Resource Guides: Literature, Media and Communication: Film, media, news

Introduction to film, media and news sources

The Library is not just a place for books. Libraries, including Georgia Tech and your local public library, subscribe to sources for streaming film and media. Georgia Tech also subscribes to newspapers and magazines from Atlanta, the U.S., and around the world.

From this page, you can

Access streaming film sources from Georgia Tech
Discover streaming media sources from the public library
Explore sources for newspaper and magazine articles

Streaming film and media resources at Georgia Tech

These resources provide streaming access to feature films and documentary content from around the world.

Music Box Films This link opens in a new window
Distributor of foreign and independent film.
Sony Picture Classics This link opens in a new window
American film production and distribution company that is a division of Sony Pictures.
World Cinema This link opens in a new window
Classic and contemporary feature films and documentaries from the silent era, mid-20th century cinema, and international features representing a variety of world languages.
English subtitles accompany all foreign language films. Using Films On Demands Custom Segment tool, faculty and students may create customized segments of specific scenes from a film, which can be embedded, shared, and saved. Some World Cinema titles contain mature themes or content; viewer discretion is advised.

See all film and documentary resources on the database A-Z list. In addition, the Library subscribes to film and video streaming services for faculty to use in their classes. Please contact your subject librarian for more information.

Streaming media from the public library

Many public libraries provide access to streaming media resources and other materials. You may be a member of your local public library, and all Georgia Tech students may apply for a library card at the Fulton County Public Library. All public libraries offer different collections. The Fulton County Public Library offers streaming media through two of their digital library services:

Hoopla - collections include global films and television, e-books and audiobooks in a variety of languages
kanopy - their World Cinema collection includes films from around the world

Newspapers and magazines at the Georgia Tech Library

Find newspaper and magazine articles from around the world. Students, staff and faculty can access the New York Times digital edition. PressReader and Flipster both provide full-color, newsstand versions of their sources. PressReader and Access World News are the best ways to read the Atlanta Journal Constitution (AJC). Use Access World News or NexisUni to find full-text article content from thousands of sources.

New York Times Digital This link opens in a new window
Use VPN. Set up your free account to find current and past articles and most digital content on the NYT website back to 1851.
No Text and Data mining. Existing New York Times ID, If you have previously registered your email address on The New York Times site, you will click the "Already have an account?" "Log in here" link (below the "Create Account" button). If you have previously registered your email address on The New York Times site, you will click the Already have an account and "Log in here"
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Use VPN. Provides instant online access to today's newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format.
And, PressReader provides full issues of these newspapers and magazines, just as they appear in print. Set up your account using your GT email address! Access on the app requires entering while on GT wifi --- then, 7 days of remote access is provided.
Flipster This link opens in a new window
A collection of popular magazines including Architectural Digest, The Atlantic, Bloomberg Businessweek, Bust, Consumer Reports, Discover, ENR, Essence, Forbes, Fortune, National Geographic, Out, and Time.
American Scientist, Architectural Digest, Artforum International, Atlantic Monthly, Baumeister, Best Business schools, Black E O E Journal, Bloomberg Businessweek, Bust, Career Mastered, Consumer Reports, Discover, DIVERSEability, Diversity in Steam, ENR, Entrepreneur, Essence, Forbes, Fortune, Hispanic Outlook on Education, House Beautiful, Latino Leaders, MIT Technology Review, Motor Trend, National Geographic, Neo-opsis Science Fiction Magazine, New Yorker, Out, Oxford American, Time.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Articles from local, national, and international newspapers, and news transcripts and video clips; date coverage varies by news source.
With over 11,000 sources and 100+ local Georgia sources, including images of the Atlanta Journal Constitution, this resource contains a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international newspapers, television and radio broadcasts, newswires, and blogs, as well as business profiles, patents, and legal research.

See all newspaper and magazine resources on the A-Z databases list.