Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote at Georgia Tech

EndNote step-by-step

Add references

Endnote allows manual data entry, but for most references you can take advantage of direct export from online databases – downloading references in the RIS format works best. EndNote’s Find duplicates command will clean up duplicate references you might download from different sources.

Find reference updates

EndNote searches for and retrieves available updates for selected references, including updated journal names, DOI, keywords, abstracts and other metadata. 

Find full text

Retrieve publicly available full text articles in PDF format. EndNote also recognizes your subscriptions to paid full text articles available via PubMed LinkOut, OpenURL and EZProxy. Use VPN for maximum full text results when off campus.

Organize references

Groups make it easy to break a large library into subsets for later viewing. A group simply points to a subset of references that already exist in the library. EndNote provides three types of groups:
Custom Groups – manually move references into one or more groups that you name and organize.
Smart Groups – automatically move references into a group based on search parameters.
Combined Groups – create groups that combine references from two or more other groups.

Cite While You Write

Insert Citation using a search window in Word, or by searching in EndNote.
Change Styles in EndNote and Word with a simple drop-down menu. Access over 7000 citation styles at endnote.com.
Edit and Manage Citation(s) to customize in-text citations in a document.
Configure Bibliography to customize reference lists created in Word for a selected style.

Sync references online, share references with others

Choose Library > Sync and set up an account at endnote.com if you don’t already have one. You can sync the data from one EndNote library with EndNote online.
Share your entire EndNote library (File > Share), or share one or more groups (Groups > Share Group), with up to 100 other EndNote users.