Skip to Main Content

Selected databases for the School of Mechanical Engineering Advanced Guide

Contact Bette Finn for quick and in-depth database search assistance

  • For personalized one-on-one quick and in-depth assistance searching the GT Library's databases, please contact Bette Finn, your librarian for the School of Mechanical Engineering, at bette.finn@library.gatech.edu. For in-depth search assistance, we can schedule a virtual meeting to search our databases together on your research topics. Customized group instruction is also available.
  • Selected database platform search hints comparison chart. By topic. Alphabetical database list.

Core Databases

  • Inspec 1896+ IET Inspec contains over 20 million records of research literature.
  • Inspec focuses on four main subject areas:
    • Physics
    • Electrical engineering and electronics
    • Computers and control
    • Mechanical and production engineering
  • Combine Inspec and Compedex together; check both database boxes - Inspec and Compendex (only 20% overlap); both index journal and conference papers; many records have "Cited by in Scopus" and Inspec references. Can combine the technical reports NTIS database with Inspec and Compendex. For pulp and paper technology, PaperChem can also be combined.
  • Includes Inspec Analytics for uncovering patterns and trends in engineering, computing and physics research. Engineering Village platform.
  • Compendex 1884+ Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. Engineering Village platform.
  • Combine Compedex and Inspe together; check both database boxes - Compendex and Inspec (only 20% overlap); both index journal and conference papers; many records have "Cited by in Scopus" and Compendex references. Can combine the technical reports NTIS database with Compendex and Inspec. For pulp and paper technology, PaperChem can also be combined.

Selected databases. Alphabetical list. Journal articles, proceedings papers, dissertations & theses, technical reports, patents, and more

  • ProQuest platform. To search multiple ProQuest database simultaneously, click on top row "Change databases" and check the relevant database boxes (left column), then click on "Use selected databases." Advanced Search, drop down menu "Anywhere except full text - NOFT" or limit to fields such as ti,ab,su(engineer* and model*). Selected ProQuest databases: ProQuest Dissertations & Theses, Advanced Technologies and Aerospace, Materials Science Database and many more databases.
  • School of Mechanical Engineering databases by topic.
  • Selected database platform search hints, comparison chart.

GT Library Catalog records for materials owned/licensed by the Georgia Tech Library, including bibliographic records for journals (with holdings information) and electronic and print books.

  • International Nuclear Information System (INIS). The INIS Repository contains bibliographic references and full-text documents of literature, including scientific and technical reports, conference proceedings, patents and theses. Global coverage; peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology; advanced search available.

Replaces ProQuest's Materials Research Database with METADEX (metals).

Many NTIS database records link to full text PDFs of government research reports and documents. Included in the Library's subscription; "Full text" icon then NTRL's PDF upper left.

PaperChem covers topics related to chemistry, engineering, and production technology used by the pulp and paper industry. It features the following content types: Scholarly journals, trade magazines, patents, conferences, doctoral dissertations, books. The Engineering Village PaperChem database can be combined with the Compendex, Inspec, and NTIS databases. PaperChem dates back to 1967, containing 690,000+ records.

Patents tab; patent databases Derwent Innovations Index, InnovationQ, USPTO, EPO's Espacenet, etc.

Other funding opportunities and awards: SAM.gov and Find Funding (GT Office of Sponsored Programs listing)

SciFinder training ; SciFinderⁿ help, tips ; SciFinderⁿ database content ; SciFinderⁿ videos

OSTI.GOV makes discoverable over 70 years of research results from DOE and its predecessor agencies and indexes (Nuclear Science Abstracts, Energy Science and Technology, Energy Research Abstracts). OSTI.GOV is the primary search tool for DOE (Department of Energy) ...  It consolidates OSTI's home page and the retired SciTech Connect.

  • Access to research literature, published with a scholarly paper. "Documents" standard access points (keyword searching; medicine, chemistry, biology...) and "Cited References." Web of Science records include both "Citations" (Times Cited in All Databases) and "References." All cited references are indexed and searchable via "Cited References" search; "Cited References" - search for records that have cited a published work.
  • Can sort a list of Clarivate Web of Science platform records by "Sort by: Citations: highest first" or "Sort by: Date: newest first."
  • Web of Science platform: Web of Science Core Collection, Derwent Innovations Index, BIOSIS, Medline etc.
  • Keyword alert: "Create Alert."  Cited references alert for one item: "Create citation alert."
  • Databases provide authoritative, multidisciplinary coverage from more than 12,000 high impact research journals worldwide. Multiple Clarivate platform databases can be searched simultaneously. Can "Search in:" "All Databases" and "Collections:" For Cited References, search Web of Science platform databases.
  • Many Inspec and Compedex records include "Cited by in Scopus;" other databases also include cited references.