Resource Guides: Government Information: Demographics

Demographics

QuickFacts - can select by state, county, city, town, or zip code. From the Census Bureau.
Georgia QuickFacts - key data for each county, city, zip code. From the Census Bureau.
Census Business Builder - from the Census Bureau - 2 editions. Small Business ed.:" key data for their business plan or to better understand their potential market." ; Regional Analyst ed: "broad portrait of the people and businesses in their service area." Also includes selected consumer spending info. from Esri.
Data.Census.gov - official Census Bureau site. Replaced American FactFinder.
Social Explorer - subscription database, with easier interface than official Census website. Library has 1 seat license.

has "demographic profiles" feature - for states, counties, MSAs, places, Zip codes -- with charts and graphs

SimplyAnalytics - subscription database, with intuitive interface...can easily create custom maps. Add-on module:s Scarborough Local Insights and MRI SimmonsLOCAL.
Policy Map - .quickly and easily find demographics and geographies. Use VPN.
DataPlanet - subscription database
American Community Survey - data is within Data.Census.gov platform, noted below.

• GeorgiaData - Detailed demographic profiles of counties; county-by-county analysis; city population. County estimates for 2020, 2025, 2030, 2040, and 2050. Select "Resources" tab, then "Georgia County Data Tables". Select the "Population Data File". Result is spreadsheet.

Georgia Statistical Abstract ( HA321.G4 - print offsite, Library Services Center) Many years online at Georgia Government Publications site

Statistical Abstract of the United States - subscription database. Numerous statistics for business use are included in this general collection of statistics (formerly issued annually from the Census Bureau). The issues from 1878 to 2012 are available online, from the Census Bureau.

Statistics Books - from New Strategist. These handy guides are concise and clearly written. Available online, within our Gale Virtual Reference Library database. Titles include:

American Incomes: Demographics of Who Has Money

American Marketplace: Demographics and Spending Patterns

Best Customers: Demographics of Consumer Demand

Household Spending: Who Spends How Much on What

Population Projections

Population Projections - Georgia
Links to Excel spreadsheets; projections to 2060 - county and statewide projections by age, race, sex. From the Georgia Governor's Office of Planning and Budget.
GeorgiaData
County estimates for 2020, 2025, 2030, 2040, and 2050. Select "Resources" tab, then "Georgia County Data Tables". Select the "Population Data File". Result is spreadsheet.
more...less...
Formerly known as Georgia Statistics System. Though that name is still an option under the "Data" tab, it no longer exists.
Georgia Coast 2030: Population Projections
For the 10-county coastal region.
more...less...
Prepared by Georgia Tech's Center for Quality Growth and Regional Development, 2006.

Census and Demographics, 2000-2006

Social Explorer
Commercial database; uses easy interface of old Census website (drill-down). Library has one seat license
Demographic Profiles
For states or cities. In the search box for a state, can enter city name. In pdf format. For the 2000 Census.
Community Sourcebook of County Demographics
Core statistics for each county - population change (& forecast); # households (& forecast); population composition (median age, age distribution, race); spending potential indices. From ESRI. Offsite, Library Services Center ( REFERENCE HA203. S65x). Request at Info Desk for edition to be brought to campus. Library has: 2004; 2006.
Community Sourcebook of ZIP Code Demographics
Uses segmentation - Community Tapestry. Core statistics - population change (& forecast), # households (& forecast); population composition (median age, age distribution, race); spending potential. From ESRI. Located offsite, Library Service Center (REFERENCE HA203.S65x). Request at Info Desk for edition to be brought to campus. Library has: 2004; 2006.
Demographics USA. County edition
Basic demographics by county. Uses BPI (Buying Power Index) and EBI (Effective Buying Income). Includes population density; # households; population composition; age distribution. From Nielsen Claritas. Library has offsite, Library Services Center (HF3001 .S26X). Request at Info Desk for edition to be brought to campus. Library has: 1994, 1998-2002, 2004-08.
Demographics USA. Zip edition
Basic demographics by zip code. Includes population density (& forecast); # households; population composition; age distribution; median household EBI (Effective Buying Income). From Nielsen Claritas. Library has offsite, Library Services Center (HF3001 .S263). Request at Info Desk for edition to be brought to campus. Library has: 1994,1998-2002, 2004-08.