Skip to Main Content

Georgia Tech Library Guide for ECE 4053 Research Methods

Georgia Tech Library Guide for ECE 4053 Research Methods students. Instructor: Professor Thomas Gaylord. Librarian: Bette Finn

Core ECE journal and conference proceedings databases

Database search tips comparison chart (Engineering Village Inspec/Compendex, ProQuest, Web of Science, Ebsco).

  • Inspec 1896+ IET's Inspec contains over 20 million records of research literature.
  • Inspec focuses on the subject areas: physics, electrical engineering, computer engineering, electronics, computers, control, optics, mechanical engineering, and production engineering. Includes Inspec Analytics for uncovering patterns and trends in engineering, computing and physics research. Journal and conference proceedings papers.
  • Combine Inspec and Compedex together; check both database boxes (only 20% overlap)
  • Inspec and Compendex index journal articles and conference proceedings papers. "Find It @ GT" works properly for most journals.
  • Many records have "Cited by in Scopus."  Inspec/Compendex papers that have "Cited by in Scopus" has been cited by documents in Scopus. Forward searching
  • Can "Limit to" Inspec/Compendex "Document type" - "Journal article" or "Conference article"
  • Selected records have (left column of record): Compendex/Inspec "references." Backward searching. The journal publisher website may include the References in text format. Copy and paste titles to Inspec/Compendex (if result zero, try Web of Science All Databases and ProQuest "change databases").
  • Journal and conference abbreviations are available in Inspec/Compendex records. Detailed/full record, under "Bibliographic Information" (Abbreviated source title).  First try Web of Science for journals: Search -“Cited References” then Cited Work and green AZ icon (View abbreviations list).
  • Compendex 1884+ Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific/technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings.
  • Combine Inspec and Compendex together; check both database boxes (only 20% overlap)
  • Inspec and Compendex index journal articles and conference proceedings papers. "Find It @ GT" works properly for most journals.
  • Many records have "Cited by in Scopus."  Inspec/Compendex papers that have "Cited by in Scopus" has been cited by documents in Scopus. Forward searching
  • Can "Limit to" Inspec/Compendex "Document type" - "Journal article" or "Conference article"
  • Selected records have (left column of record): Compendex/Inspec "references." Backward searching. The journal publisher website may include the References in text format. Copy and paste titles to Inspec/Compendex (if result zero, try Web of Science All Databases and ProQuest "change databases").
  • Journal and conference abbreviations are available in Inspec/Compendex records. Detailed/full record, under "Bibliographic Information" (Abbreviated source title).  First try Web of Science for journals: Search -“Cited References” then Cited Work and green AZ icon (View abbreviations list).
  • Applied Science and Technology Abstracts indexes core journals, both scholarly and trade journals
  • "Advanced Search."  "Publication Type -- Trade Publication."  "Limit To" -- "Source Types" -- "Trade Publications"
  • Attached PDF Full Text. Click on "GT Access" icon if no "PDF Full Text"
  • "Search Options" -- "Publication Type" (Academic Journal, Trade Publications -- EBSCOhost's definitions). Refine results - Source Type
  • ProQuest databases
    • Multiple ProQuest databases can be searched simultaneously.  "Change databases" top row, check relevant database boxes, then "Use selected databases."
    • To limit your search to only journal articles use "Advanced Search" 
    • Limit using "Source type" -- check box for "Trade Journals" or limit to "Scholarly Journals" or "Conference Papers & Proceedings"
    • Keyword searches: use NOFT [Anywhere except full text], or limit to fields such as ti,ab,su(power near/1 systems)
    • Selected ProQuest databases indexing journals, conference proceedings, and other resources such as technical reports and newsletters: Advanced Technologies and Aerospace Database, Materials Science Database, ABI/INFORM Collection (business), ProQuest Central (general database, over 160 subjects areas), and more. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global has many full text theses.
  • The "Web of Science Core Collection" database indexes major journal articles and selected meeting abstracts and books. Good for "Documents" keyword searching of journal articles in medicine, chemistry, biology, and other scientific and social science areas. 
  • "Documents" ("Search")
    • "Citations" (publications that cited the current/original one record). Forward searching
    • "References" Backward searching
    • Full text
      • Web of Science Core Collection: "Context Sensitive Links" (similar to "Find It @ GT" and "Access GT")
      • All Databases: "Full Text at Publisher" then "Access through your institution"
      • Derwent Innovations Index patents: "Documentation Abstract"
    • Sort by:
      • Sort by: "Date newest first"
      • Sort by: "Citations" highest first"
  • View abbreviations list (journals): "Cited References" ("Search") -- Cited Work field - Green AZ icon (right side). See Canvas instructions, Modules - Course Notes. Journal and conference abbreviations are also available in Inspec/Compendex records, in detail records, after "Bibliographic Information."
  • Alert
    • Keyword (topic, search strategy) alert: "Create Alert"
    • One record. Alert for a specific paper. "Create Citation Alert"
  • "All Databases" -- "Collections" Medline, BIOSIS, Web of Science Core Collection, etc. For patents, recommend searching patents Derwent Innovations Index separately (assignee etc.).
  • For engineering, physics and computing journal/conference papers search the combined Inspec and Compendex databases (see above, top of this webpage).

Accessing eResources. OpenAthens at Georgia Tech, authentication. E-resources report form.

 

  • Guide - Accessing eResources. Issues, suggestions.

  • Begin at the Library home page, choosing A-Z Databases, or Journals A-Z, or GT Library Catalog

  • Selected e-resources require VPN, for remote access 
  •  "Report an eResource Issue" Report form for authentication and access issues. Fill out this form if you have an electronic access question or problem (e-journals, databases, e-books, GT Library Catalog links, etc).
  • OpenAthens authenticates users for our electronic subscription content. OpenAthens authentication may require login to resources even if on campus. 
  • While accessing e-resources off-campus, you may notice an OpenAthens login screen. The OpenAthens screen may ask you to identify your home institution, such as the "Login via your institution: Other Institution Login" then "Find your organization" or "Find your institution." Search for Georgia Institute of Technology or Georgia Tech. The OpenAthens institution list may not be alphabetical. You may be asked to use the Georgia Tech login service for access to the resource. You may be asked to select your Federation, which is OpenAthens Federation or Open Athens Federation.