Materials Science and Engineering

Scholarly sources, which are normally published in journals, as book chapters, or in conference proceedings, usually cover specific topics at a fairly deep level. In materials science and engineering, scholarly sources may include reviews, reports, and research articles or conference papers.

From this page you can 

• See recommended databases for materials science and engineering, where you can search for articles by title, author or topic 
• Access journals in materials science and engineering, to browse recent issues and see what scholars are discussing there 
• Browse a virtual bookshelf of materials science and engineering books at the Georgia Tech Library
• Learn how to request resources through interlibrary loan

What is a scholarly database? 

A scholarly database organizes the best quality, most relevant information for a field or discipline in one place so it can be searched. Because there is so much scholarly research and so many different fields, databases specialize in which kinds of information or tools they provide. 

Why use a scholarly database? 

Scholarly databases take into account the important publications and research methods of a field or discipline. The database helps you make choices about which articles you want to see - by subject, dates of publication, overall topic, and more. Google and Google Scholar, while vast, do no quality control on the content they provide or give you good tools to narrow your focus. 

A-Z Databases list