Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Technical Reports

Research Guide for Technical Reports

Selected Technical Report Databases

  • Georgia Tech Library's NTIS subscription database includes citations and abstracts from unclassified government-sponsored research reports from the Departments of Defense, Department of Energy, NASA, EPA, and other federal agencies, and international government departments and other international organizations including those from Canada, Japan, the former Soviet Union, Western and Eastern European countries. Engineering Village platform.
  • The Georgia Tech Library NTIS subscription technical reports database records link to many "Full text" technical research reports. Click on the NTIS "Full text" icon; this links directly to the NTRL record which has a full text PDF icon.
  • Search box - top of screen "Search this site, DoD S&T Reports, and more." The Department of Defense (DoD) Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Public Technical Reports database provides access to citations of unclassified, unlimited documents, as well as the electronic full-text of selected documents.
  • ERIC
    • ERIC provides users with free online access to the full-text of over 107,000 ERIC documents published from 1993 in PDF image format. Selected pre-1993 full text documents are available. The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database covers all aspects of education and educational research, includes both abstracts of published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics (including selected educational technical reports). ERIC Thesaurus.  ERIC corresponds to the printed indexes of RIE (Resources in Education) and CIJE (Current Index to Journals in Education). ERIC can be searched on the ProQuest subscription platform (ProQuest top row, "Change databases") and on EBSCO.
  • NTRL
    • National Technical Reports Library (NTRL). The Department of Commerce National Technical Information Service (NTIS) is offering the American public free public access to a searchable online database of federal science and technology reports through their National Technical Reports Library (NTRL; selected full text). Georgia Tech students and faculty/staff use the subscription NTIS database, which links to full text NTRL technical reports
  • Provides access to NASA aerospace information and domestic and international STI (scientific and technical information) pertinent to NASA's missions. Contains the searchable CASITRS (RECONselect) and NACA Technical Reports databases and databases from selected space and aeronautics centers. Includes research reports, journal articles, conference and meeting papers, technical videos, operational documents, and preliminary data (with some full-text coverage). Coverage begins with 1917.
  • OSTI.GOV makes discoverable over 70 years of research results from DOE and its predecessor agencies.  Research results include journal articles/accepted manuscripts and related metadata; technical reports; scientific research datasets and collections; scientific software; patents; conference and workshop papers; books and theses; and multimedia. OSTI.GOV is the primary search tool for DOE (Department of Energy) science, technology, and engineering research and development results and the organizational hub for information about the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information. Can "Refine by" (or "modify this search") "Resource Type" "Technical Report"

         Results can be filtered using "Result Type" - "Reports, books, and collections"

  • Georgia Tech Library subscription database. 1962+  This database includes coverage of materials issued by NASA, other U.S. government agencies, international institutions, universities, and private firms. This database includes the Aerospace Database and provides full-text titles from around the world including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. Can be combined with other ProQuest databases ("Change Databases") that index reports ("Document Type" "Reports").

ILLiad Interlibrary Loan for Georgia Tech Students and Faculty/Staff

For individual technical reports not available online full text, Georgia Tech students and faculty/staff can request copies of technical reports by filling out an ILLiad request form.

Additional Selected Resources

  • CRS Reports. Access to research products produced by the Congressional Research Service (CRS) for the United States Congress.
  • RAND Corporation. Tens of thousands of RAND publications are available as free downloads, dating back to 1946 (selected reports)
  • USA.gov (selected reports)
  • Government Information research guide. Free and subscription databases
  • Internet Archive (selected reports)

Microfiche

  • The Georgia Tech Library holds over 1,000,000 microfiche technical reports, located in Georgia Tech Library's LSC remote storage. The period from 1960 to 2007 is the most heavily represented, although older reports dating from 1900 are available. Microfiche collection
  • Georgia Tech students and faculty/staff can request reports not available online by filling out an ILLiad request form.
  • The NTIS subscription database includes a wide variety of technical reports, many linking to full text NTRL reports.
  • Examples of designations of unclassified technical report accession/order numbers are PB (various agencies), DE (Dept. of Energy), N (NASA), and AD (Dept. of Defense). The ADD designation consists of patents (not technical reports) applied for through the Department of Defense; check one of the patent databases under the title or subject and likely patentee. The ADP designation consists of individual papers presented at a conference; the ADA number for the entire conference will be needed to find these papers in our microfiche collection. Search the NTIS subscription database and other agency databases for selected full text reports.

Indexes to selected older reports

  • Government Reports and Announcements Index (GRAI). Bibliography of scientific and industrial reports (1946-1994). Catalog records for Call Number Z7916.B47. Access is by subject, report number, author, and corporate source. Selected HathiTrust volumes.
  • Bibliography of Scientific and Industrial Reports (HathiTrust, index to selective early PB technical report numbers); 1946/48.  Library Catalog record.
  • Correlation Index of Technical Reports (AD-PB Reports); 1953; 1958. Catalog record for Z7913.U46
  • Criss-cross directory of NASA "N" numbers and DOD "AD" numbers, 1962-1986. Catalog record for Z5063 .A2 C95X 1984
  • American and British atomic energy reports: A list of reports on atomic energy released by the Office of Technical Services, 1948.  PB 87782