Resource Guides: Government Information: Data & Statistics

Key Resources for Data & Statistics

Note: some are subscription databases, available to GT affiliated users.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Summary of statistics on social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Sage Data
Create tables, charts and maps with wide range of variables using data from governments and private organizations. Formerly DataPlanet.
Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations.
Policy Map
U.S. national data, GIS mapping tool and analytics platform with data related to demographics, neighborhood conditions, real estate markets, federal income-eligible areas, money and income, lending activity, jobs and economy, education, health and more.
Statista
Access statistical data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government, categorized into 21 market sectors.
SimplyAnalytics
Web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application for making interactive maps, charts, and reports using 10,000+ data variables. Note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
A mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 100,000+ data variables, including: demographic data from the US Decennial Census and the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and D&B's Points-of-Interest business directory providing access to over 5 million detailed US business profiles. Additionally, the premium MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset is available, which provides data on over 8,000 brands, 450 categories, detailed lifestyle statements, and consumer segmentation. Users can generate crosstabs at the DMA level using the Nielsen Scarborough Crosstab consumer behavior dataset, and analyze Scarborough data at the local level. Data is largely available down to the census block group level, and custom locations can be created.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Federal statistics and abstracts for U.S. (ASI), state, and local governments (SRI) and privately-published, international, and intergovernmental statistical sources (IIS) from 1973 to the present.
ProQuest Statistical Insight provides abstracting, indexing, and full text for publications from hundreds of public domain and licensed sources. US Federal statistical publications. 5,000 titles/year. Coverage from 1973; full text from 2004. (Also known as American Statistics Index, or ASI). State government and business statistical reports. 2,200 titles/year. Coverage from 1980; full text from 2007. (Also known as Statistics Reference Index, or SRI). International statistical publications from the UN, OECD, EU, etc. 2,500 titles/year. Coverage from 1980. Full text from 2007. (Also known as Index to International Statistics, or IIS) Hundreds of thousands of statistical tables selected from the three publication modules. Tables are individually indexed to ensure precise search and retrieval. Coverage from 1999.

Brief Census and population statistics sources:

QuickFacts
Key data for states, counties, cities, town, and zip codes. From the Census Bureau.
Circular Area Profiles
Easy-to-use interface for American Community Survey data. From Missouri Census Data Center.
Social Explorer
Census data - both current and historical (back to 1790 for county-level, 1940 for Census tract level), and demographic information. Subscription database.Library has one seat license - please "sign out" after use.

Georgia-specific data from the Census Bureau, Georgia Governor's Office of Planning and Budget, and from the University of Georgia:

Georgia QuickFacts
Key data for each county (and major cities). From the Census Bureau. Updated.
Georgia Data
From University of Georgia's Carl Vinson Institute of Government.
Population Projections
Links to Excel spreadsheets; projections to 2060 - county and statewide projections by age, race, sex.

While free to access, statistics on government websites are not permanent; subscription databases typically maintain the data. Finding Government Information during the 2025 Administration Transition provides background info on some of the changes.

Key government websites for business and economic statistics

Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA, Dept. of Commerce)
more... less...

BEA site contains many statistics - national, regional, international, industry - as well as the Survey of Current Business (articles and tables). New feature - chart "Which agency produces what statistics?", at: http://www.bea.gov/newsroom/matrix.htm - for BEA, BLS, Census
Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS)
Data.Census.gov
FRASER: Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research
Federal economic statistics. From the St. Louis Fed.

more... less...

Economic Indicators (in pdf) from 1948 onward, NIPA from 1929, etc. Also includes Survey of Current Business from 1921-2002
FRED: Federal Reserve Economic Data
Also from the St. Louis Fed. Time series; downloadable.

more... less...

Includes 22,000 U.S. economic time series. Key series -Producer Price Index from 1913 onward; layoffs from 2000 onward; Employment Cost Index from 2001 onward.
Census Business Builder
Key data for entrepreneurs for their business plan or to better understand their potential market. Also includes selected consumer spending info. from Esri.
Annual Integrated Economic Survey (AIES)
Re-engineered survey designed to integrate and replace seven existing annual business surveys into a streamlined single survey. Previously known as Annual Survey of Manufactures (ASM).

more... less...

ASM data, 2008-2021 - https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/asm/data/tables.html
County Business Patterns
Number of establishments & employment, 1986 to current.

more... less...

Note: for businesses with no paid employees, use: Nonemployer Statistics, at: https://www.census.gov/programs-surveys/nonemployer-statistics.html
Economic Census Tables
Data for 1954, and 1992 to date. The Economic Census is conducted every 5 years.

more... less...

Per the Census Bureau website, "Scanned images in PDF and other formats are available for publications from the 1967 to 1987 economic censuses via the search at archive.org, using terms like "1987 census of retail trade Virginia".

Selected science, health, and education statistics sources

FastStats
From the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC).
Digest of Education Statistics
Energy Information Administration
Monthly Energy Review, plus detailed statistics on electricity, natural gas, petroleum, renewable & alternative fuels, and more.
EPA Data
From the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). landing page to explore and interact with EPA data resources. You can find data by topic or location, interact with those data in web-based applications, understand how EPA uses data, and see how you can use those data too.

Historical Statistics

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (1878-2012)
Summary of statistics on social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Historical Statistics of the US.: Millennial edition
Fully searchable tables - ebook purchased from Cambridge University Press.
Historical Statistics of the United States: Colonial Times to 1970.
Free, but it is a pdf.