Skip to Main Content

REVAMP REU

Georgia Tech Library Research Guide for REVAMP REU

Core databases. All engineering areas, manufacturing, computing, physics, and more

  • Inspec 1896+ IET Inspec contains over 20 million records of research literature.
  • Inspec focuses on four main subject areas:
    • Physics
    • Electrical engineering and electronics
    • Computers and control
    • Mechanical and production engineering
  • Combine Inspec and Compedex together; check both database boxes - Inspec and Compendex (only 20% overlap); both index journal and conference papers; many records have "Cited by in Scopus" and Inspec references. Can combine the technical reports NTIS database with Inspec and Compendex. For pulp and paper technology, PaperChem can also be combined.
  • Includes Inspec Analytics for uncovering patterns and trends in engineering, computing and physics research. Engineering Village platform.
  • Compendex 1884+ Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. Engineering Village platform.
  • Combine Compedex and Inspec together; check both database boxes - Compendex and Inspec (only 20% overlap); both index journal and conference papers; many records have "Cited by in Scopus" and Compendex references. Can combine the technical reports NTIS database with Compendex and Inspec. For pulp and paper technology, PaperChem can also be combined.

All Databases

Selected databases

  • ProQuest platform. To search multiple ProQuest database simultaneously, click on top row "Change databases" and check the relevant database boxes (left column), then click on "Use selected databases." Advanced Search, drop down menu "Anywhere except full text - NOFT" or limit to fields such as ti,ab,su(engineer* and model*). Selected ProQuest databases: ProQuest Dissertations & Theses, Advanced Technologies and Aerospace, Materials Science Database and many more databases.
  • Selective platform search hints comparison chart.

The combined Inspec/Compendex databases index journal and proceedings papers from many societies, including ACM.

GT Library Catalog records for materials owned/licensed by the Georgia Tech Library, including bibliographic records for journals (with holdings information) and electronic and print books.

Most IEEE Xplore journal and proceedings papers are indexed by the combined Inspec/Compendex databases.

Replaces ProQuest's Materials Research Database with METADEX (metals).

Many NTIS database records link to full text PDFs of government research reports and documents (included in the Library's subscription; "Full text" icon then NTRL's PDF upper left). Engineering Village platform

The combined Inspec/Compendex databases index journal and proceedings papers from many societies, including this society.

See Patents tab. Derwent Innovations Index, etc.

Selected other funding opportunities and awards: SAM.gov and Find Funding (GT Office of Sponsored Programs listing)

SciFinderⁿ training. SciFinderⁿ help, tips. SciFinderⁿ database content. SciFinderⁿ videos

OSTI.GOV makes discoverable over 70 years of research results from DOE and its predecessor agencies.  OSTI.GOV is the primary search tool for DOE (Department of Energy) ...  It consolidates OSTI's home page and the retired SciTech Connect. The Library's NTIS database 1964+ indexes Department of Energy technical reports; many NTIS records link to "Full text" PDFs.

  • Access to research literature, published with a scholarly paper. "Documents" standard access points (keyword searching; medicine, chemistry, biology...) and "Cited References." Web of Science records include both "Citations" (Times Cited in All Databases) and "References." All cited references are indexed and searchable via "Cited References" search; "Cited References" - search for records that have cited a published work.
  • Can sort a list of Clarivate Web of Science platform records by "Sort by: Citations: highest first" or "Sort by: Date: newest first."
  • Web of Science platform: Web of Science Core Collection, Derwent Innovations Index, BIOSIS, Medline etc.
  • Keyword alert: "Create Alert."  Cited references alert for one item: "Create citation alert."
  • Databases provide authoritative, multidisciplinary coverage from more than 12,000 high impact research journals worldwide. Multiple Clarivate platform databases can be searched simultaneously. Can "Search in:" "All Databases" and "Collections:" For Cited References, search Web of Science platform databases.
  • Many Inspec and Compedex records include "Cited by in Scopus;" other databases also include cited references.

Accessing eResources. OpenAthens at Georgia Tech, authentication. E-resources report form.

 

  • Guide - Accessing eResources. Issues, suggestions.

  • Begin at the Library home page, choosing A-Z Databases, or Journals A-Z, or GT Library Catalog

  • Selected e-resources require VPN, for remote access 
  •  "Report an eResource Issue" Report form for authentication and access issues. Fill out this form if you have an electronic access question or problem (e-journals, databases, e-books, GT Library Catalog links, etc).
  • OpenAthens authenticates users for our electronic subscription content. OpenAthens authentication may require login to resources even if on campus. 
  • While accessing e-resources off-campus, you may notice an OpenAthens login screen. The OpenAthens screen may ask you to identify your home institution, such as the "Login via your institution: Other Institution Login" then "Find your organization" or "Find your institution." Search for Georgia Institute of Technology or Georgia Tech. The OpenAthens institution list may not be alphabetical. You may be asked to use the Georgia Tech login service for access to the resource. You may be asked to select your Federation, which is OpenAthens Federation or Open Athens Federation.