Periodicals have a wealth of information. For a large corporation or topic, a cover story feature provides a great overview. A "trade" periodical is what people in an industry might often read. The Library's paid subscriptions are supplemented by what is available through our large database providers - saving you time!
Thousands of business periodicals full-text (exclusive: Harvard Business Review - entire run; Bloomberg Businessweek ) - plus summaries of many more. . Full text journals in all disciplines of business.
The Business Searching Interface (BSI) is EBSCO's highly focused user interface created especially for the business searcher. Business Searching Interface provides an easy way to both browse and search for country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research available in Business Source Ultimate.
Thousands of business articles on a wide variety of business topics (many full-text). Also includes text of the Wall Street Journal and the Financial Times (except most recent month).
It includes in-depth coverage from thousands of publications, most of them in full-text. With ABI/INFORM Global, users can find out about business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape. ABI/INFORM Global includes ABI/INFORM Archive, which offers a deep backfile of many of the most important business journals of the last century.
Offers company and industry financial data and news stories, as well as full text articles from trade publications, newspapers, newswires and magazines.
Warning: Use of the Factiva service is restricted to reader access of the content for research and education purposes only. Text mining and analytics of the content is not permitted. Please contact the jay.forrest@library.gatech.edu if the use case is for text mining/analytics. If you receive a user not found error, please try again later in the day. Factiva is taking the severe action of disabling access when it detects a high volume of downloads on our licenses.
Factiva®, a Dow Jones & Reuters Company, provides essential business news and information together with the content delivery tools and services that enable professionals to make better decisions faster. Factiva’s unrivaled collection of more than 10,000 authoritative sources includes the exclusive combination of The Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times™, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and the Associated Press, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and D&B company profiles.
Articles in 600 core business periodicals. Especially useful for searches on a major corporation.
Full-text articles for nearly 460 publications dating back to 1982 and indexing and abstracts for nearly 880 publications dating back to 1981. Also searching Applied Science & Business Periodicals Index Retrospective (1913-1983).
Today's News
Knowing about key business news from today or the past few days is essential. This is for several reasons - other sources are issued or updated less often. What's currently happening in the business world can impact your target company.
In-depth business news. Create account with your GT email address.
Professor Tools:
Majority of these topics can be found on our education page for professors:
WSJ Professor Hub includes critical thinking resources above and How-To Guides.
WSJ Seminar Series which highlights how to use WSJ's content to connect academic theory with real-world applications. In the past semesters we did a series of faculty seminars on how to use WSJ in their coursework. Past videos can be found on the archive section of the website.
Critical Thinking Resource offers you case studies you can utilize in your course. Currently available for business, finance, marketing, journalism, technology, and political science, each downloadable PDF includes WSJ articles along with a classroom application and questions. This can help you save time on lecture prep with articles and questions you can assign directly to your students.
Coronavirus Critical Thinking Resource - For professors who are looking to incorporate recent Coronavirus coverage into their courses we have created a Critical Thinking Resource with dedicated Coronavirus articles from The Wall Street Journal.
Assessment Tool offers you an easy way to assess your students’ knowledge of current events with WSJ articles. Each week, faculty contributors create and upload customizable multiple choice and true/false quizzes. Additionally, quizzes are auto graded and grades can be exported to add to your grade book or LMS.
WSJContext is the Journal’s first higher education-focused product allowing instructors to seamlessly integrate WSJ content into lectures through shared reading lists. WSJ Context makes it simple to curate relevant articles based on the courses you teach, allowing you to share important and timely news stories with students every week.
Integration with Canvas: The tool that can be integrated through canvas is WSJ Context and The Assessment Tool. Instructions on how to integrate WSJContext into Canvas can be found in the attached Canvas integration guide. There are also some instructions on the Canvas site which can be found here.
The Weekly Review newsletter is created by faculty contributors who source three to five discipline specific WSJ articles each week and write a pedagogical application as well as critical thinking questions that allows you to integrate into your classroom discussions or exams.
How-To Guides - offers you a trusted resource for interactive learning and student engagement during this time when remote teaching is more important than ever. Download the guides to discover simple and seamless ways to incorporate WSJ’s broad and adverse content into online classes.
Student Focused WSJ Content
Majority of these topics can be found on our education page for students.
Students.wsj.com is a website which brings together articles for students on: Job Prep, Finance Tips, Career Insights, and Expert Advice. "We are all business majors".
WSJ Noted - A new digital magazine that was created specifically to serve the needs and interests of those ages 18–34. Noted speaks to—and with—this younger generation as they navigate an evolving world.
Future View - (Published every Tuesday night.) Future View is a WSJ Opinion series which allows students to contribute to politics, culture and global affairs.
WSJ Money - Students can use this resource to find personal finance and money management information and submit money questions of their own. Financial aid officers and counselors will find the student loan content valuable as well.
WSJ Jobs - A place for students and career center staff to discover the latest information on business and careers. Students can find valuable information on how to best present themselves as they enter the labor market and ask WSJ reporters specific career questions.
National coverage of news. Use VPN; set up free account - use your GT email address.
No Text and Data mining. Existing New York Times ID, If you have previously registered your email address on The New York Times site, you will click the "Already have an account?" "Log in here" link (below the "Create Account" button). If you have previously registered your email address on The New York Times site, you will click the Already have an account and "Log in here"
Note: Campus access has been restored as of 11/6/2023. Full text access to articles, graphics, and other features from The Financial Times, covering business, tech, markets, work and careeers, and life and arts. Please create an account at the Financial Times - sign up page link.
Atlanta Journal-Constitution and many more newspapers worldwide-- newsstand version, cover-to-cover.
Newspapers - Searching
Finally - newspapers - especially ones in the city in which a company is headquartered - may be useful in your search. While there may be news about major contracts the company has landed, there could also be longer articles that are in-depth. The following sources cover the most number of newspapers:
Articles from local, national, and international newspapers, and news transcripts and video clips; date coverage varies by news source.
With over 11,000 sources and 100+ local Georgia sources, including images of the Atlanta Journal Constitution, this resource contains a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content.
