Resource Guides: Aerospace Engineering: Background information

Using tertiary sources for background research

Tertiary sources compile, summarize, index, or help identify scholarly sources on a topic. They are useful for background research or to get an overview of a topic before delving into secondary or primary sources. Common tertiary sources for aerospace engineering include dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference sources.

From this page you can access key resources for background research in aerospace engineering.

Resources for background research in Aerospace Engineering

Introduction to Flight by John Anderson
ISBN: 9780073380247
Publication Date: 2011-03-07
Noted for its highly readable style, the new edition of this bestseller provides an updated overview of aeronautical and aerospace engineering. Introduction to Flight blends history and biography with discussion of engineering concepts, and shows the development of flight through this perspective. Anderson covers new developments in flight, including unmanned aerial vehicles, uninhabited combat aerial vehicles, and applications of CFD in aircraft design. Many new and revised problems have been added in this edition. Chapter learning features help readers follow the text discussion while highlighting key engineering and industry applications.

Encyclopedia of Atmospheric Sciences This link opens in a new window
Covers major aspects of atmospheric science and related subjects such as oceanography and hydrology.
Also covers the traditional topics of atmospheric dynamics, cloud physics, and weather forecasting, more recently established fields such as atmospheric chemistry and global climate change are fully covered.
Encyclopedia of Computational Mechanics This link opens in a new window
Covers the theory and practice of applied mechanics, including applications in aerospace and civil engineering structures, geotechnics, flow problems, automotive engineering, geo-environmental modeling, biomechanics, electromagnetism, metal forming, and other fields.
Encyclopedia of Mathematical Physics This link opens in a new window
Provides a complete resource for researchers, students and lecturers with an interest in mathematical physics.
The Encyclopedia contains information that has been distilled, organized, and presented as a complete reference tool for the user and a landmark in the body of knowledge that has accumulated in this domain.
Encyclopedia of Energy This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of energy throughout the natural, social and engineering sciences.
Contents include: Basics of Energy; Energy Flows; Society and Energy; History and Energy; Systems of Energy; Conservation and End Use; Renewable and Alternative Sources; Environmental Issues; Public Issues; Policy Issues; Economics of Energy; Measurement and Models; Material Use and Reuse; Oil and Natural Gas; Coal, Electricity; Nuclear Energy; Risks; Sustainable Development; Global Issues.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process.
SAGE Research Methods has the answer for each user, from a quick dictionary definition, a case study example from a researcher in the field, a downloadable teaching dataset, a full-text title from the Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series, or a video tutorial showing research in action.

Library

Aerospace Engineering

Need Help?

Using tertiary sources for background research

Resources for background research in Aerospace Engineering

Georgia Tech Library