Contact for quick and in-depth database search assistance
For one-on-one customized quick and in-depth assistance searching the GT Library's databases, please contact Bette Finnat email@example.com. We can schedule a virtual meeting to search our databases together on your research topics.
The Document Delivery service delivers books (to US locations only) and copies of articles from the Georgia Tech Library's collection. Books are sent directly to the requester by UPS and should be returned by UPS or a similar service. Copies are sent directly to the requester’s ILLiad account. There is no charge for this service.
Interlibrary Loan service obtains materials not owned by the Georgia Tech Library from other libraries or commercial suppliers. Books are sent directly to the requester (to U. S. locations only) by UPS and should be returned by UPS or a similar service (NOTE: Students are responsible for their own return shipping fees for books, which must be returned via trackable means). Copies of articles are sent directly to the requester’s ILLiad account. The Library subsidizes ILL requests up to $25.00 per item. You will be notified prior to ordering if charges exceed that amount.
All distance learners requests should be input using the ILLiad online interlibrary loan system. When you register with ILLiad, you must specify your STATUS as Distance Ed.
Citation indexes. Cited references citedin bibliographies and footnotes
Cited References (Cited by) searches locate published articles that have cited a previous (earlier) work.
“Cited References” (Cited by) is a useful way to find articles that cite older classic references.
Inspec and Compendex. Search - check both database boxes. Many records in the combined Engineering Village Inspec and Compendex databases have "Cited by in Scopus." Selected Inspec and Compendex records link to the paper's bibliography "References" (left column of record).
Selected ProQuest records have "Times cited" (cited by) and "References."
ClarivateWeb of Science platform.
Medline (medicine), Derwent Innovations Index (patents), Web of Science Core Collection ... and "All Databases."
"Documents" (keywords, standard access points)
"Cited References" (cited by; an item is cited in earlier bibliographies and footnotes).
All cited references are indexed and searchable via "Cited Reference" Search.
"Cited References" search for an item that has been cited an earlier work.
If the source is not indexed by Clarivate (not in "Documents"), conduct a "Cited References" search using the first author named in the bibliography reference or footnote.
Can sort a list of records by "Sort by: Citations: highest first" or "Sort by: Date: newest first."
Keyword search alert: "Create Alert."
Cited references (cited by) alert for one item: "Create citation alert."
Platform records have both "Citations" (times cited, cited by) and "References" (from the database paper's bibliography)
Other databases have cited references such as IEEEXplore, Goggle Scholar and more.
Alphabetical list of selected databases - left column of this guide
Services for students
Contact Bette Finn for customized one-on-one assistance searching the Library databases. Quick help by email and for in-depth assistance schedule a meeting to search the databases on your research topic.
OpenAthens authenticates users for our electronic subscription content. OpenAthens authentication may require login to resources even if on campus.
While accessing e-resources off-campus, you may notice an OpenAthens login screen. The OpenAthens screen may ask you to identify your home institution, such as the "Login via your institution: Other Institution Login" then "Find your organization" or "Find your institution." Search for Georgia Institute of Technology or Georgia Tech. The OpenAthens institution list may not be alphabetical. You may be asked to use the Georgia Tech login service for access to the resource. You may be asked to select your Federation, which is OpenAthens Federation or Open Athens Federation.