Resource Guides: Georgia & Atlanta Business: Industries and Businesses

Georgia industries & businesses

This page provides information about some of the industries and companies that make up the Georgia and Atlanta business landscape. More information can be found through the Georgia Department of Economic Development.

Agribusiness

Georgia's investment in agribusiness has allowed it to lead the nation in the production of peanuts, eggs and broilers. Learn more about the industry through the following resources.

Agribusiness & Agriculture in Georgia
From the Georgia Department of Economic Development, this website includes information on agribusiness workforce, infrastructure, and tax incentives.
USDA Economic Research Services Georgia State Fact Sheet
From the United States Department of Agriculture Economic Research Services, this is a database of Georgia farm populations, characteristics, financials, and commodities.
USDA National Agriculture Statistics Service Georgia Field Office
From the United States Department of Agriculture National Agriculture Statistics Service, this is the homepage of the Georgia Field Office.

Film & TV production

Georgia has a robust film and television industry, thanks in large part to its Film Tax Incentive. Learn more about the industry through the following sources.

Georgia Film and TV Production
From the Georgia Department of Economic Development, this website has information about industry jobs and classes, filming locations, and production registries.
Tax Incentive Evaluation: Georgia’s Film Tax Credit
From the Georgia Department of Audits & Accounts, this 2023 report analyses the impact of the Film Tax Credit.

Real Estate

Georgia's real estate industry impacts residents, businesses, and manufacturers. Learn more about the industry through the links below.

Building Permits Survey
From the U.S. Census Bureau, this survey provides national, state, and local statistics on new privately-owned residential construction.
Housing Statistics and Real Estate Market Trends
From the National Association of Realtors, this website provides housing statistics on the national, regional, and metro-market level.

Small businesses

There are multiple sources for support for small businesses in Georgia and Atlanta.

Small Business in Georgia
From the Georgia Department of Economic Development, this website provides information about starting and growing a small business.
Local Business Support
From the City of Atlanta, this website provides information about support programs, as well as partner organizations.
Small Business Administration Georgia District
This is the homepage of the United States Small Business Administration Georgia District. Their services include funding, counseling, and disaster recovery.

Find a company

Below are resources that can help you research a particular Georgia/Atlanta company. Visit the Company Information resource guide for more tips.

Georgia Corporations Division Business Search
Database of businesses incorporated in Georgia.

Mergent Intellect

Access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.

Coupling Mergent's expertise in developing products for the reference marketplace with D&B's private company database, Mergent Intellect offers new and existing clients a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
PrivCo
Source for business and financial data on over 300,000 major, non-publicly traded corporations.

Coverage of hundreds of thousands of private companies, and our singular focus on private companies, investors, and deals (venture capital, M&A and private equity) enables us to extract, aggregate, and provide the most accurate and comprehensive private company data available. Users can search company profiles, or build lists based on criteria such as location, size, industry and more. We focus primarily on US-based companies, but do have coverage of thousands of International companies as well.
Reference Solutions

Company directory of 12 million U.S. businesses.

Please note the number of downloads per search is 500. If your search yields 2,000 results, you will need to do four (4) downloads.

Library

Georgia & Atlanta Business

Ask an Expert