Resource Guides: College of Computing: Articles and Databases

Where to Start

Primary Databases: Databases are aggregators that pull information from a variety of related academic sources. Below are some of the main databases for the area of Computing and its related disciplines. Beginning your search with databases is a good first step in the research process.

You should ensure you are logged into to your GT account to provide access to GT resources.

IEEE - IEEE, or Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, is a professional association that develops, defines, and reviews electronics and computer science standards. Its prime areas of focus are electrical, electronics, computer engineering, computer science, information technology and most of their related disciplines.
ACM Digital Library - Full text of every article ever published by ACM.
ProQuest Computer Science Database - Subject coverage: Computer Science ,Information Systems, Computer Security,
Database Design, Software Development ,Web Commerce ,LANs , WANs ,Intranets, Internet
Web of Science -An interdisciplinary database for science, useful features include advanced citation analysis.

Table of Contents and Current Awareness Services

Current awareness and Table of Contents services can help keep you up-to-date in your field through periodic searches in databases or email delivery of the Table of Contents for the latest journals.

ticTOCS - Journal Tables of Content
The ticTOCs Journal Tables of Contents service makes it easy for academics, researchers, students and anyone else to keep up-to-date with newly published scholarly material by enabling them to find, display, store, combine and reuse thousands of journal tables of contents from multiple publishers. With ticTOCs, it only takes a tick or two to keep up to date.

Electronic Journals

A link to the GT Library eJournal page an excellent starting place to search for a journal title and to identify its availability to the GT community.

Open-access journal resources are highlighted.

eJournals at Georgia Tech
A comprehensive list of electronic journal titles available to the GT community, browsable by title. The Citation Linker search engine provides article level access.
Open Access Journals in Computer Science

Proceedings

Electronic Proceedings in Theoretical Computer Science (EPTCS)
Electronic Proceedings in Theoretical Computer Science (EPTCS) is an international refereed open access venue for the rapid electronic publication of the proceedings of workshops and conferences, and of festschriften, etc, in the general area of theoretical computer science, broadly construed.

Preprints

ArXiv.org
Open access to 600,000+ e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics
Cogprints
Welcome to CogPrints, an electronic archive for self-archive papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, and many areas of Computer Science (e.g., artificial intelligence, robotics, vison, learning, speech, neural networks), Philosophy , Biology, Medicine, as well as any other portions of the physical, social and mathematical sciences that are pertinent to the study of cognition.
OSTI
The Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) fulfills the Department of Energy (DOE) responsibility to collect, preserve, and disseminate research and development (R&D) results emanating from DOE funding. Through our search tools and services, we ensure the Department's R&D information is publicly available and also useful to the DOE research community.

Subject Bibliographies

In addition to the databases above, the following subject bibliographies can help focus your search for books, chapters, proceedings, and articles.

HCI Bibliography
The HCI Bibliography is a free-access online bibliographic database related to the subject of Human-Computer Interaction.
SigGraph
The ACM Special Interest Group on Computer Graphics (SIGGRAPH) promotes the generation and dissemination of information on computer graphics and interactive techniques.

Library

College of Computing

Alison Valk