Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GT SORT - Student Organization Records Toolkit

Benefits of Donating to Archives and Special Collections

When records are donated to Georgia Tech's Archives and Special Collections, they are arranged and stored in acid-free folders and boxes and kept in appropriate environmental conditions to ensure the long-term preservation of the materials. Digital records will be transferred to and preserved on secure Library servers. The Archives will preserve these records and make them accessible to future generations.

Once the collection is ready, the archivist will prepare an online finding aid that provides a brief description of the organization and an inventory of the records found in the archives. An example of such a guide can be seen regarding the records of the Georgia Tech Pride Alliance.

Because the archives expends a great amount of resources in caring for records, once they are donated to the archives they become property of Georgia Tech and cannot be removed from the archives without special permission. But don't worry, our collections are accessible in the archives' reading room. Reproduction services are also available upon request.

By choosing to archive your organization's records with Georgia Tech's Archives and Special Collections, you know that future members will have access to these resources when planning outreach and fundraising initiatives, researching alumni questions about past events and projects, and want to utilize historic material to promote the group. Our staff is always ready to provide reference services for student organizations' members after their organization has donated records to the Archives.

Procedure for Donating Archival Materials

Before making the final decision to donate your records, notify your organization’s membership about your archiving plans and ensure your members are supportive. If needed, we can arrange a visit to the archives and meet with the group to answer questions.

If your organization agrees to donate its historical records, contact the University Archivist for instructions and guidance on supplies and delivery method.

In most cases the following steps will facilitate the donation of your group’s records:

  1.  Pack your records into boxes (information provided by the University Archives). Each box should be numbered and labeled with your organization’s name.
  2. Create an inventory of every file in each box. You may use a summary statement, such as “Meeting Minutes,” to describe a group of files or the entire contents of a box.
  3. Email a copy of the inventory to the University Archivist and place a printed copy of each box’s inventory inside the box so it can be identified should it be separated from the others.
  4. Notify the University Archivist when you are ready to transfer the records to arrange delivery. The organization’s president/chair/historian will also be asked to sign an agreement finalizing the donation. This document, called Deed of Gift, will legally transfer the ownership and rights of the records to the University Archives. Every Deed of Gift is different and we will work with your organization to determine what provisions are right for you.

Donating your organization's records should be an on-going effort in your organization. It is essential to create documentation or assign the duty of maintaining a relationship with the archives to an officer, like a Historian or Secretary. We suggest, the end of each academic year is a great time to review your group's records and determine what might be eligible for inclusion in the archives. 

If you have any questions or concerns, or are just interested in what Archives & Special Collections has to offer, please feel free to contact us.