Resource Guides: Materials Science and Engineering: Background information

Using tertiary sources for background research

Tertiary sources compile, summarize, index, or help identify scholarly sources on a topic. They are useful for background research or to get an overview of a topic before delving into secondary or primary sources. Common tertiary sources for materials science and engineering include dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference sources.

From this page you can access selected resources for background research in materials science and engineering.

Resources for background research in materials science and engineering

ASM Handbooks This link opens in a new window
Online version of the 25 ASM Handbook volumes, supplements and the 2-volume Desk Edition.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
Engineering technical reference tools and material properties.
The references are deeply searchable with advanced field searching, allowing users to search across multiple sources to find specific data. For best results, download the most current Adobe Acrobat Reader.
EngNetBase This link opens in a new window
CRC Press books on engineering including aerospace, biomedical, civil, computer, electrical, industrial, manufacturing, mechanical, optical, and systems engineering.
Aerospace Engineering; Bioprocessing; Chemical Processing & Design; Civil Engineering; Electrical Engineering; Engineering Design; Engineering Management; Geotechnical Engineering; Mass Transfer; Mechanical Engineering; Mining Engineering; Networking Communications; Packaging; Power Engineering; Process Control; Reference & Collected Works; Structural Engineering; Systems Engineering; Telecommunications
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Core Engineering textbooks, such as Maynard's Industrial and Systems Engineering Handbook. Note: Create a personal MyAccess account for access to customized features, including Custom Curriculum, My Saved Images, and mobile view.
AccessEngineering also comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information as they work. AccessEngineering delivers multidisciplinary information in a dynamic interactive format straight to your desktop or device, providing integrated access to thousands of pages of trusted content from such renowned resources as Perry's Handbook for Chemical Engineers and Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, as well as newer resources, such as Mechatronics in Medicine.
AccessScience This link opens in a new window
AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic online resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material (articles, videos, biographies, images) covering all major scientific disciplines, with links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations, plus specially designed curriculum maps for faculty.
Provided by the generous support of Class of 1955 Library Fund.

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Focus is on chemical substances, including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also includes industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed. You can browse by 17 broad topics.

A-Z Databases. GT Library Catalog