Resource Guides: Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering: Background information

Using tertiary sources for background research

Tertiary sources compile, summarize, index, or help identify scholarly sources on a topic. They are useful for background research or to get an overview of a topic before delving into secondary or primary sources. Common tertiary sources for the School of Mechanical Engineering include dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference sources.

From this page you can access selected resources for background research.

Background information

Collections of handbooks

Knovel This link opens in a new window
Engineering technical reference tools and material properties.
The references are deeply searchable with advanced field searching, allowing users to search across multiple sources to find specific data. For best results, download the most current Adobe Acrobat Reader.
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Core Engineering textbooks, such as Maynard's Industrial and Systems Engineering Handbook. Note: Create a personal MyAccess account for access to customized features, including Custom Curriculum, My Saved Images, and mobile view.
AccessEngineering also comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information as they work. AccessEngineering delivers multidisciplinary information in a dynamic interactive format straight to your desktop or device, providing integrated access to thousands of pages of trusted content from such renowned resources as Perry's Handbook for Chemical Engineers and Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, as well as newer resources, such as Mechatronics in Medicine.
ASM Handbooks This link opens in a new window
Online version of the 25 ASM Handbook volumes, supplements and the 2-volume Desk Edition.
EngNetBase This link opens in a new window
CRC Press books on engineering including aerospace, biomedical, civil, computer, electrical, industrial, manufacturing, mechanical, optical, and systems engineering.
Aerospace Engineering; Bioprocessing; Chemical Processing & Design; Civil Engineering; Electrical Engineering; Engineering Design; Engineering Management; Geotechnical Engineering; Mass Transfer; Mechanical Engineering; Mining Engineering; Networking Communications; Packaging; Power Engineering; Process Control; Reference & Collected Works; Structural Engineering; Systems Engineering; Telecommunications
AccessScience This link opens in a new window
AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic online resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material (articles, videos, biographies, images) covering all major scientific disciplines, with links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations, plus specially designed curriculum maps for faculty.
Provided by the generous support of Class of 1955 Library Fund.

Selected handbooks and encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Energy This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of energy throughout the natural, social and engineering sciences.
Contents include: Basics of Energy; Energy Flows; Society and Energy; History and Energy; Systems of Energy; Conservation and End Use; Renewable and Alternative Sources; Environmental Issues; Public Issues; Policy Issues; Economics of Energy; Measurement and Models; Material Use and Reuse; Oil and Natural Gas; Coal, Electricity; Nuclear Energy; Risks; Sustainable Development; Global Issues.
Encyclopedia of Computational Mechanics This link opens in a new window
Covers the theory and practice of applied mechanics, including applications in aerospace and civil engineering structures, geotechnics, flow problems, automotive engineering, geo-environmental modeling, biomechanics, electromagnetism, metal forming, and other fields.

Handbook of Mechanics of Materials. Springer Singapore by Edited by Siegfried Schmauder, Chuin-Shan Chen, Krishan K. Chawla, Nikhilesh Chawla, Weiqiu Chen, Yutaka Kagawa.
Publication Date: 2020
Handbook of Thermal Science and Engineering. Springer International Publishing by Edited by Francis A. Kulacki.
Publication Date: 2020
Springer International Publishing
Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology
Online
Nuclear engineering handbook by Edited by Kenneth D. Kok
Publication Date: 2017
Springer handbook of mechanical engineering by Karl-Heinrich Grote and Hamid Hefazi, (eds.)
Publication Date: 2021

THERMOPEDIA This link opens in a new window
Search engine for information on heat and mass transfer, fluid flow, thermodynamics and energy.

Mechanical Engineers' Handbook by Myer Kutz
Publication Date: 2014

Library

Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering

Need help? Contact your librarian:

Using tertiary sources for background research

Background information

Georgia Tech Library