Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Georgia Tech Library Guide for ECE 4053 Research Methods

Georgia Tech Library Guide for ECE 4053 Research Methods students. Instructor: Professor Thomas Gaylord. Librarian: Bette Finn

Core ECE journal and conference proceedings databases

  • Inspec 1896+ IET's Inspec contains over 20 million records of research literature.
  • Inspec focuses on the subject areas: physics, electrical engineering, computer engineering, electronics, computers, control, optics, mechanical engineering, and production engineering. Includes Inspec Analytics for uncovering patterns and trends in engineering, computing and physics research.
  • Combine Inspec and Compedex together; check both database boxes (only 20% overlap)
  • Inspec and Compendex index journal articles and conference proceedings papers
  • Many records have "Cited by in Scopus"
  • Can limit to Inspec/Compendex "Document type" - "Journal article" or "Conference article"
  • Compendex 1884+ Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings.
  • Combine Inspec and Compedex together; check both database boxes (only 20% overlap)
  • Inspec and Compendex index journal articles and conference proceedings papers
  • Many records have "Cited by in Scopus"
  • Can limit to Inspec/Compendex "Document type" - "Journal article" or "Conference article"

Applied Science and Technology Abstracts indexes core journals, both scholarly and trade journals

  • ProQuest databases
    • Multiple ProQuest databases can be searched simultaneously.  "Change databases" top row, check relevant database boxes. Use selected databases.
    • To limit your search to only journal articles use "Advanced Search" 
    • Limit using "Source type" -- check box for "Scholarly Journals" or limit to "Trade Journals" or "Conference Papers & Proceedings"
    • Keyword searches: use NOFT [Anywhere except full text], or limit to fields such as ti,ab,su(power near/1 systems)
    • Selected ProQuest databases indexing journals, proceedings, and other resources such as technical reports and newsletters: Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection, Metadex (Materials Science & Engineering Collection), ABI/Inform (business), ProQuest Central (general database, over 160 subjects areas), and more

The Web of Science Core Collection database indexes major journal articles and selected meeting abstracts and books. Good for "Documents" keyword searching of journal articles in medicine, chemistry, biology and other scientific areas. "Times cited" in records. Note: for engineering topics search the combined Inspec and Compendex databases.

  • Database platforms search comparison chart.

Additional ECE databases. Alphabetical list.

E-Resource access and authentication. OpenAthens at Georgia Tech

  • GT Library's OpenAthens video: How to use OpenAthens

  • Begin at the Library home page, choosing A-Z Databases, or Journals A-Z, or GT Library Catalog
  • Selected e-resources require VPN, for remote access 
  • If you have an electronic access question or problem (e-journals, databases, e-books, GT Library Catalog links, etc): "Report an eResource Issue
  • OpenAthens authenticates users for our electronic subscription content. OpenAthens authentication may require login to resources even if on campus. 
  • While accessing e-resources off-campus, you may notice an OpenAthens login screen. The OpenAthens screen may ask you to identify your home institution, such as the "Login via your institution: Other Institution Login" then "Find your organization" or "Find your institution." Search for Georgia Institute of Technology or Georgia Tech. The OpenAthens institution list may not be alphabetical. You may be asked to use the Georgia Tech login service for access to the resource. You may be asked to select your Federation, which is OpenAthens Federation or Open Athens Federation.
  • Report an electronic resource issue (report form for authentication and access issues).