Resource Guides: Government Information: Books

GT Library catalog

Library catalog
Search for books/e-books, theses, journal TITLES, media, archival materials, maps, and other material in the Library collection.

Many government documents are online; most linked from the catalog.

Onsite: a core collection, as well as new Popular books.

Other books are offsite, at the Library Services Center.

To request books or volumes from our offsite storage facility:

GT-affiliated users, please sign in when using the catalog, and follow the prompts.

others - please contact the Library, 404-894-4500.

Other online catalogs

GPO has issued a "monthly catalog" of new documents since 1895. To identify a document:

For material 1895-June 1976, check our database from ProQuest - Monthly Catalog of US Government Publications

July 1976 to present - check the database "Catalog of U.S. Government Publications ".

WorldCat
Comprehensive catalog of library materials worldwide.
more...less...
Non-Tech users: use this URL: http://www.worldcat.org/ ; for material we don't have, please ask at your local public library for interlibrary loan service.

Full-text historical documents

HathiTrust Digital Library
Almost 600,000 documents have been scanned by Google, under the auspices of the HathiTrust. GT Library is a member, so any document labeled "full view" can be viewed online and downloaded
U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection
Pre-1970 -- if a report/publication was submitted to Congress. Purchased database; within ProQuest Congressional database.
more...less...
Many of these publications are also linked from the Library's catalog.
Internet Archive - Government Documents Collection
Some major long runs of periodicals and series are included here.
more...less...
Major contributors include Boston Public Library, the Library of Congress, as well as Clemson (National Park Service) and Cornell (Dept. of Agriculture).

GPO maintained for a few years a Digitization Projects Registry, of major publicly accessible collections of digitized U.S. Government publications. Grouped by discipline. List sunsetted Dec. 2018.

InterLibrary Loan

InterLibrary Loan
Students, faculty, and staff may use InterLibrary Loan (ILL) service of the Library to request a book or journal article we don't have.
more...less...
Non-Tech users: use this URL: http://www.worldcat.org/ ; for material we don't have, please ask at your local public library for interlibrary loan service.