Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering

Scholarly sources for research in the School of Mechanical Engineering

Scholarly sources, which are normally published in journals, as book chapters, or in conference proceedings, usually cover specific topics at a fairly deep level. Scholarly sources for the School of Mechanical Engineering may include research papers or reviews.

From this page you can 

  • See recommended selected databases for the School of Mechanical Engineering, where you can search for articles by title, author or topic.
  • Access selected journals for the School of Mechanical Engineering, to browse recent issues and see what scholars are discussing there.
  • Browse a virtual bookshelf of selected books.
  • Learn how to request resources through interlibrary loan (video tutorial).
  • Learn how the Georgia Tech Library uses OpenAthens for authentication (video tutorial).

What is a database and why use one

What is a scholarly database? 

A scholarly database organizes the best quality, most relevant information for a field or discipline in one place so it can be searched. Because there is so much scholarly research and so many different fields, databases specialize in which kinds of information or tools they provide. 

Why use a scholarly database? 

Scholarly databases take into account the important publications and research methods of a field or discipline. The database helps you make choices about which articles you want to see - by subject, dates of publication, overall topic, and more. Google and Google Scholar, while vast, do no quality control on the content they provide or give you good tools to narrow your focus. 

Recommended databases for the School of Mechanical Engineering

Selected journals

Books

  • GT Library Catalog records for materials owned/licensed by the Georgia Tech Library, including bibliographic records for journals (with holdings information) and electronic and print books. Advanced Search (filter by field etc.).

Browse a virtual bookshelf of selected Mechanical Engineering books

How to use Interlibrary Loan

How to navigate OpenAthens

Contact for database search assistance