Resource Guides: Business Essentials: Specialized Sources

Specialized sources

This page covers specialized sources for:

Consult these sources when you are concentrating your research on a particular industry, company, or market sector.

Gale Directory Library
Formerly known as Gale Ready Reference Shelf, this database integrates current editions of Gale's reference directories, containing listings for associations, research centers, publishers, publications, databases, and more.
Mergent Intellect
Access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
Coupling Mergent's expertise in developing products for the reference marketplace with D&B's private company database, Mergent Intellect offers new and existing clients a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
Nexis Uni
U.S. and international newspapers, television and radio broadcasts, newswires, and blogs, as well as business profiles, patents, and legal research.
Reference Solutions (Data Axle)
Company directory of 12 million U.S. businesses.
Please note the number of downloads per search is 500. If your search yields 2,000 results, you will need to do four (4) downloads.

Policy Map
U.S. national data, GIS mapping tool and analytics platform with data related to demographics, neighborhood conditions, real estate markets, federal income-eligible areas, money and income, lending activity, jobs and economy, education, health and more.
SimplyAnalytics
Web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application for making interactive maps, charts, and reports using 10,000+ data variables. Note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
A mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 100,000+ data variables, including: demographic data from the US Decennial Census and the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and D&B's Points-of-Interest business directory providing access to over 5 million detailed US business profiles. Additionally, the premium MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset is available, which provides data on over 8,000 brands, 450 categories, detailed lifestyle statements, and consumer segmentation. Users can generate crosstabs at the DMA level using the Nielsen Scarborough Crosstab consumer behavior dataset, and analyze Scarborough data at the local level. Data is largely available down to the census block group level, and custom locations can be created.
Social Explorer
Provides easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information

BCC Research
Market research reports, commentary and analysis focused on markets where science and technology have an impact.
Mintel Academic
Provided with the generous support of the E. Roe Stamps IV Fund. Market research reports on consumer products, services, and lifestyles. Each report describes the economic drivers, leading companies, market share, market size, trends, segmentation, and consumer attitudes and purchasing habits.
Modules include: Automotive, Beauty & Personal Care, Drink, Food, Foodservice, Finance, Health & Wellbeing, Household, Lifestyles, Leisure & Entertainment, Multicultural, Retailing & Apparel, Technology & Media, and Travel.
Passport
Provides business intelligence on countries, consumers and industries.

Morningstar Investment Research Center
Offers up-to-date information on 20,000 stocks and mutual funds, allows screening using a variety of criteria. Provides access to Morningstar Rating for mutual funds and stocks.
Includes analyst reports for 1,500 stocks and 2,000 funds, stock and fund screening tools, and portfolio diagnostics. Includes 10 year historical performance data. Overall, information for over 100,000 investment offerings is available. Also includes online training center, glossary, user's guide, and investing classroom.
Value Line
Information and advice on stocks, industries, mutual funds, options, and convertibles.