Resource Guides: Government Information: FDLP Info.

Georgia Librarians Info.

The Georgia Tech Library is a selective depository within the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP).

UGA is the Regional for Georgia. Dept. is the Map and Government Information Library

Depositories in Georgia
Library directory of libraries participating in the FDLP, as of 2023.
Information for Fedral Depository Libraries in Georgia
Link to statewide plan, discard list procedure, etc.
Disposal Guidelines and Procedures for Georgia Depository Libraries

Reports on FDLP

Federal Depository Library Program: Issues for Congress
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Report, issued spring 2012.
Ithaka Report - May 2011
Link from Free Govinfo. to Internet Archive's Wayback Machine. Title is: "Modeling a Sustainable Future for the United States Federal Depository Library Program’s Network of Libraries in the 21st Century: Final Report of Ithaka S+R to the Government Printing Office..."
more...less...
http://web.archive.org/web/20230000000000*/http://www.fdlp.gov/home/repository/doc_download/2004-final-report-with-recommendations-and-accompanying-gpo-statement

Websites of Interest for Depositories

FDLP Desktop
Legal Requirements & Program Regulations
Rev. spring 2018.
more...less...
Previous, issued summer 2011 - http://purl.fdlp.gov/GPO/gpo9182 -- that version supersedes info. in FDL(P) Handbook.
Guidance - FDLP
Advice on how to comply with the FDLP regulations
Best Practices for Storing and Retrieving Depository Materials in On-site or Off-site Storage
Final, released Nov. 2015
Weeding a Depository Collection
Also links to 2002's Superseded List.
Item Lister
Amending Your Library's Selection Profile
Links to DSIMS
more...less...
Within DSIMS, tutorial at: http://www.fdlp.gov/file-repository/about-the-fdlp/gpo-projects/depository-selection-information-management-system/2141-dsims-tutorial/file
FDLP Basic Collection: Core U.S. Government Resources
more...less...
"Every Federal depository library is required to have the titles in the "basic collection" accessible for immediate use."
List of Classes
Available for selection by depository libraries. Also links to a pdf version, rev. Nov. 2015.
Explanation of the Superintendent of Documents Classification System
1990 booklet, 28 pgs.
more...less...
FDLP website has "category classes", at: https://www.fdlp.gov/cataloging-and-classification/classification-guidelines/category-classes
Biennial Survey of Depository Libraries
View questions from current survey as well as past results from previous surveys.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Identify government publications - from 1976 onward.
Some "historic shelflist" material from Congress is pre-1976 (ongoing project with LC and GPO).
Federal Depository Library Handbook
Archived editions. Although superseded, it "can still be used for background information and contains explanatory information" - 210 pages.
Instructions (to Depository Libraries)
more...less...
early 2000s - "Federal Depository Library Handbook" had instructions; 2003, Amendment to Ch.7 -
http://www.fdlp.gov/file-repository/historical-publications/instructions-to-depository-libraries/1795-amendment-to-the-july-2000-instructions-to-depository-libraries-2003/file

ASERL Collaborative Federal Depository Program (CFDP)

Georgia Tech's Library is a Center of Excellence (COE) in the Southeast for these federal agencies:

NASA ; USPTO ; EPA

ASERL's CFDP has been selected as the recipient of the Proquest/GODORT/ALA 2012 Documents to the People award.

ASERL
Material posted include "CFDP checklist" , sample MOU, list (Excel) of "expressions of interest in becoming a center of excellence".
more...less...
The "Implementation Plan for Southeast Regional Guidelines for Management and Disposition of Federal Depository Library Collections", approved Apr. 2011, is also included (as well as the Executive Summary), plus the draft, issued Apr. 2010.
ASERL's Collaborative Federal Depository Program
CFDP background, draft, plan...from the Association of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL). Also links to "Best Practices - Becoming a Center of Excellence".
Centers of Excellence (COE) list
Noted as "List of Current and Pending Centers of Excellence" on the ASERL website. Updated, as of August 2020.
more...less...
List in order by Institution: http://www.aserl.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/08/Institution-Directory-of-COEs_2020_08.pdf
List of SuDoc stems yet to be chosen, as of 2017:
http://www.aserl.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/10/SuDoc-Stems-Yet-to-be-Chosen_2017_10.pdf
ASERL Documents Disposition Database
A guide to the process, hosted at Univ. of Fla.
ASERL Center of Excellence (COE) Database
Info. how to use the COE database and on reports available. Includes gap analysis. From the Univ. of Fla.