Resource Guides: Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering: Background information

Using tertiary sources for background research

Tertiary sources compile, summarize, index, or help identify scholarly sources on a topic. They are useful for background research or to get an overview of a topic before delving into secondary or primary sources. Common tertiary sources for Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering include handbooks and encyclopedias.

From this page you can

Access key resources for background research in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Some textbooks and other books
Patent information

Click the following links and search to get accurate, high quality background research.

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Core textbooks, including Perry's Handbook for Chemical Engineers.
AccessEngineering also comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information as they work. AccessEngineering delivers multidisciplinary information in a dynamic interactive format straight to your desktop or device, providing integrated access to thousands of pages of trusted content from such renowned resources as Perry's Handbook for Chemical Engineers and Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, as well as newer resources, such as Mechatronics in Medicine.

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Chemical substances, including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed.
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
The benchmark reference in chemistry and chemical engineering, covering inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, and much more.

CHEMnetBASE This link opens in a new window
Collection of chemistry databases from CRC Press, including CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics and other resources with physical and chemical property data.
Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, Combined Chemical Dictionary, Dictionary of Natural Products, Dictionary of Organic Compounds, Dictionary of Drugs, Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds, Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds, Dictionary of Marine Natural Products, Dictionary of Food Compounds, Dictionary of Carbohydrates, Polymers: A Property Database, Properties of Organic Compounds.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
More than 800 books, with a focus on engineering and scientific references. Subject areas include chemistry and plastics, materials science, chemical engineering, and nanotechnology.
The references are deeply searchable with advanced field searching, allowing users to search across multiple sources to find specific data. For best results, download the most current Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Library

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Need Help?

Using tertiary sources for background research

Georgia Tech Library