Resource Guides: Professional Master's in Applied Systems Engineering (PMASE). Library Guide. PMASE ASE 6001: Databases (journal articles, proceedings papers, and more)

Contact for quick and in-depth search assistance

For one-on-one customized quick and in-depth assistance searching the GT Library's databases, please contact Bette Finn at bette.finn@library.gatech.edu. We can schedule a virtual meeting to search our databases together on your research topics.
Selective database platform search hints comparison chart. Databases listed by topic

Core databases

Inspec This link opens in a new window Covers the world-wide literature (mainly journal articles and conference proceeding papers) in astronomy, physics, electronics and electrical engineering, computers and control, and information technology.
It is also cross searched with Referex Engineering, a database of over 300 engineering books covering the following areas in engineering: materials and mechanical; electronics and electrical; and, chemical, petrochemical and process.

Inspec 1896+ IET Inspec contains over 20 million records of research literature.
Inspec focuses on four main subject areas:
- Physics
- Electrical engineering and electronics
- Computers and control
- Mechanical and production engineering
Combine Inspec and Compedex together; check both database boxes - Inspec and Compendex (only 20% overlap); both index journal and conference papers; many records have "Cited by in Scopus" and Inspec references. Can combine the technical reports NTIS database with Inspec and Compendex. For pulp and paper technology, PaperChem can also be combined.
Includes Inspec Analytics for uncovering patterns and trends in engineering, computing and physics research. Engineering Village platform.

Compendex This link opens in a new window Provides international coverage of engineering and applied science literature from journals, conference proceedings, and technical reports.

Compendex 1884+ Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. Engineering Village platform.
Combine Compedex and Inspec together; check both database boxes - Compendex and Inspec (only 20% overlap); both index journal and conference papers; many records have "Cited by in Scopus" and Compendex references. Can combine the technical reports NTIS database with Compendex and Inspec. For pulp and paper technology, PaperChem can also be combined.

NTIS Database (National Technical Information Service) This link opens in a new window
Access the latest research sponsored by the United States and select foreign governments. Online coverage back to 1964.
Advanced Technologies and Aerospace Database/Aerospace Database This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed, full text journals and reference sources with millions of articles from 1962-current.

Selected databases. Alphabetical list

ProQuest platform. To search multiple ProQuest database simultaneously, click on top row "Change databases" and check the relevant database boxes (left column), then click on "Use selected databases." Advanced Search, drop down menu "Anywhere except full text - NOFT" or limit to fields such as ti,ab,su(engineer* and model*). Selected ProQuest databases: ProQuest Dissertations & Theses, Advanced Technologies and Aerospace, Materials Science Database and many more databases.
Selective database platform search hints comparison chart.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news, 1971-current.
ABI/INFORM Complete features historical business journals on topics covering corporate strategies, management techniques, accounting, marketing, advertising, ethics, case studies. ABI/INFORM Complete consists of: ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Archive 1905-1998, The Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition.
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Core Engineering textbooks, such as Maynard's Industrial and Systems Engineering Handbook. Note: Create a personal MyAccess account for access to customized features, including Custom Curriculum, My Saved Images, and mobile view.
AccessEngineering also comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information as they work. AccessEngineering delivers multidisciplinary information in a dynamic interactive format straight to your desktop or device, providing integrated access to thousands of pages of trusted content from such renowned resources as Perry's Handbook for Chemical Engineers and Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, as well as newer resources, such as Mechatronics in Medicine.
AccessScience This link opens in a new window AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic online resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material (articles, videos, biographies, images) covering all major scientific disciplines, with links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations, plus specially designed curriculum maps for faculty.
Provided by the generous support of Class of 1955 Library Fund.
Advanced Technologies and Aerospace Database/Aerospace Database This link opens in a new window

The Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database includes the renowned Aerospace Database and provides full-text titles from around the world including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. Click on top row "Change databases" and check left column box for "Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection"‎ (1962+) then click on "Use selected databases." Selected full text. Can combine with other ProQuest databases.

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window Articles, reports, proceedings, and government publications from Agricola, Toxline, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS).
Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective: 1913-1983 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window Covers key, international English-language periodicals in the applied sciences and technology.
Topics covered in the Industrial Art Index (1913-1958) includes the aviation industry, the start of commercial air travel, urban mass transit, the Great Depression and the Atomic Age. The Applied Science and Technology Index Retrospective (1959-1983) covers various subjects from acoustics to transportation and waste management. The Business Periodicals Index Retrospective (1959-1982) covers topics such as acquisitions and mergers, communication, publishing, tourism, and other business topics.
Applied Science and Technology Abstracts (HW Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialtiesacoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more.

Contains indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Indexes both scholarly and trade core journals.

Books: GT Library Catalog. See this guide's two tabs, left column. "Books (GT Library Catalog, WorldCat)" and "Handbooks"
Business guides -- left column tabs within Business Essentials ; Company Information ; Georgia & Atlanta Business ; Industry Information ; International Business (such as company profiles, industry profiles, etc.)

Business Essentials
by Patricia Kenly Last Updated Jul 26, 2024 787 views this year
Company Information
by Patricia Kenly Last Updated Jul 19, 2024 2716 views this year
Industry Information
by Patricia Kenly Last Updated Jul 26, 2024 768 views this year
International Business
by Patricia Kenly Last Updated Jun 21, 2024 503 views this year

Compendex This link opens in a new window
Provides international coverage of engineering and applied science literature from journals, conference proceedings, and technical reports.
Derwent Innovations Index This link opens in a new window
Value-added patent information from Derwent World Patents Index and patent citation information from Derwent Patent Citation Index.

Dissertations and theses databases

EngNetBase This link opens in a new window
CRC Press books on engineering including aerospace, biomedical, civil, computer, electrical, industrial, manufacturing, mechanical, optical, and systems engineering.
Aerospace Engineering; Bioprocessing; Chemical Processing & Design; Civil Engineering; Electrical Engineering; Engineering Design; Engineering Management; Geotechnical Engineering; Mass Transfer; Mechanical Engineering; Mining Engineering; Networking Communications; Packaging; Power Engineering; Process Control; Reference & Collected Works; Structural Engineering; Systems Engineering; Telecommunications

Georgia Tech Library Catalog

GT Library Catalog records for materials owned/licensed by the Georgia Tech Library, including bibliographic records for journals (with holdings information) and electronic and print books.

Industry Information
by Patricia Kenly Last Updated Jul 26, 2024 768 views this year

INFORMS PubsOnline This link opens in a new window
Articles published by the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences focus on the use of information technology and the analysis of systems. UA has access to selected journals, from 1998- present
InnovationQ This link opens in a new window
Robust patent database. Search for Patents and Applications, Non-Patent Literature, and Licensable Technology.
Inspec This link opens in a new window
Covers the world-wide literature (mainly journal articles and conference proceeding papers) in astronomy, physics, electronics and electrical engineering, computers and control, and information technology.
It is also cross searched with Referex Engineering, a database of over 300 engineering books covering the following areas in engineering: materials and mechanical; electronics and electrical; and, chemical, petrochemical and process.
Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
Provides citation impact factors for 8,400+ scholarly and technical journals worldwide.
It includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences, JCR can show you the most frequently cited journals in a field, the highest impact journals in a field, and the largest journals in a field.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
Engineering technical reference tools and material properties.
The references are deeply searchable with advanced field searching, allowing users to search across multiple sources to find specific data. For best results, download the most current Adobe Acrobat Reader.
Materials Science Database This link opens in a new window
Focuses on industry news, international trade data, government regulations and management issues related to the metals and materials industries.
MathSciNet (AMS) This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940 and provides access to data from Mathematical Reviews (updated monthly) and Current Mathematical Publications (updated daily).
MEDLINE (Clarivate Analytics) This link opens in a new window
Medline is the premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
NTIS Database (National Technical Information Service) This link opens in a new window

Containing millions of bibliographic records, this database is the preeminent resource for accessing the latest research sponsored by the United States and select foreign governments. The database represents billions of dollars in research. Contents include research reports, computer products, and more. The complete electronic file dates back to 1964.
Many records link to full text PDFs of government research reports and documents (included in the Library's subscription; "Full text" icon then NTRL's PDF upper left). Engineering Village platform

Patent information for Georgia Tech community
by Kristen Brown Last Updated Jul 16, 2024 423 views this year

Patent databases Derwent Innovations Index, InnovationQ, USPTO, EPO's Espacenet, and more

Patents and Trademarks
by Kristen Brown Last Updated Jun 13, 2024 780 views this year

Includes inventor resources and patents and trademarks information

Pivot Funding Database This link opens in a new window If accessing from off-campus, use VPN or create an account. A comprehensive global source of funding opportunities available free to all Georgia Tech researchers. Researchers can search for funding opportunities or sign up for e-mail alerts.
Use VPN. Provided by the Georgia Tech Research Corporation. Accessing PIVOT from off-campus. In order to use Pivot, you need to either be hard networked on-campus or using a VPN. Otherwise, you must create a Pivot account. This essentially verifies that you are affiliated with Georgia Tech, as you have to use your GT email address and select GT as an affiliated member institution when signing up. Do NOT LOGIN with Insitutional credentials. Once you create the account, you can then sign in with your GT email and the password you set up for the account when accessing PIVOT from off-campus.

Other funding opportunities and awards: SAM.gov and Find Funding (GT Office of Sponsored Programs listing)

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Doctoral dissertations and master's theses from universities and institutions all around the world.
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and arts and humanities.

Technical Reports
by Bette Finn Last Updated Jun 21, 2024 314 views this year

Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Use VPN. Covering 12,000+ scholarly journals, plus selected books and published conference proceedings in all academic disciplines.

Access to research literature through "Documents" standard access points (patents, medicine, chemistry, biology) and "Cited References" (bibliographies, footnotes, etc.) published with a scholarly paper. Web of Science records include both "Citations" and "References." All cited references are indexed and searchable via Cited Reference Search. Databases provide authoritative, multidisciplinary coverage from more than 12,000 high impact research journals worldwide. Clarivate platform: search multiple databases simultaneously; can "search in" "All Databases" and "Collections" select databases. For engineering cited references, search both Web of Science platform databases and also Scopus (many Inspec and Compedex records include "Cited by in Scopus").

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Citations for books, journals, audio, video, and other digital materials from the collections of thousands of libraries around the world. Updated daily.