics, case studies. ABI/INFORM Complete consists of: ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Archive 1905-1998, The Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition.
Core Engineering textbooks, such as Maynard's Industrial and Systems Engineering Handbook. Note: Create a personal MyAccess account for access to customized features, including Custom Curriculum, My Saved Images, and mobile view.
AccessEngineering also comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information as they work. AccessEngineering delivers multidisciplinary information in a dynamic interactive format straight to your desktop or device, providing integrated access to thousands of pages of trusted content from such renowned resources as Perry's Handbook for Chemical Engineers and Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, as well as newer resources, such as Mechatronics in Medicine.
AccessScienceThis link opens in a new windowAccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic online resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material (articles, videos, biographies, images) covering all major scientific disciplines, with links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations, plus specially designed curriculum maps for faculty.
Provided by the generous support of Class of 1955 Library Fund.
The Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database includes the renowned Aerospace Database and provides full-text titles from around the world including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. Click on top row "Change databases" and check left column box for "Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection" (1962+) then click on "Use selected databases." Selected full text. Can combine with other ProQuest databases. Advanced Search, drop down menu "Anywhere except full text - NOFT" or limit to fields such as ti,ab,su(engineer* and model*)
Articles, reports, proceedings, and government publications from Agricola, Toxline, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS).
Topics covered in the Industrial Art Index (1913-1958) includes the aviation industry, the start of commercial air travel, urban mass transit, the Great Depression and the Atomic Age. The Applied Science and Technology Index Retrospective (1959-1983) covers various subjects from acoustics to transportation and waste management. The Business Periodicals Index Retrospective (1959-1982) covers topics such as acquisitions and mergers, communication, publishing, tourism, and other business topics.
Trade and professional journals, buyers' guides, directories, conference proceedings, etc from acoustics to aeronautics, and neural networks to nuclear engineering.
Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialtiesacoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more.
Archives of Aviation Week & Space Technology, aviation and aerospace newsletters, market analysis, data, charts and graphs. Please use VPN.
Access to the digital, searchable archive that contains every issue of Aviation Week & Space Technology first 100 years. Both the industry and Aviation Week & Space Technology turned 100 together and this comprehensive archive of 4,500 issues and 500,000 pages of articles and advertisements chronicle the century.
Full image archive of Aviation Week from 1916-present. Please create a MyAWIN account at https://awin.aviationweek.com/ (on campus or using VPN) before first use. Then use your MyAWIN credentials to access the resource.
BIOSIS Citation IndexThis link opens in a new windowResearch in the life sciences, including agriculture, biotechnology, botany, molecular biology, and pharmacology.
Life science research, biology, biochemistry, biomedicine, and biotechnology. Can combine with other Clarivate databases, such as Medline.
DTIC - S&T Research: Public Technical ReportsThis link opens in a new windowDTIC - S&T Research: Public Technical Reports offers citations of unclassified, unlimited documents that have been entered into DTIC's Technical Reports Collection, as well as the electronic full-text of selected documents.
ProQuest's Education Database and ProQuest's ERIC database can be searched simultaneously by clicking on the top row "Change databases" then checking the box to the left of "ERIC" (Education Database's box is already checked under ProQuest Central--Education Database) then "Use selected databases." For full text: click on "Get full text" or "GT Access" icon. Search keywords: "Advanced Search" using the drop down menu "Anywhere except full text - NOFT" or limit to search fields such as ti,ab,su(education* and model*).
ERICis a searchable, internet-based database of education research and information. ERIC is a ProQuest subscription database; combine ERIC with ProQuest's Education Database (above). ERIC has a thesaurus. Eric is also an EBSCO subscription database.
CRC Press books on engineering including aerospace, biomedical, civil, computer, electrical, industrial, manufacturing, mechanical, optical, and systems engineering.
Aerospace Engineering; Bioprocessing; Chemical Processing & Design; Civil Engineering; Electrical Engineering; Engineering Design; Engineering Management; Geotechnical Engineering; Mass Transfer; Mechanical Engineering; Mining Engineering; Networking Communications; Packaging; Power Engineering; Process Control; Reference & Collected Works; Structural Engineering; Systems Engineering; Telecommunications
GT Library Catalog records for materials owned/licensed by the Georgia Tech Library, including bibliographic records for journals (with holdings information) and electronic and print books.
IEEE XploreThis link opens in a new windowIEEE transactions, standards, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings for computer science, electrical engineering, electronics engineering, and mechanical engineering.
Most of IEEE Xplore's journal and conference papers are indexed by the combined Inspec/Compendex databases.
InnovationQThis link opens in a new windowRobust patent database. Search for Patents and Applications, Non-Patent Literature, and Licensable Technology.
Covers the world-wide literature (mainly journal articles and conference proceeding papers) in astronomy, physics, electronics and electrical engineering, computers and control, and information technology.
It is also cross searched with Referex Engineering, a database of over 300 engineering books covering the following areas in engineering: materials and mechanical; electronics and electrical; and, chemical, petrochemical and process.
Janes OnlineThis link opens in a new windowPlease register using your @gatech.edu email address (e.g. gburdell3@gatech.edu), before Access from Jane's select subscribed modules Air & Space, Military Capabilities, and News.
When using information form this resource, please cite janes.com. When citing an image from this source, please cite janes.com and the image provider (noted in parenthesis under the image on Janes.com)
Provides citation impact factors for 8,400+ scholarly and technical journals worldwide.
It includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences, JCR can show you the most frequently cited journals in a field, the highest impact journals in a field, and the largest journals in a field.
Engineering technical reference tools and material properties.
The references are deeply searchable with advanced field searching, allowing users to search across multiple sources to find specific data. For best results, download the most current Adobe Acrobat Reader.
Focuses on industry news, international trade data, government regulations and management issues related to the metals and materials industries.
Replaces ProQuest's Materials Research Database with METADEX (metals).
MathSciNet (AMS)This link opens in a new windowMathSciNet is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940 and provides access to data from Mathematical Reviews (updated monthly) and Current Mathematical Publications (updated daily).
Medline is the premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Can combine with other Clarivate databases such as BIOSIS and Web of Science Core Collection.
Containing millions of bibliographic records, this database is the preeminent resource for accessing the latest research sponsored by the United States and select foreign governments. Agencies include DoD, NASA, DOE, EPA, and many more. The database represents billions of dollars in research. The complete electronic file dates back to 1964.
Many records link to full text PDFs of government sponsored research reports and documents (included in the Library's subscription; "Full text" icon then NTRL's PDF upper left). Engineering Village platform
PaperChemThis link opens in a new windowCovers international literature related to pulp and paper technology
If accessing from off-campus, use VPN or create an account. A comprehensive global source of funding opportunities available free to all Georgia Tech researchers. Researchers can search for funding opportunities or sign up for e-mail alerts.
Use VPN. Provided by the Georgia Tech Research Corporation. Accessing PIVOT from off-campus. In order to use Pivot, you need to either be hard networked on-campus or using a VPN. Otherwise, you must create a Pivot account. This essentially verifies that you are affiliated with Georgia Tech, as you have to use your GT email address and select GT as an affiliated member institution when signing up. Do NOT LOGIN with Insitutional credentials. Once you create the account, you can then sign in with your GT email and the password you set up for the account when accessing PIVOT from off-campus.
Other funding opportunities and awards: SAM.gov and Find Funding (GT Office of Sponsored Programs listing)
Doctoral dissertations and master's theses from universities and institutions all around the world.
Can combine with other ProQuest databases. Advanced Search, drop down menu "Anywhere except full text - NOFT" or limit to fields such as ti,ab,su(engineer* and model*)
PsycINFOThis link opens in a new windowArticles, dissertations, and book chapters in psychology and behavioral health.
Substances, reactions, references, and patent information.
Search the Chemical Abstracts Plus (CA Plus), MEDLINE, CAS Registry, and CAS React databases by research topic (keyword/s), author name, chemical structure, chemical name, or chemical reaction. Georgia Tech's license includes the substructure searching module. The CAS Information Use Policies, available at https://www.cas.org/legal/infopolicy are incorporated herein by reference. These policies describe the permissible use of the content accessed via the Product and may be changed at the discretion of CAS. In the event of any material change, CAS will notify Licensee.
SciTech Connect is a portal to free, publicly-available DOE-sponsored R&D containing over 70 years of energy-related research results and citations collected by OSTI (the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States). It includes journal articles/accepted manuscripts and related metadata, technical reports, scientific research datasets and collections, scientific software, patents, conference and workshop papers, books and theses, and multimedia. This collection continues to grow as new scientific and technical information resulting from DOE research becomes available.
SCOPUSThis link opens in a new windowInternational multi-disciplinary indexing & abstracting database for scientific, medical, technical, and social sciences
Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities.
Records from the Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) database and Joint Transport Research Centre's International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) database.
Access to research literature published with a scholarly paper. "Documents" (keywords, standard access points) and "Cited References" (cited in bibliographies/footnotes). Databases provide authoritative, multidisciplinary coverage from more than 12,000 high impact research journals worldwide. Can combine multiple Clarivate platform databases. Can "search in" "All Databases" and "Collections" and can select databases.
Citations for books, journals, audio, video, and other digital materials from the collections of thousands of libraries around the world. Updated daily.
