Publicly traded companies in the United States need to file certain financial information with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). While SEC filings are free to access, third-party resources add value to the information by offering their own analysis.
Private companies have fewer requirements to report financial information, so third-party resources usually rely on estimates to make their analysis.
Public Companies
Below are databases that feature financial information for public companies.
Offers company and industry financial data and news stories, as well as full text articles from trade publications, newspapers, newswires and magazines. Factiva has a new interface as of September 2024. To switch back, click the "Switch Factiva" option in the upper right.
Warning: Use of the Factiva service is restricted to reader access of the content for research and education purposes only. Text mining and analytics of the content is not permitted. Please contact the jay.forrest@library.gatech.edu if the use case is for text mining/analytics. If you receive a user not found error, please try again later in the day. Factiva is taking the severe action of disabling access when it detects a high volume of downloads on our licenses.
Factiva®, a Dow Jones & Reuters Company, provides essential business news and information together with the content delivery tools and services that enable professionals to make better decisions faster. Factiva’s unrivaled collection of more than 10,000 authoritative sources includes the exclusive combination of The Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times™, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and the Associated Press, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and D&B company profiles.
Broad spectrum of industry and company analysis including S&P Industry Surveys, S&P Equity Research, and new Markets tab with drill downs to industry and sub-industry key ratios, benchmarks, constituents. Connection may appear to time-out but just be patient.
Reproduction of any information, data or material, including ratings in any form is prohibited except with the prior written permission of the relevant party. Such party, its affiliates, and suppliers do not guarantee the accuracy, adequacy, completeness, timeliness, or availability of any Content and are not responsible for the errors or omissions (negligent or otherwise), regardless of the cause, or for the results obtained from the use of such Content. In no event shall Content Providers be liable for any damages, costs, expenses, legal fees, or losses (including lost income or lost profit and opportunity costs) in connection with any use of the Content. A reference to a particular investment or security, a rating or any observation concerning an investment that is part of the Content is not a recommendation to buy, sell or hold such investment or security, does not address the suitability of an investment or security and should not be relied on as investment advice. Credit ratings are statements of opinions and are not statements of fact.
Source for business and financial data on over 300,000 major, non-publicly traded corporations.
Coverage of hundreds of thousands of private companies, and our singular focus on private companies, investors, and deals (venture capital, M&A and private equity) enables us to extract, aggregate, and provide the most accurate and comprehensive private company data available. Users can search company profiles, or build lists based on criteria such as location, size, industry and more. We focus primarily on US-based companies, but do have coverage of thousands of International companies as well.
Access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
Coupling Mergent's expertise in developing products for the reference marketplace with D&B's private company database, Mergent Intellect offers new and existing clients a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
