PaperChem. Elsevier's Engineering Village

PaperChem can be combined with other Engineering Village databases - Inspec, Compendex, and NTIS.

PaperChem (1967 to present)

Elsevier's Paperchem description:

• PaperChem is a database of abstracted and indexed literature created specifically for research in the pulp and paper industries, covering chemistry and engineering to production technology. The content is carefully curated from the pulp and paper focused publications as well as the pulp and paper related papers published in multidisciplinary publications. It is one of the pulp and paper industry's most important resources for news and information.
• PaperChem covers topics related to chemistry, engineering, and production technology (download the source list) used by the pulp and paper industry, such as: Engineering and process control, Power, Graphic arts and more.
• Indexed with the Thesaurus of Pulp and Paper, with over 22K terms.
• PaperChem features the following content types: Scholarly journals, trade magazines, patents, conferences, doctoral dissertations, books. [Over 805,000 records]

• Search databases simultaneously. Check relevant boxes "Databases"
• Sort by Date (Newest) or Relevance
• Truncation. Multi-character wildcard asterisk (*) to search for words that begin with the same letters, such as simulat*. Asterisk (*) to search any number of characters internally, such as catalog*e.
• Single character wildcard (?) to replace a single characters, such as wom?n
• Quotation marks ("xxxx") for exact phrases. Enclose stop words in brackets or quotation marks "near infrared"
• Use top row "Search history" to combine previous search statements, using Boolean operators. "View all results"
• Use nested (with parenthesis) Boolean operators to combine terms
  • OR -- To broaden a search; allow for variant spellings; results include any specified term
    • #1 OR #2 OR #3 [retrieve records from any of the three search statements, using Search History]
    • simulat* OR model* OR mathemat* OR algorithm* [every record contains at least one of these four terms]
  • AND -- To narrow the scope of a search; results contain all specified terms
    • radar AND countermeasure* [both terms must be contained in every record]  
  • NOT -- To eliminate terms from a search
• To narrow a search (too many records)
  • Proximity operators:  near/# (within # words, in any order)
  • Field qualifier: limit to a field, such as Title, Author, etc.
  • Search history (Results - View all results) to combine previous search statements, e.g., (#1 OR #2) AND #3
• Thesaurus. Inspec and Compendex (not NTIS and PaperChem). Top row "Search" drop down menu "Thesaurus." The Thesaurus has a hierarchical structure. Includes Scope Notes; Related terms; Top terms; Narrower terms; Broader terms; Prior terms. Search by Exact term, Vocabulary search, Browse. Database. Inspec and Compendex can have different thesaurus terms (search both).
• Change "Display" -- "results per page" to 100
• Can use Browse Indexes to search Author names. Watch for all variations; with and without the comma; with and without space between initials; full first name or only initials
• Duplicate records (Inspec, Compendex, PaperChem) can be removed by clicking of "Remove Duplicates" (left column) and "Database Preference." Applies to only the first 1000 records.  NTIS records are included in the result.
• Top right "Create account" "Sign in." Register (free) to save search queries, records, preferences, and set up automatic Alerts. One search statement line is saved.
• Selected Records -- email, print, download selected records. Choose either Abstract or Detailed record. Can download to EndNote, RIS, text, RTF, etc
• Engineering Village's new search engine: Summary of changes
• Top row: Date, Language, Document Type, Sort by, Browse indexes
• Fast, not comprehensive search: Document Type Journal; Language English; date. Icon "Find It @ GT" works properly for linking to full text for most journals. For NTIS, use "Full text"
• Leave "Autostemming ON" to automatically stem terms

• In addition to thesauri for Compendex and Inspec, researchers may now access the PaperChem Thesaurus on Engineering Village to conduct ‘Exact term,’‘Browse,’ and ‘Vocabulary’ searches from the Thesaurus search feature.
• Thesaurus of Pulp and Paper Terminology. Institute of Paper Science and Technology. Atlanta, GA : Institute of Paper Science and Technology, 1991. General Collection, Remote Storage. This thesaurus can be borrowed by Georgia Tech students by filling out a "Request" form using the Georgia Tech Library Catalog record. Available for purchase: TAPPI's Thesaurus of Pulp and Paper Terms.

• Download the PaperChem source list. Database
• PaperChem content sources; subjects covered

• Engineering Village Support. Access and Use Support Center
• Support training
• Support Center - Top row, right side [click on "?"]. Drop down menu. FAQs, Release notes, Knowledge base, Support overview
• Engineering Village Top FAQs
• Engineering Village tutorials
• Cited in Scopus. Citations’ display - the total number of times that the Engineering Village document has been cited in Scopus.
• Compendex references.  The Compendex references refer to information used to publish a Compendex document. These references display on the ‘Compendex References’ tab on the left side of the record page.

The Institute of Paper Science and Technology originally created the PaperChem database to support its members. The PaperChem database first went online in 1969 (Bechtel, 1995) with data back to 1967. Engineering Information was purchased by Elsevier in 1998. December 2009 Elsevier's (Ei) Engineering Village provided access to PaperChem.

See the GT Library Catalog records for the print volumes of the Bulletin

• Bulletin of the Institute of Paper Chemistry. Institute of Paper Chemistry (Appleton, Wisconsin), 1930-1958, Catalog record.  GT Library Service Center, Call Number: TS1105 .I57; v. 1 (1930) –v. 28
• Abstract Bulletin of the Institute of Paper Chemistry.  Institute of Paper Chemistry (Appleton, Wisconsin), 1958-1967?, Catalog record. GT Library Service Center, Call Number: TS1105 .I57; v.25,pt.1-2(1954-1955), v.29(1958)-v.38, pt.1(1967), pt.2 (1962)
• Abstract Bulletin of the Institute of Paper Science and Technology. Institute of Paper Science and Technology (Atlanta, Georgia), 1989-1998? Catalog record. Publisher: Atlanta, GA : The Institute. GT Library Service Center, Call Number: TS1105 .I57 v. 60 pt. 1 until v.68 n.10-12.

The Institute of Paper Chemistry (in Wisconsin) was founded in 1929. The Institute changed its name to The Institute of Paper Science and Technology. The Georgia Institute of Technology and the Institute of Paper Science and Technology (IPST) merged in 2003; the integration was complete in 2004. In 2014 the Institute changed its name to the Renewable Bioproducts Institute (RBI).

Bechtel, R.M. A brief history of the Abstract Bulletin of the Institute of Paper Science and Technology. Publishing Research Quarterly, vol. 11, no. 3, pp. 145-151, 1995, doi: 10.1007/bf02680458