Resource Guides: Civil and Environmental Engineering: Background information

Using tertiary sources for background research

Tertiary sources compile, summarize, index, or help identify scholarly sources on a topic. They are useful for background research or to get an overview of a topic before delving into secondary or primary sources. Common tertiary sources for civil & environmental engineering include dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference sources.

From this page you can

Access key resources for background research in civil and environmental engineering.

Resources for background research in civil and environmental engineering

Introduction to Infrastructure: an Introduction to Civil and Environmental Engineering
c2011. The authors use the infrastructure that is all around us to introduce students to civil and environmental engineering, demonstrating how all the parts of civil and environmental engineering are interrelated to help students see the "big picture" in the first or second year of the curriculum.
Introduction to Civil Engineering Systems : a Systems Perspective to the Development of Civil Engineering Facilities
c2014. This book presents an integrated systems approach to the evaluation, analysis, design, and maintenance of civil engineering systems.
Handbook of Civil Engineering Calculations
Third edition, c2016. This edition features more than 3,000 logically organized calculations that align with the latest practices, codes, and standards. You will get s tart-to-finish calculation procedures for Load Resistance Factor Design (LRFD), a nti-terrorism components, enhanced building security, green construction, safe bridge design, and environmentally sound water treatment
Encyclopedia of Environmental Research
c2011. This book presents important research advances in the study of environmental research, as well as grassland biodiversity, , biodiversity hotspots, estuaries, freshwater ecosystems and conservation of natural resources.

Knovel This link opens in a new window
Engineering technical reference tools and material properties.
The references are deeply searchable with advanced field searching, allowing users to search across multiple sources to find specific data. For best results, download the most current Adobe Acrobat Reader.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed, in-depth, research reviews in the following disciplines: Archaeology, Business/Management, Classical Studies, Criminology/Criminal Justice, Economics & Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Religion.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process.
SAGE Research Methods has the answer for each user, from a quick dictionary definition, a case study example from a researcher in the field, a downloadable teaching dataset, a full-text title from the Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series, or a video tutorial showing research in action.

Library

Civil and Environmental Engineering

Using tertiary sources for background research

Resources for background research in civil and environmental engineering

Georgia Tech Library