Resource Guides: College of Computing: Books and eBooks

Catalogs

The Online Catalogs below can help you identify print books and journals and electronic books by their subject title and author.

Georgia Tech Online Catalog
Search the Georgia Tech Library Catalog to find Books, eBooks, Journals, eJournals, Proceedings and more.
Library Catalog
Search the GT Library Classic Catalog to find Books, eBooks, Journals, eJournals, Proceedings and more.
GIL Universal Catalog
Search the holdings of University System of Georgia Libraries and borrow using the Gil Express Request link at the top of the page.

WorldCat
Citations for books, journals, audio, video, and other digital materials from the collections of thousands of libraries around the world. Updated daily.

eBook Collections

CRCnetBASE
Online books from CRC Press covering aerospace, biomedical, civil, computer, electrical, industrial, manufacturing, mechanical, optical, and systems engineering.
IEEE-Princeton University Press eBooks Library
A curated collection of Princeton University Press titles. Topics cover a wide range of technology areas including computer science, electrical engineering, mathematics, physics and astronomy, and history of science and knowledge.
IEEE-Wiley Data Science and Cybersecurity
eBooks on topic including, computer security, cryptography, networking/security, data analysis, data mining, knowledge discovery, and communication systems security.
IEEE-MIT Press eBooks Library
Provided by the generous support from the Price Gilbert Charitable Fund. MIT Press has partnered with IEEE to bring its eBooks content in computer science and engineering technologies to IEEE Xplore.
National Academies Press
Provides full-text online access to over 5000 books on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, health policy, environmental protection, technology and commerce.
O'Reilly Books & Media Online
Access thousands of ebooks on the worlds most comprehensive technology and business learning platform.
Also included are imprints from Cisco Press, Adobe Press, and Sams. The Safari search engine lets users locate information by finding all occurrences of the search terms. Searches provide relevancy-ranked results, hit lists of book chapters containing the search terms, complete tables of contents and indexes for each book, color charts, graphs, and other illustrative materials, and cut-and-paste code segments.
SpringerLink
Articles, ebooks, and book chapters from physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, humanities, business, and education.

Dictionaries and Thesauri

NIST Dictionary of Algorithms and Data Structures
This is a dictionary of algorithms, algorithmic techniques, data structures, archetypal problems, and related definitions. Algorithms include common functions, such as Ackermann's function. Problems include traveling salesman and Byzantine generals. Some entries have links to implementations and more information. Index pages list entries by area and by type. The two-level index has a total download 1/20 as big as this page.

NIST Dictionary direct link

The Computer Security Resource Center (CSRC) has information on many of NIST's cybersecurity- and information security-related projects, publications, news and events. CSRC supports people and organizations in government, industry, and academia—both in the U.S. and internationally.

ComputerUser Dictionary
Includes new terms, acronyms, and more.
Free On-Line Dictionary of Computing
FOLDOC is a computing dictionary. It includes acronyms, jargon, programming languages, tools, architecture, operating systems, networking, theory, conventions, standards, mathematics, telecoms, electronics, institutions, companies, projects, products, history, in fact anything you might expect to find in a computer dictionary.
Glossary of Internet Terms
Large, nicely organized glossary by Matisse Enzer.

Dissertations and Theses

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text
This database is the world’s most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.
Georgia Tech Electronic Theses & Dissertations (ETD) Collection
Georgia Tech Theses and Dissertations is a collection of all masters theses and doctoral dissertations created by Georgia Tech graduates. The collection also includes dissertations prior to 1998 from the former Institute of Paper Science and Technology.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Cryptography and Security

Technical Reports

Click here for the LibGuide on Technical Reports for additional tips and sources.

NTIS
Citations and abstracts from unclassified government-sponsored research reports from the Departments of Defense, Energy, NASA, and other federal agencies, and international government departments and other international organizations including those from Canada, Japan, the former Soviet Union, Western and Eastern European countries.
Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 42 databases and over 2000 selected websites from 14 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.
Virtual Technical Reports Server
This site contains links to technical reports, preprints, reprints, dissertations, theses, and research reports of all kinds. Some metasites are listed by subject categories, as well as by institution.