Congress.gov lists members (note: not in order by District)
To find what Congressional District you are in - My Voter Page, from the Georgia Secretary of State.
Special election to fill vacant seat for 6th Congressional District (former Rep. Tom Price had been appointed the HHS Secretary).
6th District -- map, 115th Cong. (released Apr. 2017, from the Census Bureau); earlier map, 113th Cong.
18 candidates qualified -- Election dates: April 18th, 2017.
Runoff -- was on June 20th, between: Jon Ossoff (D) and Karen Handel (R).
Campaign Finance -- New York Times graphic, of the most expensive Congressional election.
For official ballot for each County, see the 6th Congressional District Special Election Information page from the GA Secretary of State.
Profiles of the candidates -- from the Dunwoody Crier
Summary of the election forum on 4/9/17, featuring all candidates. Sponsored by the Dunwoody Homeowners Association. also from the Dunwoody Crier
Election results:
official results, Special Election, from the GA Secretary of State -- April 18, 2017 :
Ossoff = 92,673 ; Handel = 38,071
For precinct totals - click on the District race, select county, then precinct
official results, Special Selection Runoff, from the GA Secretary of State -- June 20, 2017:
Handel = 134,799 ; Ossoff = 125,517
Keeping Current about Congressional activities in general:
Browse national newspapers' Politics sections - New York Times ; Washington Post (within the section, select "Congress")
Keeping Current -
voting by Members of Congress
Roll Call Votes by the U.S. Congress -- via Congress.gov. Starting from 1989 to the present.
What is Congress Doing Now? - LibGuide from librarian Christopher Brown, Univ. of Denver.
Start your search with:
Congress.gov - database - (FREE - from the Library of Congress)
Especially useful for: Bill Summary & Status ; Congressional Record searching
GovInfo - database (FREE - from the Government Publishing Office - replaces FDsys, fall 2018)
Comprehensive Congressional coverage plus some Executive Branch databases and laws
Includes the Congressional Record ( DAILY ed.), 1994 to present
CQ Weekly (subscription; highlights key bills)
ProQuest Congressional (subscription database) - formerly LexisNexis Congressional
BILLS and RESOLUTIONS
1989 to date -- Congress.gov (click on "Legislation"; may need to know bill #)
1993 to date -- govinfo
1799 - 1873 - House bills (part of Library of Congress project - A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation)
1819 - 1873 - Senate bills (also part of A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation)
COMMITTEE HEARINGS
GovInfo (use Advanced Search to select Hearings and enter search terms in drop-down boxes. Has "Witness" search field.)
How to Find Committee Hearings - tips from the Senate website
within Nexis Uni database - CQ Congressional Testimony - is a source.
COMMITTEE REPORTS
DIRECTORIES
Congressional Pictorial Directory, released 2015.
Congressional Yellow Book (offsite, at Library Service Center - Core Reference - JK 1083.B55 -- fall 2016)
New Member Pictorial Directory: 113th Congress, released Nov. 2012.
New Member Pictorial Directory: 114th Congress, released Nov. 2014
Women in Congress, 1917 to 2017 - EPUB format
CRS, CBO, and GAO Reports
These agencies submit reports to Congress - these reports summarize key legislation or analyze issues, or provide cost analyses.
CRS Reports - update, Sept. 2018 -- Congress website -- going forward, all new or updated reports will be added to website as they are made available to Congress.
Search CRS Reports - official new website
many are available through third party sources, especially:
Federation of American Scientists - focus is on national security, foreign policy and related topics.
Thurgood Marshall Law Library (Univ. of Maryland) - focus is on CRS reports in homeland security/terrorism and health law and policy.
CBO - Congressional Budget Office - select "Publications" (availale from 1975 onward) or "Cost Estimates".
Recent publications: Selected CBO Publications Related to Health Care Legislation, 2009-2010 (released Dec. 2010) - In-depth analyses (364 pages)
Preliminary Analysis of H.R. 2, the Repealing the Job-Killing Health Care Law Act (released Jan. 6, 2011)
GAO - Government Accountability Office (until 2004 the Government Accounting Office) - website has full-text to more than 50,000 reports from 1970 onward (select "Reports & Testimonies"). Can also browse a hot topics current list of reports by selecting "Topic Collections".
Historical
U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection (GT database) - 1789-1969-- One-stop source; broad breadth of coverage. More info. is on a ProQuest guide from the vendor.
Many annual reports and bulletins of agencies and departments are included in this online set. Excellent browsing list of these is on the U. S. Congressional Serial Set Finding Lists (https://guides.ucf.edu/serialsetlists -- from UCF, noting that the compilation by Wooster College is temporarily unavailable)
Congressional Record (via HeinOnline, GT database) - includes the historical as well as current Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754,
Congressional Record - BOUND edition - digitized (most issues), 1939-2001, 2005-2007.
Landmark Legislation 1774-2012: Major U.S. Acts & Treaties - online - 2nd ed.; from CQ Press, 2014
Congress and the Nation (KF 49.C65 - offsite, at Library Services Center) - 1945-2009. Key legislation is summarized; also includes legal actions. From Congressional Quarterly.
A Century of Lawmaking (Library of Congress - FREE ) - part of LC's American Memory project, it spans 1774-1875, and contains the "American State Papers" (1789-1838), on these 10 topics: Claims ; Commerce and Navigation ; Finance ; Foreign Affairs ; Indian Affairs ; Military Affairs ; Naval Affairs ; Post Office ; Public Lands ; Miscellaneous. Also includes the House Journal and Senate Journal ("the minutes of floor action") from 1789-1875, and predecessors to the Congressional Record (Annals of Congress (1789-1824) ; Register of Debates (1824-37) ; Congressional Globe (1833-73)), as well as the Journal of the Confederate Congress.
The LLSDC Legislative Sourcebook provides in-depth listings of legal and other databases, in its Finding or Compiling Federal Legislative Histories Electronically .
Special note for non-Tech users : our subscription databases listed above may be accessed at our visitor terminals inside our library.
