Research in history and sociology may involve the use of specialized sources. In history, sources that provide historical evidence include film, news, and primary resources. Sociology research often incorporates factual information from datasets, statistics, and maps.
From this page you can
In addition to articles and books, film can be used to provide historical evidence. The following databases offer access to documentaries and films on a variety of subjects including history.
Video content from all Alexander Street Press collections, as well as available audio and textual content. Browse or search by disciplines, individual collections, titles, publishers and more.
Newspapers and magazines can offer a recount of events from the lens of the time period that they occurred. These databases provide access to newspapers stretching from the 1770s to present day.
Includes full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of this major newspaper from the Nation's capital. Provides a unique perspective of US politics and government.
See all newspaper and magazine resources on the database A-Z list.
Primary resources are historical documents that can be used in research to provide evidence. They are the original documents and objects from the time period of study. The resources listed below provide digital access to some of these materials.
Demographic information for sociological research may be presented in data tables or in the form of maps. Some interactive resources allow the user to create their own map to represent statistics visually.
U.S. national data, GIS mapping tool and analytics platform with data related to demographics, neighborhood conditions, real estate markets, federal income-eligible areas, money and income, lending activity, jobs and economy, education, health and more.
Provides easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information
Summary of statistics on social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
