Resource Guides: Company Information: Profiles

Company profiles

A company profile provides a broad picture of a company. A profile usually includes:

brief history of the company
locations of manufacturing facilities
key products
key executives

Below are databases that feature company profiles.

Business Source Complete (Business Searching Interface)
Articles from academic journals and business magazines, as well as company profiles, market research, and industry reports.

The Business Searching Interface (BSI) is EBSCO's highly focused user interface created especially for the business searcher. Business Searching Interface provides an easy way to both browse and search for country economic data, company profiles, industry information and market research available in Business Source Ultimate.
Hoover's Company Records

Company profile information on 40,000 public and non-public companies, includes: overview, history, fact sheet, financial data, competitors, products & operations, subsidiaries & affiliates, and key executives.
Nexis Uni

U.S. and international newspapers, television and radio broadcasts, newswires, and blogs, as well as business profiles, patents, and legal research.
PrivCo
Source for business and financial data on over 300,000 major, non-publicly traded corporations.

Coverage of hundreds of thousands of private companies, and our singular focus on private companies, investors, and deals (venture capital, M&A and private equity) enables us to extract, aggregate, and provide the most accurate and comprehensive private company data available. Users can search company profiles, or build lists based on criteria such as location, size, industry and more. We focus primarily on US-based companies, but do have coverage of thousands of International companies as well.
NetAdvantage

Broad spectrum of industry and company analysis including S&P Industry Surveys, S&P Equity Research, and new Markets tab with drill downs to industry and sub-industry key ratios, benchmarks, constituents. Connection may appear to time-out but just be patient.

Reproduction of any information, data or material, including ratings in any form is prohibited except with the prior written permission of the relevant party. Such party, its affiliates, and suppliers do not guarantee the accuracy, adequacy, completeness, timeliness, or availability of any Content and are not responsible for the errors or omissions (negligent or otherwise), regardless of the cause, or for the results obtained from the use of such Content. In no event shall Content Providers be liable for any damages, costs, expenses, legal fees, or losses (including lost income or lost profit and opportunity costs) in connection with any use of the Content. A reference to a particular investment or security, a rating or any observation concerning an investment that is part of the Content is not a recommendation to buy, sell or hold such investment or security, does not address the suitability of an investment or security and should not be relied on as investment advice. Credit ratings are statements of opinions and are not statements of fact.

Insider perspectives

The Georgia Tech Career Center provides access to Glassdoor, a web-based application where current and former employees anonymously review companies. It also allows its users to anonymously submit and view salaries as well as search and apply for jobs on its platform.

Glassdoor produces reports based upon the data collected from its users, on topics including work-life balance, CEO pay-ratios, lists of the best office places and cultures, and the accuracy of corporate job searching maxims. Data from Glassdoor has also been used by outside sources to produce estimates on the effects of salary trends and changes on corporate revenues.

Create a profile using your GT email address to access all the features of a GT account.

Library

Company Information

Ask an Expert

Company profiles

Insider perspectives

Georgia Tech Library