Resource Guides: Government Information: Census

Census data

Key tools for free Census data other than the Decennial Census:

QuickFacts - can select by state, county, city, town, or zip code. From the Census Bureau.
Georgia QuickFacts - key data for each county, city, zip code. From the Census Bureau.
Census Business Builder - from the Census Bureau - 2 editions. Small Business ed.:" key data for their business plan or to better understand their potential market." ; Regional Analyst ed: "broad portrait of the people and businesses in their service area." Also includes selected consumer spending info. from Esri.
American Community Survey - data is within Data.Census.gov platform below
Data.census.gov - replaced American FactFinder. Tip: Use Advanced Search

Census 2020

Redistricing Data Summary File
Released 9/16/21 - easy to find data by subject tables or by selecting areas from a map. Tables for: race, Hispanic origin, voting age and housing unit data - geographies: for counties, places, census tracts and blocks.
2020 Census Statistics Highlight Local Population Changes and Nation’s Racial and Ethnic Diversity
Census Bureau press release, Aug. 12, 2021
Sample 2020 Questionnaire
Circular Area Profiles
Easy-to-use interface for American Community Survey data. From Missouri Census Data Center.
American Community Survey
Questions asked, 1998 to current year.

Census 2010

QuickFacts
Key data for states, counties, cities, towns, zip codes. From the Census Bureau.
Georgia Quickfacts
Counties, cities, zip codes. From the Census Bureau.
Social Explorer
Quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Subscription database; Library has 1 seat license.
more...less...
Has "demographic profiles" feature - for states, counties, MSAs, places, Zip codes -- with charts and graphs
SimplyAnalytics
Quickly create thematic maps and reports using using thousands of demographic and business variables. Included in GT's subscription: EASI/Mediamark Research (MRI). Subscription database - 5 simultaneous users.
more...less...
As a courtesy to others, please remember to click Logout when you are finished using SimplyAnalytics. Note: previous name: SimplyMap
Data.Census.Gov
Replaces American FactFinder, spring 2020.
Applinks
Easy and quick to use, with geographies including census tracts, zip codes, and block groups. Also has 2000 and 1990 Census data. When a geography is selected, click "Data Sources for area". From Missouri Census Data Center.
Circular Area Profiles
For 2010 Census. Easy-to-use interface to find Census data using a point location (latitude and longitude) and radius "values" (i.e., miles) for major Census statistics - population, age, race, household income, educational.. For SF 1 data. From the Missouri Census Data Center.
Circular Area Profiles - ACS version
Aggregates data from the latest American Community Survey (ACS) - Demographic, Economic, Social, and Housing data.
2010 Census Data Products
Release schedules, descriptions, and geographic areas covered.
Census Business Builder
Choosing Census Data
From Steve Beleu, Oklahoma Dept. of Libraries.
How to Use Census Data
Links to guides and handouts on: Choosing Census Data, Mixing Census Data Types Together, Using American Community Survey Data, How to do Census FTP downloads. From Steve Beleu, Oklahoma Dept. of Libraries.
Using American Community Survey Data
From Steve Beleu, Oklahoma Dept. of Libraries
Mixing Census Data Types Together: Best Practices
From Steve Beleu, Oklahoma Dept. of Libraries.
2010 Census Summary File 1: Technical Documentation
730 pages; from the US Census Bureau.
Guidance for Data Users [American Community Survey page]
Also links to "Comparing ACS Data" and to "Handbooks for Data Users"
Redistricting Data [2010 Census]
Position of the Geographic Center of Area, Mean and Median Centers of Population: 2010
Map from Census Bureau. Link is from Internet Archive's Wayback Machine.
Overview of Race and Hispanic Origin, 2010
Released Mar. 2011. 24 pages.
U.S. Census Bureau - New American FactFinder
2 presentations from Paula Wright (of the Census Bureau Dallas office) at the 2011 Spring DLC meeting in San Antonio. First set of slides: Census Data Access (general info.); second set of slides: American FactFinder (detailed info.). At end, a 4-pg. handout on "How do I look for a specific table number?". 45 pages total.
GNIS - Geographic Names Information System
Provides latitude and longitude for many buildings and features - schools, hospitals, post offices, lakes, etc. For use with Circular Area Profiles. Developed by the USGS.
2010 - Census Tracts - Fulton County
3 sheets; direct urls below in More Info.
more...less...
Sheet 1 at: https://www2.census.gov/geo/maps/dc10map/tract/st13_ga/c13121_fulton/DC10CT_C13121_001.pdf
Sheet 2 at: https://www2.census.gov/geo/maps/dc10map/tract/st13_ga/c13121_fulton/DC10CT_C13121_002.pdf
Sheet 3 at: https://www2.census.gov/geo/maps/dc10map/tract/st13_ga/c13121_fulton/DC10CT_C13121_003.pdf
2010 - Census Tracts - Dekalb County (GA)
more...less...
Link from Census webpage:
http://www.census.gov/geo/maps-data/maps/reference.html -- Click on "Census Reference Maps", then select “Census Tract Maps”
2010 - Census Tracts - Georgia
Census Bureau Maps. Link from the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine.
more...less...
Link from Census webpage, which is at:
http://www.census.gov/geo/maps-data/maps/reference.html -- select "Census Reference Maps"; then "Census Tract Maps"
Georgia - 2010 Census of Population and Housing
127 page report, from Census Bureau.
American FactFinder
Previous Census Bureau database; replaced March 2020 by Data.Census.gov

Census 2000

Social Explorer
Quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Subscription database; Library has one seat license for GT-authenticated users; please "sign out" after use.
Demographic Profiles
Database from the Census Bureau which contains profiles for states, counties, and cities. Search results are data sets (in pdf) for: General Demographic Characteristics (DP 1) ; Selected Social Characteristics
Circular Area Profiles
Easy-to-use interface to find Census data for 2010 using a point location (latitude and longitude) and radius "values" (i.e., miles) for major Census statistics - population, age, race, household income, educational... From Missouri Census Data Center.
Census 1990-2000 Trends
From the Missouri Census Data Center
Census 2010 Profile Report
Quick and easy. From the Missouri Census Data Center (MCDC). Down to block groups.
more...less...
ACS profiles, also from MCDC, at: https://mcdc.missouri.edu/applications/acs/profiles/
Population Information at your Fingertips
Presentation made to state COMO conference, 2008.
QuickFacts: Georgia
From Census Bureau's QuickFacts.
QuickFacts - United States
Key data for state, counties, and selected cities from the U.S. Census Bureau.
2000 - Census Tracts - Fulton
6 sheets for Fulton County.
more...less...
Link from Census page at: https://www2.census.gov/plmap/pl_trt/st13_Georgia/
2000 - Census Tracts - Dekalb County
more...less...
Link from Census webpage at: http://www2.census.gov/plmap/pl_trt/st13_Georgia/
2000 - Census Tracts - Georgia
more...less...
Link for this and 2010 and 1990 from Map Products page on the Census website at: http://www.census.gov/geo/www/maps/CP_MapProducts.htm

Historical Census

April 2022 - Census 1950 released - all names, all info.

While much is online from the Census Bureau, researchers may need to go to a National Archives (NARA) location for microfilm. The National Archives at Atlanta is is in nearby Morrow, GA (5780 Jonesboro Rd., on the campus of Clayton State Univ.). Its visitor hours are Mon.-Fri., 8:30am-5:00pm. NARA's microfilm catalogs may be useful to peruse before a visit. The Georgia Archives are at 5800 Jonesboro Rd (also on campus of Clayton State Univ.). Visitor hours (as of March 2017): Tues.-Sat., 8:30am-5:00pm.

The Library subscribes to Ancestry Library edition database (from Ancestry.com and ProQuest), which has census population schedules up to 1940 - with names Search tips and more info. : http://proquest.libguides.com/ancestrylibraryedition

Social Explorer (library has one seat license for GT-authenticated users - please "sign out" after use.

Genealogy charts are on the National Archives site

Here are specific links to Census Bureau pages for Georgia:

Decennials - Census of Population and Housing
1790-2010. From the Census Bureau.
more...less...
Link is from the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine.
Historical Census Browser
1790-1960 - State and county data.
As of Dec. 2016, site closed. Link is to Internet Archive in Nov. 2016. Info. from the Univ. of Virginia's Geospatial and Statistical Data Center - they recommend searching in Social Explorer.
Index of Questions
1790 forward, from the Census Bureau.
1920 - vol. III - Population
Compilation and characteristics of the population by states
1910 - Georgia (plus other states)
Georgia population info. starts on p. 48.
1920 - Georgia (plus other states)
more...less...
Atlanta population by wards
1930 - Georgia population (includes other states)
1930 - Georgia Characteristics of the Population (includes DC and Florida)
more...less...
Atlanta population by district
1940 - Georgia - Characteristics of the Population
1940 - Georgia population (includes other states)
1940 -
Available online April 2 - actual population schedules - name-by name. FREE - from the National Archives. For now, can find enumeration district on Archives website at: http://www.archives.gov/research/search/ -- type: 1940 enumeration district description for ______ [type city name]
more...less...
The microfilm reels for 1940 have been digitized. This website will be FREE. Census schedules to 1930 are on microfilm, available at NARA locations, or via a subscription database - Ancestry.com [note: the Library subscribes to this database]
1950 - Census Tract Statistics - Atlanta
Atlanta starts on p. 32.
1950 - Georgia population (includes other states)
Georgia starts on p. 25.
1960 - Census Tract Statistics - Atlanta area
1960 - Census Tracts
Use Social Explorer database, select "Maps" tab, then, in "choose a map", select "1960 Census Tract". Social Explorer is a subscription database (link at top of box); visitors may use it onsite.
1960 - Housing - Atlanta city blocks
1960 - Housing - Georgia
1960 - Housing - Atlanta area
1960 - Georgia - Characteristics of the Population
1970 - Georgia - Characteristics of the Population
1970 - Housing - Georgia
1970 - Census Tract Statistics - Atlanta area
Report from Census Bureau. Also, tables, H2-H5, at: https://www2.census.gov/library/publications/decennial/1970/phc-1/39204513p2ch03.pdf
more...less...
Select "Census of Population for 1970", then "1970 Census of Population and Housing", then click on #13-24 for the zip file. Atlanta area is ch.2 from the zip file.
1970 - Census Tracts
Use Social Explorer database, select "Maps" tab, then, in "choose a map", select "1970 Census Tract". Social Explorer is a subscription database (link at top of box); visitors may use it onsite.
Metropolitan Housing Characteristics1970
1970. Atlanta starts with p. 48. Also includes Asheville & Atlantic City.
1980 - Georgia - Characteristics of the Population
1980 - Georgia - Detailed Population Characteristics
1980 - Georgia - Census Tract Statistics
1980 - Census Tract Statistics - Atlanta area
1990 - Census of Population and Housing
From the Census Bureau. Links is from Internet Archive's Wayback Machine.
1990 - Demographic ProfilesGenerator
Quick and easy. From the Missouri Census Data Center. Down to census tracts.
1990 - Census Tracts - Atlanta
Sheet 3 of 6 for Fulton County.
more...less...
Census website for Georgia counties, 1990: http://www2.census.gov/geo/maps/trt1990/st13_Georgia/ Fulton County: http://www2.census.gov/geo/maps/trt1990/st13_Georgia/13121_Fulton/
1990 - Census Tracts - Dekalb County (GA)
more...less...
Link from Census page, at: http://www2.census.gov/geo/maps/trt1990/st13_Georgia/
1990 - Census Tracts - Georgia
more...less...
Link from Census page at: http://www2.census.gov/geo/maps/trt1990/
Atlanta Region 1990 Census Tracts and ARC Superdistricts
Part of Georgia State Univ.'s digital collections.
more...less...
Map of the Atlanta Region showing ARC Superdistrict boundaries, streets and roads, railroads, rivers and lakes, espressways, MARTA rail line, Census Tract boundaries, County boundaries, and municipalities. Inset map shows the 10 county Atlanta Region. Counties shown are Cherokee, Cobb, Douglas, Fulton, Fayette, Clayton, Henry, Rockdale, Dekalb, and Gwinnett.